Chevron Left
Zurück zu Age of Jefferson

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Age of Jefferson by University of Virginia

4.6
268 Bewertungen
85 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course provides an overview of Thomas Jefferson's work and perspectives presented by the University of Virginia in partnership with Thomas Jefferson’s Monticello. Together, UVA and Monticello are recognized internationally as a UNESCO World Heritage Site....

Top-Bewertungen

HM

Jul 25, 2016

Fantastic course by Dr. Onuf! I learned much and he helped correct misconceptions I harbored regarding Thomas Jefferson. Great videos and selected readings. The quizzes were relatively challenging.

PL

Oct 13, 2017

Great lessons in the history of UVA and its architect/founder Thomas Jefferson. The professor was clearly excited about the subject matter and conveyed the history with enthusiasm and vigor.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 of 83 Reviews for Age of Jefferson

von racheal h

Mar 04, 2019

This course helped me understand a man much admired for his vision and how he put it to work for America , with Democracy and Love . It goes along well with "The Written Constitution" Course that I took as well.

von James F

Feb 21, 2019

I think it was a very interesting course . I really enjoyed Mr. Onufs lectures he is great .

von Jennifer E

Nov 10, 2018

Excellent course! The videos and materials were most interesting!

von Ilanka

Sep 01, 2018

I enjoyed the course, though initially I expected more factual information. It's more of an emotional overview and, surprisingly, it allowed me to get a feel of that epoch. Lots of issues I found answers to. Great thanks to the entire team that worked to put this course together!

von Gary E

Sep 01, 2018

Excellent professor.

von Julien D

Jun 30, 2018

I might have misread the course description but I expected more the class to be about Jefferson's policies in practice rather than his vision.The course however was well-structured and followed a logical thread. I did have some issue sometimes making heads and tails of the professor's lectures.

von Marianne B

May 25, 2018

The professor and material were really great

von Charles E M

May 09, 2018

Thanks to this course I understand a great of the legacy of President Thomas Jefferson, and why my first cousin seven times removed, Congressman Thomas Wynns of North Carolina, was such a staunch supporter of this president. Thomas Wynns helped to begin the University of North Carolina at Chapel H

von Jeremy B

Mar 29, 2018

Great lectures and well-chosen readings. Very well organized!

von Doug F

Feb 11, 2018

I enjoyed the course. Jefferson was a true revolutionary; this course details his leadership in bringing about many of the liberties we take for granted today.

von Kathleen S

Jan 12, 2018

The professor is an excellent and entertaining lecturer...very compelling look at Jefferson, his life, and his accomplishments. I'm very happy the educators did not shy away from the more distasteful aspects of Jefferson's life (i.e. his being a slaveholder). There was also a good mix of lecture, q & a, and campus tours of UVA. I re

von ella e o

Nov 29, 2017

He's a well educated man, lively; a good speaker

von Wendelin v O

Nov 10, 2017

Way to easy. I could anser most of the question without looking at the lectures

von Denise B

Nov 02, 2017

Thank you, I enjoyed learning more about Thomas Jefferson.

von Robert M M

Oct 29, 2017

A really interesting journey through the life and principles of Jefferson. I particularly enjoyed some of the more obscure parts such as the architectural elements. Easy to follow with a documentary style presentation.

von Paul A L

Oct 13, 2017

Great lessons in the history of UVA and its architect/founder Thomas Jefferson. The professor was clearly excited about the subject matter and conveyed the history with enthusiasm and vigor.

von Robyn J

Oct 08, 2017

Mr. Onuf's knowledgeable, impassioned presentation, together with the readings provided me with so much. At age 57, this was my first look at the Declaration of Independence and other important historical events. The material both challenged and encouraged me and I highly recommend this course. It's sad that we are not learning this as part of our primary education, which is where it should begin in earnest. I am looking forward to more courses on Jefferson and other history courses and would love very much to a student of Mr. Onuf's again. I am looking forward to receiving more information on the courses offered at UVA.

von Aubrey P

Oct 01, 2017

This was an awesome class because of the teaching methods, use, discussion and analysis of a variety of primary sources documents to dig deeper int understanding Thomas Jefferson, the man, plantation-slave owner, the politician and his thoughts about education and religion. It was very balanced in historical approach. I would recommend this course to anyone interested in learning more about understanding all elements that Jefferson pulled into the writing of the Declaration of independence.

von Michael A

Sep 05, 2017

Nice dive into some of Thomas Jefferson's life and writings. Well put together between the texts to read and the lectures.

von Billie J

Sep 04, 2017

Great Course! Not being from here, this course helped me understand some fundamental differences between Canadian and American history; and the obvious differences in our cultures today.

von Maxwell D

Sep 02, 2017

Good course with vital information about Mr. Jefferson. Lectures were well done and helped that they were split up at times.

von Amanda

Aug 27, 2017

Absolutely LOVED this class. Professor Onuf is passionate, realistic and on the money in terms of explaining to the masses who Jefferson was and what shaped his thought process through and post-revolution. HIGHLY enjoyed this class

von kouassi n c

Aug 24, 2017

très bon cours mais il n'y a pas de sous titres en français c'est un peu difficile e trouver une bonne traduction sinon il n'y a rien à signaler

von Kent L

Aug 04, 2017

Good course learnt alot.

von Brandy w

Aug 02, 2017

Loved this course! Thank you very much for this!