Chevron Left
Zurück zu Business Metrics for Data-Driven Companies

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Business Metrics for Data-Driven Companies von Duke University

4.6
Sterne
6,285 Bewertungen
1,287 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

In this course, you will learn best practices for how to use data analytics to make any company more competitive and more profitable. You will be able to recognize the most critical business metrics and distinguish them from mere data. You’ll get a clear picture of the vital but different roles business analysts, business data analysts, and data scientists each play in various types of companies. And you’ll know exactly what skills are required to be hired for, and succeed at, these high-demand jobs. Finally, you will be able to use a checklist provided in the course to score any company on how effectively it is embracing big data culture. Digital companies like Amazon, Uber and Airbnb are transforming entire industries through their creative use of big data. You’ll understand why these companies are so disruptive and how they use data-analytics techniques to out-compete traditional companies....

Top-Bewertungen

AC

Nov 03, 2018

really good bases for business metric if you already have a background you are going to enjoy and refresh you memory and if you don't have previous experiences is really easy to understand the concept

AR

Apr 20, 2020

It's a great course because even it's based on theory not practical(Which cover in next courses in specialization) but still, at final assignment submission, you feel great that you tackle a problem.

Filtern nach:

876 - 900 von 1,256 Bewertungen für Business Metrics for Data-Driven Companies

von Thomas W

Apr 20, 2016

This course provides an good introduction to common business metric. It provides real world and fiction example that help solidify the concepts being introduced. The lectures are easy to follow and quizzes help reinforce what student learn. The concept that I've learn will definitely help advance my career in business analysis.

von Autumn R G

Jan 18, 2016

This is a great course, and a wonderful introduction to the world of Business Metrics. I did wish it was more data driven (in that I really thought there would be more Excel work), but I'm glad that I took this course because despite the lack of data in numbers it has set me up to do well in the rest of this specialization.

von Jan C

Mar 22, 2020

I liked the course, especially the explanation of different business roles and the cash flow case study. That was amazing. My only objection would be thattThe topics covered are kind of not very interlinked (of course they relate to each other, but it seemed to me a bit too much of jumping from one topic to another).

von Breanna B

Dec 01, 2015

I enjoyed this course because it opened up a nice array of new concepts in a clear and understandable way. It's always refreshing to find a well-planned course on Coursera.

This is not to say that the course couldn't use a little bit of tweaking though. There are still a few areas where things could be made clearer.

von carl n

Aug 10, 2016

The metrics introduce is broad, but it helps you with the idea of how businesses function in this modern world. We were also introduced to theoretical business for which an attention to business metrics is important. It is good for those who have a technical quantitative background, but no business background.

von Stefan K

Dec 28, 2015

This course being an introductory to Specialization, doesn't stand so good alone. What I really liked were the real-world examples of companies. As introductory course it was fine, but id didn't contain practical assignments (as following in Specialization courses do). The structure of the course was ok.

von Yachao K

May 20, 2020

I pretty like this course and I think it starts my new world. I never enter this filed before, but I can still understand the professional term due to the clear explanation from the professor. I will appreciate if there is a comprehensive explanation about how those metrics link to the following courses

von Thomas S

Sep 27, 2018

I think it would be beneficial to students if there would have been more exercises focused around categorizing metrics. By the end of the course I was not entirely sure how to treat classic accounting metrics that intuitively seem traditional, but are in fact dynamic in certain business contexts.

von Ariana M

Nov 22, 2017

This is definitely an introductory, high-level course. Even so, it covers a number of key foundational concepts used in performing business analyses. I particularly liked the fourth week final assignment which validates how well one understands and can apply the concepts taught during the course.

von Kartik S

Feb 18, 2016

Wonderful course for a starter. However, there were (although very few) points where a more structured approach could have helped making things easier to understand.

But a very helpful course to understand the landscape of the Business Metrics and their application to real-life business problems.

von Liwei Y

Dec 05, 2015

Generally, a very great introduction for business analytic. However, for non-business major or new to business world, this course can be overwhelming because of its frequent usage of business terms. I will recommend you to take basic accounting and basic operation class before taking this one.

von GAELLE K

Jun 14, 2017

This is a great course. Challenging for novice like me but with dedication you get it. The material is accompanied of examples which makes it a lot easier to understand. The professor speaks in a way those who don't have English as their first language can listen and understand.

von Shirley C

Jun 14, 2018

The teaching is quite clear and basic. I recommend this course to anyone who didn't have any previous experience in business and analytics. If you've already attended business school or had finance foundations, this course could still be useful but you can skip some videos.

von zhang y

Nov 01, 2015

Not so technical in these business metrics, a bit unclear in defining all of these metrics. However, give me a very good mindset about how data analyst looks like and what skills do the position require. I am really looking forward to the rest of courses from this combo.

von ZHANG F

Jan 10, 2018

Clear introduction about the role of business analyst and specific skills required. Also the lecture discusses about the key business metrics involved in the commercial area which gives preparation for students to build a basic understanding about data analyst.

von Suprajith H

May 29, 2017

I am someone who had absolutely no idea about Business Metrics . I was wholly interested in Data Sciences. This course is a great place to start to understand how data is relevant in the world of Business Analytics. Professor Egger is a wonderful teacher !

von Rachel M

May 03, 2017

A good introduction, though I would have appreciated more readings or suggestions on where to look into the topics in more depth (particularly the Financial Services Metrics). It was disorienting to not use actual data sets in the final peer assessment.

von Muhammad F

Dec 07, 2015

Good course to build an overall understanding of metrics used by businesses but could have been better if assignments were more case-based but then again thats just my opinion and if the slides were provided at the end of each lecture--just saves time.

von Natalia G

Jan 24, 2020

This course is an intro to the specialization. If you have been working with ratios, you probably won't learn anything new, however, it is a good overview of business metrics, and is ok to take as an intro to the whole specialization it is part of.

von Umang P

Oct 11, 2019

It's a decent course that explains how you define metrics with respect to the various businesses out there, and to minimise redundancy by skipping the metrics that are neither in your control, nor are they applicable to your analysis objectives.

von Nandini P R

Oct 31, 2015

For a beginner like me, this course was a good introduction. I really liked the interviews of the earlier students who are now working in different role in different companies. That gave me a good insight about the working world in this field.

von Alec G

Jun 21, 2017

For what it is – a very basic introduction to business metrics with little to no technical knowledge – this is a decent and low-time-investment course. In a couple of days, you can complete this course and learn some common business jargon.

von Eugene T

Nov 23, 2015

It's a great course that gives a brief business perspective to the metrics involved in companies. However, content in this module can be heavier to give it a more in depth view by the introduction of more terminologies and examples.

von Scott K

Oct 26, 2015

Great course. The instructor is very knowledgeable and gives lots of examples of real companies using metrics. There are some good assignments to practice using the things taught in the course. Seems like a good specialization too.

von Oliviero M

Jun 15, 2017

A great intro to the world of Business Metrics. Looking at the types of professions in this field has been particularly useful to understand the jobs landscape and the skills required to become part of a certain workforce.