Chevron Left
Zurück zu Advanced R Programming

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Advanced R Programming by Johns Hopkins University

4.3
377 Bewertungen
94 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course covers advanced topics in R programming that are necessary for developing powerful, robust, and reusable data science tools. Topics covered include functional programming in R, robust error handling, object oriented programming, profiling and benchmarking, debugging, and proper design of functions. Upon completing this course you will be able to identify and abstract common data analysis tasks and to encapsulate them in user-facing functions. Because every data science environment encounters unique data challenges, there is always a need to develop custom software specific to your organization’s mission. You will also be able to define new data types in R and to develop a universe of functionality specific to those data types to enable cleaner execution of data science tasks and stronger reusability within a team....

Top-Bewertungen

FZ

Jun 07, 2017

Very useful, I considered myself quite an advanced R user, but this class raised the level, especially with the R as OOB part. Good investment if you are not a beginner.

JY

May 08, 2017

It is a good course that forced me to understand the s3 and s4 object of R and have gained an appreciation of "methods belonging to functions not belonging to objects".

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 of 92 Reviews for Advanced R Programming

von Frank A N

Nov 17, 2018

I have taken several courses on Coursera and this was by far the worst. First the course contained no lectures. The authors had basically copied segments of their textbooks along with code samples as teaching material. I could have done better by simply reading the textbook myself without paying for the course. Finally the way the final assignment is graded is terrible. It is as if the course organizers have completely washed their hands of any responsibility. You have to grade three peers so that your assignment will get in line to be graded. But there is no time line and the process is completely arbitrary. Students have to actively seek others on the class forum to grade their assignment (they will return the favor ). I really expected more from a course offered by JHU.

von Georgios P

Jul 18, 2019

Nice and easy to follow!

von Jonatan H S

Jun 20, 2019

The last homework is ambiguous, and it doesn't have enough information available to solve it

von Guillermo C H

May 27, 2019

need more information about how to complete de week one

von Chao G

May 25, 2019

The quality and the difficulty of this course is really good. It would even be better if more advanced topics are covered in details (e.g. AST, substitute function). However, the peer review assignment could be a pain since sometimes you do not get helpful feedback. Occasionally there are not even enough students to grade your assignment.

von Christopher M T

May 14, 2019

The class does not cover all material needed for the final assignment in depth enough. I had to do extensive research outside of the class materials to be able to complete the assignment. I learned a lot, but I shouldn't have to do too much outside work to complete assignments for a class I paid for.

von Jessica K

Apr 03, 2019

A bit too tough with not good enough teaching to truly understand the course

von Randall M

Feb 28, 2019

"Advanced" is not really accurate. "Intermediate" is a better description. I would have given 4 stars for content alone. The faux testing and peer grading at scale doesn't work well enough, so the certificate is not worth paying for. If you need a credential, enroll in real school. If you need a decent intro to intermediate programming topics in R, this is pretty good. The text for the course is excellent and worth purchasing. The programming exercises via swirl() fail at times, and peer grading as an assessment approach is not viable at scale.

von Xianbin C

Feb 13, 2019

I like this course as it offers some really practical instructions to programming in R, and I think it's a course that well complements the online book Advanced R written by Hadley Wickham, which focuses more on theories.

von David R

Feb 03, 2019

Swirl is confusing and it is too complicated to submit my work

von Mayank V

Jan 26, 2019

Very knowledge and rigourous course, developed for comprehensive concept building.

von Ankai X

Dec 13, 2018

I find that some of the course materials are not sufficient for the learners to understand the concept in R programming and complete the assignment. The course could be improved by including more examples and hands-on exercises.

von Lance D

Dec 01, 2018

This course helped the programmer understand some OO concepts and many other features of R that I may not have encountered. Very good, and the final assignment was good. It was worth putting the extra time in to do it correctly.

von Erich F G

Nov 28, 2018

I learned a lot and appreciate the continued learnings.

von sokal1456

Nov 19, 2018

I wish the assignments could be a mix of teacher and peer graded.

von ®γσ, E L H

Nov 09, 2018

Cheerful

von Hayden M

Oct 04, 2018

Much of this course is well-constructed, well-communicated and clear. Sections from weeks 1-3 were attuned to my programming skill level and the material was communicated generally so that those with experience in other languages could also follow along easily. I had no technical problems with submitting assignments or quizzes and I found the assignments with swirl to be effective in reinforcing the material from the readings. My biggest criticism of this course is about Week 4's content and its respective part in the final assignment. The content in Week 4 concerns Object-Oriented programming and this material was really hard to absorb. It seemed to come out of left field and the readings did not feel as clear as they were in other sections. The readings essentially say "Here is what object-oriented programming allows you to do [create/manipulate classes and objects]" but then goes back on itself by recommending that you do not use object-oriented programming to create custom classes or data structures because the R community already knows what data structures they like. Personally, I had a lot of trouble understanding this content because it was so briefly explained. This did not help me by the time I had to complete the object-oriented programming portion of the final assignment. It is very clear from the class forums that other students have found that section of the assignment particularly difficult for years. Overall, this course was excellent in teaching functional programming principles and application, but the object-oriented section slightly spoiled my experience of the course.

von Nicolás C

Sep 22, 2018

It is a short and good R course. It goes right to the more advanced stuff. Even a long time user of R will learn new things. The final project is revised by the same students which in my opinion makes it more of a challenge. I've never wanted a homework to be as perfect as this one.

von Kevin K

Sep 06, 2018

Great course. Challenging and I learn a lot of new techniques to improve my R skills.

von Landry N E

Aug 20, 2018

The style of these courses is not engaging. This is self study, similar to getting a book and reading.

von Sheila B

Jul 18, 2018

Excellent subject matter. 4 stars instead of 5 is only because there was no video. I love the videos in the other courses in this track, since I am an auditory learner.

von Abhinav S

Jul 06, 2018

Superb!! Assignment is really time-consuming, hard but super interesting!

von paoling83

Jul 04, 2018

Solid overview of the topics in the course description. Does not go into much detail but provides a very nice foundation to build on. The course book is and will be a handy and useful resource, as it allows you to revisit the course materials (minus the exercises) without having to navigate through the course on the platform.

von Noor S

Jun 11, 2018

More options/possibilities in R explained. Useful and practic

von Damian S

Jun 01, 2018

Coverage of R Classes is good and helpful, but on the whole this class is a huge disappointment.

The ENTIRE course is text, apparently adapted from the creators' book. They also have the audacity to suggest you buy the book as well! Save yourself the trouble and just buy the book, or don't bother with either.

They also very much push the "tidyverse" school of R programming... it's useful to know and have in your toolkit, but there are many other approaches to R programming.

Also, support was very bad... Left a question on the forum about their code which didn't execute as expected. It has been two weeks since I left the question, and have since completed the course, but still no response.

Finally, there is no mention at all of vectorizing code, which is what R is optimized for. As one of the most basic tenets of R, it is surprising that an "advanced" course makes no mention of it at all.