Chevron Left
Zurück zu An Introduction to American Law

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für An Introduction to American Law von University of Pennsylvania

4.8
Sterne
2,301 Bewertungen
497 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course will give you a glimpse into six different areas of American law: Tort Law, Contract Law, Property, Constitutional Law, Criminal Law, and Civil Procedure. You will gain insight into the complexities and dilemmas that arise from the application of law in different settings, and what is distinctive about American approaches....

Top-Bewertungen

AA

Sep 17, 2018

I enjoyed this course and it helped me to understand the basic parts of American Law. My only suggestion is to provide even more cases as examples to demonstrate the doctrines and statutes. Thank you.

AD

Jul 26, 2019

This is an excellent class, presentations and content from expert professors are well done, I highly recommend this class whether you're studying law or any other discipline this class is essential.

Filtern nach:

401 - 425 von 485 Bewertungen für An Introduction to American Law

von Elya V

Jun 14, 2017

Cool

von samik c

May 16, 2017

good

von mitchell w

May 07, 2017

good

von Mohsen L G

Sep 21, 2016

good

von donald l r

Sep 11, 2017

G

von Stephen H

Jul 08, 2017

G

von Olya K

Jun 29, 2017

О

von Alex L

Dec 06, 2016

I

von Deny K

Jul 24, 2016

E

von 范亮亮

Feb 23, 2016

t

von Joakim H

Nov 05, 2015

A

von Paul J M

Mar 31, 2016

A very interesting and well presented introduction to US law--even for those, like me, who are neither US citizens nor lawyers. The instructors manage to make some complex ideas simple to understand while not talking down to their students. Assessments were fairly straightforward but did cover the material fairly well.

The biggest weakness, in my view, was the discussion forums. As seems common in most courses on the new Coursera platform, the forums were fairly quiet. However, this was made worse by the apparent attitude of the course mentors who, whether intentionally or merely through their language limitations (neither of the most active mentors were native English speakers or US residents), seemed patronising and dismissive of entirely reasonable questions. Moreover, their input in ever thread served to stifle discussion between students; once they had given the 'correct' response any other input was entirely unwelcome.

I've never come across such apparently hostile 'mentoring' either online or in the traditional academic situations. For this reason alone I rate the course at a 4 rather than 5 star. Maybe later courses will have different mentors or the existing ones will improve their skills. If you can live without friendly and supportive forums then I unreservedly recommend the course.

von Mohammed A G

Jan 19, 2018

I found them in every week of the lecture trying to approve 2 points:

1- Why is our laws great

2- why is it different from other laws

which are mainly not the things I care about.

I care about how these laws work in general and maybe some of the interesting cases that happened.

Also I felt like the course wasn't really organized, like if we have a week to understand how that law connects to that law and how that law connects to the general map of laws (made up name)

But I felt that the things we studied wasn't really connecting to each other.

but anyway generally the course did it's job, and ironically I found the sixth week the most not boring one for some reason.

von ZEINA D S

Jun 13, 2017

Everything was good.

But I have two observations:

1 - Some of the lectures had a translation of the Arabic language and some doesn't contain, I wish I could find a translation in all lectures, which facilitates the process of study.

A. For the certificate:

I hope to send a copy by mail address to the student, because universities usually have a certain paper quality for certificates.

and many student look forward to keeping the certificates in frame as usual.

thanks for your cooperation

von Leung M L M

Sep 13, 2016

An introductory course that provides an overview to a few major aspects of American law, including contract, tort, constitution, property law. Important cases are incorporated to help illustrate fundamental legal concepts. I appreciate that the course puts some highlights in the comparison between the laws of American and laws of other common law jurisdictions, so even law students/legal practitioners from other countries could gain some insight.

von Lawrence M

Nov 20, 2018

The course does offer basic insights into the history of American law, as promised. It also gives you valuable perspective on American legal history and on the principles that govern our courts - especially the Supreme Court. That said, I don't give it five stars because the more extensive texts and reading were unnecessary to passing it. The tests are honestly too easy, and I'm saying that as someone who has never even touched law school.

von Amit K

Apr 24, 2018

A very well thought out selection of lectures and topics to provide an introduction to someone without any prior knowledge of the American legal system. At the same time, these lectures have enough food for thought for the engaged learner and should encourage further exploration of these topics. In my case, it led to several further readings and video watchings.

von Cera K

Mar 30, 2019

Great information! Interesting and for the most part quite easy to follow. I would suggest the creators find re-record the section on Civil Law, as the communication style used by the professor in this section is not nearly as clear as the other sections. I wish it went just a little more in depth, but absolutely excellent experience for a free course!

von Fabio P R

Apr 17, 2017

It is not as demanding as the courses offered by European universities, and this is a negative aspect. However, it provides a useful brief introduction of some key aspects of US Law to foreign lawyers in a very interesting way. It would be nice having entire courses to each of the topics exposed in this course.

von Gloria K W

Jan 25, 2017

It was helpful for me because I am involved in a law suit and I got to learn terminology and what to anticipate in the procedures. I gave only 4 stars because the timing of the course, during the holidays, didn't give any grace for time-out. I realize it's not expected, but that's my scoring. Well presented!

von reneryu

Nov 30, 2015

This course offers basic and essentiul knowledge about US laws including tort law, contract law, property law, constitution law and criminal law. The course is delivered by different lecturers specialized in each topic, thus the content is clear and well explained.

von Derrick J R

Sep 23, 2015

This was a great introductory course on the legal principles that govern our country. It was well instructed and easy to understand. My only grievance would be to have more testing involved so that the information will be transferred to the long term memory.

von Elizabeth S

Apr 17, 2018

This was a great way for me to start pursuing my interest in American law and I enjoyed it. Having a different professor for each week kept it interesting, and I have come away from this class with a solid overview of what each field of law has to offer.

von Christopher S

Jan 19, 2016

This course gives a wide view of the various aspects of American law and does so very well. I enjoyed the way each week was organized. I know that this was an introductory course but would've enjoyed a mechanism for studying some topics in more depth.

von Michael L

Feb 21, 2016

Nice overview class where you can get an introduction to different types of law. Would be nice to do a follow up course(given this seems to be a Intro to each of the First year law classes) on other areas(2nd year) etc type of law.