Chevron Left
Zurück zu The Ancient Greeks

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für The Ancient Greeks von Wesleyan University

4.7
Sterne
1,374 Bewertungen
362 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This is a survey of ancient Greek history from the Bronze Age to the death of Socrates in 399 BCE. Along with studying the most important events and personalities, we will consider broader issues such as political and cultural values and methods of historical interpretation....

Top-Bewertungen

AS

Apr 23, 2018

This has been an enthralling course which introduces you to the world of the Ancient Greek. Thank you Prof. Andrew Szegedy-Maszak, and all the course creators and mentors, for this excellent course.

GL

Oct 16, 2015

Well presented, wonderful insight into the world of the ancient Greeks. I learnt a lot, and it has whetted my appetite for more. I really loved this course, and enjoyed it very much indeed

Filtern nach:

326 - 350 von 361 Bewertungen für The Ancient Greeks

von Robin W

Jan 27, 2019

Manche Kursmaterialien (Links) sind nicht mehr verfügbar und sollten aktualisiert werden. Ansonsten war der Kurs spannend und lehrreich.

von MERCEDES M S S

Aug 23, 2017

Fue un curso estupendo, fue largo y todavía quedaron muchas cuestiones por abordar, entiendo que el tema es muy extenso. Felicidades.

von Richard F T

Sep 22, 2017

Good teacher, great range of topics, great reading. Only problem was that allot of the external links didn't work and sometimes.

von Fabian F

Dec 29, 2017

Excellent content, but - in my opinion - too much additional reading as it took up a lot of time to get through the literature.

von kouassi n c

Sep 21, 2017

le cours était instructif et enrichissant dommage qu'il n'y ait pas de sous-titres en français sinon il n'y a rien à redire

von Caelyn M

May 29, 2017

Good course, lectures dragged a little; but really coherent picture of Greek history. I felt like I learned a great deal.

von Ghadeer N

May 01, 2020

This was such a good course. The material was rich and the instructor was very informative! I enjoyed and learned a lot.

von Jose A M

May 30, 2018

One of the more challenging and wonderfully thorough Cousera courses that I've taken. I truly enjoyed it. Well done!

von Margreta V d L

Apr 09, 2019

I enjoyed the course. I studied Ancient Greece in high school so the course brought back some memories.

von Frederick L V

Jan 20, 2018

Excellent coverage of the rise and fall of Ancient Athens, particularly Pericles and Alcibiades details.

von David P

Oct 04, 2015

I knew nothing about ancient Greece before. Excellent course. Thanks. David Pearsall, Greenville NC

von Priscila P G d M

Nov 25, 2015

Um excelente panorama da história dos gregos com a indicação de boas leituras complementares.

von Kousay a

Oct 04, 2015

It is a great educational experience that opened the door to the ancient Greek history.

von Johann Q

Sep 05, 2015

The course is ok. But we need really less lectures and more application based courses.

von Daniel S

Apr 03, 2020

Very complete, but could use more multimedia resources to make it more enjoyable.

von Swaroop K

Jul 11, 2018

there could have been a couple of videos on gods and some of the mythic heroes

von Varun N

May 26, 2020

Course offers amazing insights into the lives and times of the ancient Greeks

von Luis M X d C

Aug 15, 2016

A good starting point to learn more about the "Ancient Greeks"

von Rami A K

May 24, 2020

Very informative. Ties it all together.

von Kenneth M

Dec 08, 2015

well presented and thought provoking

von Renato F

May 15, 2019

Very interesting course. Thank you

von Pimpisut S

Sep 18, 2015

A really great course!!

von Marianna P

Sep 15, 2015

Astonishing!

von Andrew M

Sep 01, 2015

Ancient Greeks is brief overview of Greek civilization from about 1800 to 320 BC, starting with the Minoans of Crete and ending with the death of Alexander the Great. Prof. Andrew Szegedy-Maszak demonstrates great knowledge about the subjects, covering literature, government, and philosophy.

Yet the course has two setbacks: 1) The professor stutters through the lectures, displaying his obvious discomfort being on camera; and 2) the overview is very expansive, so there isn't great study in any single theater of Greek civilization.

There is, however, solid coverage. I also felt the chapter on the 4th cent. BC, done to address complaints about no coverage of Alexander and Macedon, feels tacked on. It's a long, but somehow hurried lecture.

That said, I liked this course. I gained greater knowledge of important political and literary figures, such as Solon and Alcibiades, than I did when I studied the subject back in college.