Chevron Left
Zurück zu Algorithms On Strings

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Algorithms On Strings von University of California San Diego

4.5
Sterne
985 Bewertungen
173 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

World and internet is full of textual information. We search for information using textual queries, we read websites, books, e-mails. All those are strings from the point of view of computer science. To make sense of all that information and make search efficient, search engines use many string algorithms. Moreover, the emerging field of personalized medicine uses many search algorithms to find disease-causing mutations in the human genome. In this online course you will learn key pattern matching concepts: tries, suffix trees, suffix arrays and even the Burrows-Wheeler transform....

Top-Bewertungen

CS
7. Juli 2019

Very good course. String algorithms are very important in day today life and one should really know how to solve command problems related to it. This course have described everything so well.

PA
12. Mai 2020

course content was great but i personally feels some difficulties in the implementation part so the course is meant to be more implementation oriented . thank you for the wondorful course

Filtern nach:

101 - 125 von 170 Bewertungen für Algorithms On Strings

von Lie C

5. Juli 2018

a little hard

von Harekrishna P

22. Okt. 2020

it was great

von Ivan Y C M

31. Aug. 2020

great course

von Manikant R

3. Juni 2020

Great course

von Weidong X

25. Aug. 2016

Good course!

von Sarath K C M

23. Okt. 2018

good course

von MANCHALA L

19. Aug. 2020

Excellent.

von Musheer A

12. Jan. 2017

Very Good

von Quan T H

5. Juli 2021

Great!

von Md. R Q S

10. Sep. 2020

great

von Greg G

14. Feb. 2020

A fairly good course in the specialization. A pretty hard one though, with quite a bit of confusion. Partially, because these string algorithms are pretty complex (and ingenious). Sometimes the teachers are confusing, sometimes the slides, the starter files etc. Pavel is an energetic speaker but it's hard to follow his lectures, often key information was missing to get the grasp of something. Michael's lectures are OK as always, and his slides are good to refer back to. Generally, I would have appreciated more examples and more verbose explanations. Nevertheless, at this point in the specialization, you are expected to be able to look up some resources on your own if something is missing.

von Emalayan

25. Jan. 2017

The course contents we useful and easy to learn for the most part. The assignments and spot quizzes helped a lot to understand the string algorithms. I appreciate all the effort the instructors put to create the course materials.

Few things to improve:

1) Some of videos in week3 and 4 were hard to understand due to English speaking skills. I found a lot of grammar mistakes in the subtitles and the interactive transcripts.

2) Please consider adding more contents like Boyer Moore algorithm, regular expression and etc.

von Ananth N

6. Aug. 2018

Really great course covering material that is not usually covered in algorithms courses, which is fantastic! The only feedback I have is that in some of the videos (the later ones on Burrows Wheeler), the material is covered extremely fast. I had to look at a lot of external resources because it was too fast.

As for the programming assignments and other material, absolutely brilliant. I learnt a lot and I am planning to do another course in the specialization.

von Ganesan P

13. Juni 2018

i enjoyed the course. The course lecture for week 3 and week 4 can do better with presentations. One looses focus very quickly when the instructor keeps speaking, but the material itself is not hard. I had refer to outside material to understand the lecture and had to spend time. I would recommend Ben Langmeade lectures for to get grip on BWT and excellent lecture on KMP and Maben Meyers algorithm intro by Robert Sedgwick.

von Papp P A

20. Nov. 2016

Quite an interesting and well-organised course, giving a detailed overview of the pattern matching problem and solutions for it (on the other hand, if you are expecting to see a wide variety of string problems, the course title is misleading).

Assignments and quizes are also likeable (although the pseudocodes in the slides and the code skeletons for the solutions contain quite a number of mistakes).

von Teguh S L

28. Nov. 2016

I have only one feedback: the relation between subsequent weeks are not clear. It feels like I am learning one technique in week 3, and then another in week 4, but why is the technique in week 4 necessary? What are the differences in terms of functionality, between the various techniques? I think these points are not explained quite clearly.

Great course though, thank you very much!

von Saruar M

22. Okt. 2019

Great course with great content.

However the video explanations could be better. It is hard to truly understand the concept through the videos. I just watched the videos to serve as a "roadmap" and to really understand the topics you'd have to read the chapters from the books listed in their reading section.

Still a good course overall and homework assignments are great.

von Karthik R

26. Okt. 2019

The lectures are excellent. However, with reference to the logistics, it would really make sense provide test cases that are run. At least, the test cases should be made available once the student completes the assignment. By looking at the test cases, students can understand better with reference to developing better test cases in the future.

von Abhishek R

11. Juni 2018

It's a very thought provoking course. I am into job for last 16 years and after getting into leadership role, hardly got into solving problems personally. This refreshed my passion and I connected well. I could not spend as much time as needed but overall I enjoyed the learning and the problem assignment. Worth trying!!

von Kerwin D

3. Sep. 2021

A​ very challenging course. The suffix tree video would need to be reviewed a couple more times before I would feel confident in understanding the material.

A​ side note: using yellow-colored fonts should be avoided because they are not clearly discernable against the background of the slides.

von Aleksandr F

21. Aug. 2017

Spent a lot of time trying to solve the last advanced task in the last assignment, but never solved it. I'm not sure if there is a mistake in slides or my misunderstanding, but it was really hard. Thanks to all the instructors.

von ANMOL A

10. Aug. 2020

I liked the general composition and structure of the course and also the quality of assignments. I really liked the BWMatching content covered in this course. I feel that the BWmatching algorithm is not very well-known.

von Xi Y

8. Sep. 2016

Still stuck at Problem 5 of Week 1, had to left this problem undone.

Wondering if the mentors or professors can send those who completed the course the standard/reference solution/program via Email???

von Ajit B

21. Okt. 2017

Its a very good course overall. Just felt that towards the end the material got too much to digest, might be a good idea to split the contents of weeks 3 and 4 into 3 or 4 weeks.

von Juan S Z M

14. Nov. 2016

It would be nice if you could deliver the problem's solutions after the course ended. I ran out of ideas for the BetterBWMatching problem and i couldn't overcome the time issues.