Chevron Left
Zurück zu Divide and Conquer, Sorting and Searching, and Randomized Algorithms

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Divide and Conquer, Sorting and Searching, and Randomized Algorithms von Stanford University

4.8
Sterne
4,539 Bewertungen
883 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

The primary topics in this part of the specialization are: asymptotic ("Big-oh") notation, sorting and searching, divide and conquer (master method, integer and matrix multiplication, closest pair), and randomized algorithms (QuickSort, contraction algorithm for min cuts)....

Top-Bewertungen

KS
13. Sep. 2018

Well researched. Topics covered well, with walkthrough for exam.le cases for each new introduced algorithm. Great experience, learned a lot of important algorithms and algorithmic thinking practices.

DT
26. Mai 2020

Thank you for teaching me this course. I learned a lot of new things, including Divide-and-Conquer, MergeSort, QuickSort, and Randomization Algorithms, along with proof for their asymptotic runtime

Filtern nach:

76 - 100 von 864 Bewertungen für Divide and Conquer, Sorting and Searching, and Randomized Algorithms

von Vladimir M

5. Dez. 2020

Excellent course. Very good and thorough explanations of brilliant algorithms and their asymptotic analysis. Also refresher on discrete probability was very good and useful. Separately want to thank professor for great problem sets and assignments. What else I can say, very very solid and useful course for everyone striving to get better at analytical thinking and problem solving. Liked it all the way

von Hao W

10. März 2021

The course material is clear, and the instructor is enthusiastic about the material which is quite nice. The only drawback is the course focuses a bit more on theory rather than implementation, but since the class is not targeting any programming language it makes perfect sense. I'm also expecting more materials from the programming assignment, with less focuses on weekly quizzes (i.e., theories.)

von Jonathon P

8. Okt. 2018

I am a professional software engineer and I've made it through week 3 of this course so far. The lectures are well done, easy to follow, and it feels like a 1-on-1 tutoring session with one of the world's top professors.

I already feel like I have grown as an engineer after implementing merge sort to find array inversions (among other exercises and assignments). I can't wait to see what's next!

von Ashish D S

1. Aug. 2018

Excellent course on Algorithms. I have done few UCSD algorithm courses before (I equally liked them as well), this course is more focused on Mathematical part. Programming assignments are probably simpler as compared to UCSD course but quiz are hard and requires considerable knowledge of probability and combinatorics. Better to do this course after some basic course on discrete mathematics.

von Matt C

9. Nov. 2017

Absolutely not what I expected. The instructor is excellent, you can tell his passion about what he is teaching and he presents it great. That being said, this course is way more difficult than what I expected, so be prepared to put in some time and effort to get the most out of it. The material definitely stuck, I'll never look at algorithms the same way again, that's for sure1

von Sam S

27. März 2020

A very thorough and rigorous beginning to algorithms. Professor Roughgarden does an excellent job walking through everything in a clear and succinct fashion. There isn't too much programming needed, but it can be tricky if you aren't familiar with how to operate on various data types. A good understanding of high school math (algebra in particular) will help you in this course.

von GongPing

11. Juni 2017

These lectures are incredibly mind-blowing, full of insights for algorithm designs and valuable suggestions. This course is really a great enjoyment to follow, because the lectures & quiz & programming assignments are so well arranged! Wish I had took this lectures earlier. Thank you very much Prof Tim Roughgardern for providing the world with such an excellence on-line course!

von kumar d

21. Apr. 2018

This is the best thing to happen for learning algorithms (close second would be the book by steven skiena). This course took me 13 years back to my college 2nd year when I fell in love with algorithms. This is like living your first love all over again. Thank you professor Roughgarden, and I hope you create another course with advanced algorithms with latest developments.

von Stefan T I

25. Dez. 2016

This course offers one of the best introductions to reasoning about algorithms in a mathematical way. However, it is not just theory, it also gives you practical advise and forces you to polish up your programming skills as well by implementing some of the most useful and popular algorithms for sorting and similar applications in whatever language you wish.

von Md A R

8. Apr. 2018

The course is awesome. But the video quality could be improved specially those with echos. It would help concentrating. I have completed algorithm as a undergraduate course and this course is to revisit those area where I had some minor weakness. And this course really helped me building an strong understanding on those points. Overall experience is good.

von Stefanos L

31. Okt. 2017

Very well structured. The lecturer/resources/customizable speed etc are excelllent. I only found the programming assignments too difficult (especially the 4th one) and I had to revert (more than I wanted) to internet sources to do them (or it, especially the 4th one). In contrast, the quizzes were too easy. Perhaps personal taste. Excellent work overall.

von Haitham S

17. Juni 2020

The course is very well designed. It is programming language agnostic and this allows you to focus on the actual content and learn the way to approach algorithms. Also, the approach the professor takes makes the material more approachable for people coming from different backgrounds! Thanks to Coursera, Stanford University and Professor Tim Roughgarden!

von Xiaodi Z

7. Apr. 2021

Overall a good course and the instructor explains the concepts clearly. The only issue is that the hand writing of the instructor is hard to read, which makes it hard to follow while watching the video. Good news is that the course provides typed slides with all formulas. I would recommend open the typed slides while watching the video.

von Peter P

6. Juli 2020

The teacher is excellent and explained the course very well. I like that the material is concise and straight to the point and offer high level of concepts that is easy to understand. I appreciate that the professor doesn't spoon feed every little detail information so that the student would get a chance to think and fill in the gaps!

von Eric R

3. März 2021

This is the 3rd algorithms course I've taken and easily my favorite so far. Professor Roughgarden does an excellent job explaining the concepts behind the algorithm without getting lost in the technical details. I'd suggest taking the supplemental lectures if you want a deeper understanding of the material, but they aren't necessary.

von Vishwas D

8. Okt. 2020

First, I would like to thanks a team of Stanford for allowing and approving my financial aid for this course. While waiting for the approval I visited the videos and I completed this course in a day. I sincerely thank the team Stanford for arranging such a wisdomic platform for learning the best tools from the Stanford experts.

von Feiyu L

23. Apr. 2018

Now I truly understand how to think of algorithm in terms with Recursion applying Divide and Conquer, and how to use Master method to prove an algorithm's complexity. Even though it is more rigorous then what is required for a software interview or engineering project, having the exposure of theory is better than not having it.

von Aditya k

19. Juni 2018

This is an amazing course focusing on some of the important fundamentals required to design the right algorithm to a problem statement. Prof. Tim Roughgarden does a fantastic job in explaining the concepts and catching the attention of the students, while not making the course boring. Thanks Courseera for hosting this course.

von Sivaramakrishnan S

25. März 2020

I came here from the stanford Lagunita course with the same material. It's an understatement to say that I had quite a FUN time. Wonderfully laid out course structure and sometimes a bit lightweight (rightly so) course material. Highly recommend for people with non-CS background. Great (evergreen) intro course to Algorithms!

von Rui C

22. Okt. 2017

Really good course on divide and conquer algorithm design approaches. It's a good introduction to the subject of algorithms. The book written from the course and on sale on amazon is a really good support to the videos. It is a clean up transcript with further additions to the material covered and it's well worth the buying.

von Sangeet M D

31. Mai 2017

I always had my doubt on whether to choose which course on Algorithm in coursera, The Princeton one or the Stanford one. Though I can weight one above the other, but the flow is which the Stanford one proceed is the best for any lower Intermediate level student to wants to learn the upper fundamentals of Algorithm Analysis.

von Dustin Z

23. Sep. 2019

A very good course. More challenging than the machine learning courses I have taken because there is more math and the programming assignments are less directed, but that was a plus as I grew more in my critical thinking and programming skills because I needed to solve the problems on my own. Very happy with this course.

von Hagen T

22. Feb. 2018

This is an excellent course on algorithms, that has given me a deeper understanding of the subject.

I am a theoretical physicist using this course as preparation for coding interviews, and the speed, amount of rigor and optional material (the optional theory problems in particular) feel perfect for my learning effort.

von Md. F K

27. Sep. 2019

At first, the course may look too fast-paced, but after one or two videos, ample explanations would disabuse oneself of that idea. Highly resourceful lectures, challenging quizzes, and optional problems make this course quite an elegant one. One of my favorite courses. Looking forward to completing the specialization.

von Zhao J

28. Dez. 2017

It's just great! The professor is humorous and fantastic! I really love this course, and it had helped me get started in algorithms and data structures. After finishing this course, I have read some part (part I to part IV) of the CLRS book and learned even more! Believe me, this is a good course and worth your time.