Chevron Left
Zurück zu Effective Altruism

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Effective Altruism von Princeton University

4.7
Sterne
578 Bewertungen
169 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Effective altruism is built on the simple but unsettling idea that living a fully ethical life involves doing the most good one can. In this course you will examine this idea's philosophical underpinnings; meet remarkable people who have restructured their lives in accordance with it; and think about how effective altruism can be put into practice in your own life. All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

Top-Bewertungen

JB

22. Jan. 2018

Excellent material on a much needed topic. The course brought together a good number of strong and important ideas, well backed by research and with very interesting and relevant guest speakers.

NR

4. Apr. 2020

Very insightful course, opened my eyes to the importance of an indepth analysis when considering charitable donations. Also introduced valuable resources when considering how and what to give.

Filtern nach:

126 - 150 von 167 Bewertungen für Effective Altruism

von Iván M

21. Sep. 2021

amazing course. it changed my life.

von Rhiannon P

1. Juni 2020

easy to follow and engaging.

von Jorge A C G

2. März 2017

Bien estructurado y claro.

von Aneliq

9. Aug. 2015

Really influential course.

von Yijun L

1. Juni 2021

Peter Singer is a LEGEND

von Basset B

22. Mai 2020

great cours! thanx peter

von MTere O

7. Apr. 2017

The course is very good.

von Adam D K

17. Jan. 2020

Absolutely brilliant!

von Natalia T C

29. Mai 2020

Thanks for this!!

von Eli H

31. Okt. 2018

Very interesting!

von Tushar k

30. Apr. 2019

Extraordinary.

von Ryan

31. Okt. 2015

Life changing

von XAVIER S M

27. Mai 2020

Very Helpful

von Kamala D

31. Okt. 2020

Nice course

von Yessica K A C

29. Sep. 2020

es lo mejor

von tala

6. März 2021

Thank you.

von George J

29. Juli 2020

Brilliant!

von Gary A

8. Dez. 2015

I love it!

von ELMER P M P

27. Sep. 2021

thank you

von Dioselina L O

9. Feb. 2022

g​ood

von Sophia P

19. Nov. 2021

10/10

von AMJITH S

19. Juni 2020

Tough

von A. J

22. Aug. 2020

I took this course to suppliment Professor Paul Bloom's course "Moralities of Everyday Life." That was an entertaining course, and Professor Bloom spoke of Peter Singer as having a massive influence on his ideas, so I chose to check this one out to see what it's about.I'm grateful for "Effective Altruism" course because it shined light on some important considerations that are often overlooked when deciding how to give charity. It was eye-opening and counter-cultural. He does not tell us "follow your heart to do the most good." Proffesor Singer also does not believe that empathy and seeing the people you help as individuals is necessary to do good. Instead, he believes that it is our duty to try to do what will bring the most benefit to the most people.I can see how some people might be put off by the dispassionate nature of this course's content. The "effective" in "effective altruism" is key here. If you want guidance into what charities will produce the best results, this is for you; if you are looking for guidance into how to love others indiscriminately and find the drive to work towards it in your life, I would instead recommend the course "Love as a Force for Social Justice" from Stanford.There was some discussion of the philosophy behind altrusim and morality, but this was an overall practical class. Professor Singer's brought in real life examples of people who engage in effective altrusim, and he introduced certain charities and organizations to us to learn how they operate behind the scenes. In the former cases, the lectures appeared to be recorded in his actual classes he taught, so a "live" Q&A was possible between the students and the guests.There are many information-packed reading suggestions, although reading is not required to get the course certificate. Some of the articles were easy to access online. Others, it appeared the only way to get them was in print. They were packed with facts and opinions. Although I finished the course, I'm still trying to read through all these interesting and pertinent articles.Taken as a whole, it was thought-provoking and undeniably vital in developing my strategy for how I donate to charities. However, are certain cardinal assumptions that I felt may have been overstated and simplistically presented. For example, overwhelming, the focus was on developing countries' plights (e.g. malaria, HIV/Aids, undernourishment), "effective" often seemed implicitly defined by "the number of lives saved" not improved, and the gain versus cost monetary-wise was the way that it was measured. This rubbed me the wrong way as a sustainability major; when the focus was on saving the most lives possible immediately and solely through how money is spent, it seemed to make sacrifices in other important areas- resource allocation, nested power struggles, and soil health to name a few- for fighting poverty.This is certainly a great course to begin learning about the steps you can take towards effective altruism, but it is also not an end point. The ideas presented here for making the greatest impact are just that- opinions and ideas. Use the tools and knowledge and experience and skills you have in addition to the suggestions and resources in this course to decide how you will engage in "effective altruism."Thank you for taking the time to create this, Professor Singer and all that took part.

von David D

9. Feb. 2017

Fairly well presented in that different points of view on the questions were put forward. I found it interesting and informative to learn how better to choose compare and charities.

Unfortunately there seems to be a dominate premise. That is this course insists one must give up the maximum part of ones income to 'charities' who will do the job to help others for you. In this I disagree and have not changed fundamentally in my perception.

Having said that, one does come away with more motivation to think about and to act more altruistically as the occasions present themselves.

von EUGENIA Q

15. Mai 2020

This course allowed me to expand my way of seeing altruism. From the philosophical positions that can support it to the most practical and effective ways of carrying it out. From the what to the how, with deep and enriching experiences carried out by people and organizations. It gave me the opportunity to learn how to help others and motivated me to do it.