Chevron Left
Zurück zu Aboriginal Worldviews and Education

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Aboriginal Worldviews and Education by University of Toronto

4.7
64 Bewertungen
34 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Intended for both Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal learners, this course will explore indigenous ways of knowing and how they can benefit all students. Topics include historical, social, and political issues in Aboriginal education; terminology; cultural, spiritual and philosophical themes in Aboriginal worldviews; and how Aboriginal worldviews can inform professional programs and practices, including but not limited to the field of education....

Top-Bewertungen

MA

Aug 21, 2018

A fantastic course. I learnt so much and the instructors were fantastic. I think this course is so necessary for all settler Canadians, not just those involved in or interested in education.

CH

Jun 20, 2017

The course material is useful, indepth and eye-opening. A great course explaining various views. I have a much better understanding of the culture and challenges.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 of 33 Reviews for Aboriginal Worldviews and Education

von Kinusan D S

May 07, 2019

This course is outdated, material needs to be refreshed. There is no coverage of the Inuit and Metis - mostly First Nation.

von susan p

Mar 20, 2019

This course should be required for everyone . Not only did I come away with understanding and compassion but also with validation that how I felt we learn best actually is a good way. thank you for enlightenment and your teachings. I am honoured to have taken part in your gift to us.

von Irina D

Jan 26, 2019

I absolutely loved this course! I only feel bad that it was so short! And I hope that there are other courses about Indigenous Peoples that I can take to continue my learning. Jean Paul Restoule, thank you so much! Chi miigwec!

von steven f

Apr 23, 2019

An excellent approach to aboriginal worlviews that provided context and importantly the imapact of intergenerational damage done by the educational policies to aboriginals and the current state of affairs. Thoroughly enjoyed the first assignment and the requirement for peer assessment. Created accountablility in the course and engagement opportunities. Well done.

von Kyle D M

Mar 05, 2019

Great course. There were parts that were a bit dry, but overall, a wonderful experience !

von Courtney M

Feb 11, 2019

Really great introductory course for individuals who are largely unfamiliar with Indigenous Worldview in Canada. For those who have some prior knowledge, it may be too basic but it's always helpful and important to review previous knowledge, so it's a good course for everyone!

von Kyle T

Jan 07, 2019

Some missing or broken links made accessing some of the material more difficult. While a quick google search was usually sufficient to find what was missing there was one exception, where a free copy of the chapter reading was not readily accessible.

The information in the course was quite interesting and I enjoyed the interviews/special guests. I hope you keep up the great work making this kind if education accessible for more Canadians.

von Elianne

Jan 05, 2019

A short introduction into a totally different form of education. Truely inspiring

von Catherine H

Dec 23, 2018

Pretty interesting class! Sometimes it seems like the lectures go on longer than they have to, to get its point across, but still well worth it!!

von Joy S

Aug 27, 2018

lots of good info. Always wondered what Canada called their natives.

von Mandy A

Aug 21, 2018

A fantastic course. I learnt so much and the instructors were fantastic. I think this course is so necessary for all settler Canadians, not just those involved in or interested in education.

von Damon T R

Aug 16, 2018

I feel like, I understand my Heritage and myself like never before. This class has been invaluable in learning much what has been lost in my family.

von Jim P

Jun 11, 2018

Excellent and relevant content. Informative & thought provoking.

von KJ P

Apr 12, 2018

Would like note to read as opposed to all lectures, would allow me to work on the course around my teaching times more easily.

von Andrian L

Apr 06, 2018

It enhance my knowledge (and hopefully skills too) about Aboriginal culture and people in Canada.

von Kaila M

Feb 26, 2018

It was a wonderful and well laid out course! I gained so much insight and felt that this course really shaped my understanding.

von Sarah J M

Feb 20, 2018

This course was well worth the enrollment fee. High quality material shared by an excellent professor. Made me more knowledgeable about aboriginal issues in Canada, helped me see from an aboriginal perspective, and really highlighted what a poor job our educational system in Canada does at including aboriginal content in the curriculum and how inaccurately it portrays aboriginal and colonial history. More people should take this course - it's enlightening, stereotype-destroying, and makes you think very critically about the subject matter.

von Brian A C

Jan 30, 2018

Great intro to Aboriginal WorldViews

von ANGELO R S

Dec 03, 2017

I appreciated the course because of its rather specific worldview. A very interesting introduction to another way of thinking, and seeing historical facts from a quite different perspective.

von Corrida N

Oct 25, 2017

Easy to follow guidance and incredibly quick responses to discussion item.

von Teresa C

Oct 23, 2017

Super helpful. Great new perspective on teaching indigenous ways of knowing.

von Gabriel A P

Sep 14, 2017

Excellent!

von Joyce N

Jul 16, 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed this course! I learned so much about the history of our First Peoples. The teachings and teachers were exceptional. Thank you for making these courses available to those of us that cannot attend a class room setting.

von Val H

Jul 01, 2017

The information presented in the course was great. I found many of the lectures dragged and at times were repetitive. The thing I found most frustrating was links that did not work or were not there. I was able to search for links to suggested websites and was able to find most of them.

von Colton H

Jun 20, 2017

The course material is useful, indepth and eye-opening. A great course explaining various views. I have a much better understanding of the culture and challenges.