Chevron Left
Zurück zu Age of Cathedrals

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Age of Cathedrals von Yale University

4.7
165 Bewertungen
55 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

An introduction to some of the most astonishing architectural monuments the world has ever known—Gothic cathedrals. We shall study the art, literature, intellectual life, economics, and new social arrangements that arose in the shadow of the cathedrals and that were such an important part of the revival of cities in the twelfth and thirteenth centuries. The goal of the course is a better appreciation of the High Middle Ages, a world that is still recognizably our own....

Top-Bewertungen

CL

Jan 08, 2019

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. I learned so much about cathedrals and their history. The professor was engaging, the forums were lively, and the imagery and music was beautiful and inspirational.

DO

Apr 05, 2019

Thank you soo much for providing this great course online. I am almost at the finish line, and it’s been a great learning experience for me soo far. Thank you Coursera :), and Yale University.

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 55 Bewertungen für Age of Cathedrals

von Montserrat B

Apr 11, 2018

Wonderful if you are interested in Gothic Art!

von JOHN Q

Nov 30, 2017

Fantastic Course with great historical perspective and interesting ancillary information. Thanks so much.

von Ashley M H

Mar 09, 2018

So interesting!

von Edwin P C

Apr 17, 2018

This course was excellent! I highly recommend it!

von Gabrielle D

Dec 26, 2017

Fabulous combination of art history, literature, architecture and history. I loved it!

von Evgeniia S

Mar 01, 2018

10/10! Well-structured, well-paced, not too easy, not too challenging. Writing little essays was a particular fun. I've learned a lot, enjoyed every minute and am very grateful to the professor! Would definitely take Age of Cathedrals II if there was one.

von Joy S

Feb 25, 2018

Super comprehensive, everything about the great cathedrals from history to mythical stories portrayed in stained glass to scriptural subjects portrayed. Many beautiful shots of both the cathedrals and their stained glass details. Fascinating.

von Michael B

Jul 12, 2018

Outstanding course that I have recommended to others with similar interests to mine.

von Martha P T

May 04, 2019

El Dr. Bloch nos ha mostrado un mundo maravilloso a través de la Catedrales, la literatura y la historia. Conocí múltiples aspectos de la Edad Media. Los reyes, incluso santos como Luis IX,, los héroes como Roldán, los filósofos como Abelardo, extraordinarios abades y constructores como Suger o Sully. Esto nos permitió conocer diferentes formas de vida de la Edad Media.

Me parece, sin embargo, que podría mejorar el curso si se estudiaran más algunos conceptos religiosos y teológicos, que no son los adecuados en el curso. Por ejemplo, al único que se adora es a Dios, lo demás, se venera. En la obra de Dionisio Areopagita, la luz viene de Dios, pero no es Dios.

De todas maneras, le agradezco mucho al Dr. Howard Bloch por este regalo extraordinario.

von Don O

Apr 05, 2019

Thank you soo much for providing this great course online. I am almost at the finish line, and it’s been a great learning experience for me soo far. Thank you Coursera :), and Yale University.

von Masliakova A

Jun 02, 2019

Thank You very much!

von Anna L

Jun 09, 2019

An amazing course! Although it only covers the first century and a half of the history of Gothic architecture (will a brief follow-up on the restoration campaign of the 19th century), it does so in a brilliant way, giving not only an overview on the origins and special features of Gothic as a a style, but also a broad historical and cultural context. Professor Bloch is a masterful storyteller, and listening to him was a real pleasure. All in all, this course is an excellent introduction to Gothic, but even if you already know a lot about medieval history and Gothic cathedrals (like myself), you'll surely learn something new from it!

von claudia s

Jun 27, 2019

EXCELLENT. VERY INTERESTING HOW THE APPROACH TO THE ART FROM THE CATHEDRALS

von Philip J

Jun 29, 2019

This is a fascinating course that teaches one to read the architecture of gothic cathedrals in the context of the social and economic changes of the twelfth century in France. The videos are compelling (and set to glorious music!) and the additional primary reading material is well-selected. I couldn't recommend this course more!

von Diana K

Jun 14, 2019

A very detailed and interesting course.

von Claudette D

Aug 27, 2019

T

von Carolina M

Sep 05, 2019

Un curso muy completo, interesante y muy bien documentado. Ha satisfecho todas mis expectativas.

von Carla L E C

Oct 04, 2019

great learning !

von SJ T

Jan 26, 2018

great crash course on Gothic cathedrals and French history.

von ALEXANDRA C A

Jun 13, 2018

Lots of peer assessment but a very informative and enjoyable course!

von Kate S

Dec 25, 2017

Great course! I really enjoyed the first 3 weeks and the detailed information on the history of cathedrals and how they were built. Instead of so much interpretation of stained glass windows, panel by panel and scene by scene, I would've appreciated a comparison of different cathedrals in different parts of Europe. But over all a good foundation for history-oriented travelers to France!

von Jo N

Feb 23, 2018

A most enjoyable course - I've learned a lot, some of which I never really wanted to know.

von Joanna S

Jun 28, 2018

I really enjoyed this course. It was so interesting.

von Catherine S

Apr 16, 2018

A little heavy on French history, but very interesting. I’m not a fan of peer reviews, and this has plenty of them, but at least the grades were a combination of quizzes and peer reviews.

von jordi o j

Apr 23, 2018

learnt a lot of things about medieval cathedrals, specially from saint Louis life.