Chevron Left
Zurück zu Advanced R Programming

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Advanced R Programming von Johns Hopkins University

4.3
421 Bewertungen
102 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course covers advanced topics in R programming that are necessary for developing powerful, robust, and reusable data science tools. Topics covered include functional programming in R, robust error handling, object oriented programming, profiling and benchmarking, debugging, and proper design of functions. Upon completing this course you will be able to identify and abstract common data analysis tasks and to encapsulate them in user-facing functions. Because every data science environment encounters unique data challenges, there is always a need to develop custom software specific to your organization’s mission. You will also be able to define new data types in R and to develop a universe of functionality specific to those data types to enable cleaner execution of data science tasks and stronger reusability within a team....

Top-Bewertungen

FZ

Jun 07, 2017

Very useful, I considered myself quite an advanced R user, but this class raised the level, especially with the R as OOB part. Good investment if you are not a beginner.

JY

May 08, 2017

It is a good course that forced me to understand the s3 and s4 object of R and have gained an appreciation of "methods belonging to functions not belonging to objects".

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 von 98 Bewertungen für Advanced R Programming

von Le D A

Sep 24, 2019

Very usefull !!!!!

von Ankai X

Dec 13, 2018

I find that some of the course materials are not sufficient for the learners to understand the concept in R programming and complete the assignment. The course could be improved by including more examples and hands-on exercises.

von Hayden M

Oct 04, 2018

Much of this course is well-constructed, well-communicated and clear. Sections from weeks 1-3 were attuned to my programming skill level and the material was communicated generally so that those with experience in other languages could also follow along easily. I had no technical problems with submitting assignments or quizzes and I found the assignments with swirl to be effective in reinforcing the material from the readings. My biggest criticism of this course is about Week 4's content and its respective part in the final assignment. The content in Week 4 concerns Object-Oriented programming and this material was really hard to absorb. It seemed to come out of left field and the readings did not feel as clear as they were in other sections. The readings essentially say "Here is what object-oriented programming allows you to do [create/manipulate classes and objects]" but then goes back on itself by recommending that you do not use object-oriented programming to create custom classes or data structures because the R community already knows what data structures they like. Personally, I had a lot of trouble understanding this content because it was so briefly explained. This did not help me by the time I had to complete the object-oriented programming portion of the final assignment. It is very clear from the class forums that other students have found that section of the assignment particularly difficult for years. Overall, this course was excellent in teaching functional programming principles and application, but the object-oriented section slightly spoiled my experience of the course.

von sokal1456

Nov 19, 2018

I wish the assignments could be a mix of teacher and peer graded.

von Sheila B

Jul 18, 2018

Excellent subject matter. 4 stars instead of 5 is only because there was no video. I love the videos in the other courses in this track, since I am an auditory learner.

von Jorge L R Z

Mar 18, 2018

Good course but the part of OOP is a little too simple, some extra in class exercises could improve this.

von HIMANSHU R V

Oct 30, 2017

Need to have more visual approach to the course.

von Aditya G

Dec 15, 2016

Good Course! But focus should be more on OOPs Concepts through video lectures to better understand it.

von Jinwook C

Jul 14, 2017

It's really good practice for using R as a functional language, but

no video lectures makes student feel bored

von Robert J H

Jul 19, 2017

The last problem is unnecessarily difficult with little related teaching and learning material provided. Otherwise, the course is certainly well worth taking.

von Sandesh

Sep 12, 2017

I think the course introduced some useful packages like purrr and concepts like map/reduce, but I think the explanation into the different OO systems could be improved. I struggled a lot with the final assignment and really depended on external sources of information to complete it.

von Zdenek K

Nov 15, 2016

Great acceleration of the specialization compared to the first course. It covers modern approaches (as map-reduce-filter implementation in purrr), nicely explains debugging, benchmarking, OOP etc. I would recommend this as a kick starter for more advanced R programming.

von Tarso C R

Jun 01, 2017

I think, as the last week, the first 3 weeks should have something more complicated to do. The

complexity level of the exercises grows exponentially on the last week of the course.

von shan y

Feb 16, 2017

the last peer review problem is much too hard for what I learned from the course material, if there is a more specific instruction for the assignment will be better.

von Abhishek Y

Jul 07, 2017

The swirl course is very helpful.

von g s

Dec 02, 2017

Good course

von Ugochi J

Jun 15, 2017

Great course! I gained a more in depth understanding of R and it's underlying structure. I did think there could more explanation given to object oriented programming R.

von Carlos F P

Nov 27, 2017

It is good way to get to improve your R knowledge.

von KEVIN E A C

Jun 02, 2017

Nice!

von Christopher M T

May 14, 2019

The class does not cover all material needed for the final assignment in depth enough. I had to do extensive research outside of the class materials to be able to complete the assignment. I learned a lot, but I shouldn't have to do too much outside work to complete assignments for a class I paid for.

von Jonatan H S

Jun 20, 2019

The last homework is ambiguous, and it doesn't have enough information available to solve it

von Matthew E

Aug 07, 2019

The lessons in this course were fantastic. The one thing that bothered me was the peer review system for assignments. You end up having to wait weeks just to finish the course, even after you're done everything. Other classes use automatic or paid manual graders, which give instant feedback. I think a similar system could work here.

von Guillermo C H

May 27, 2019

need more information about how to complete de week one

von Landry N E

Aug 20, 2018

The style of these courses is not engaging. This is self study, similar to getting a book and reading.

von Amir H V

Jan 09, 2018

In comparison with the first course, it was not so useful. The main reason in my mind is that there was no video.