Chevron Left
Zurück zu Animal Behaviour and Welfare

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Animal Behaviour and Welfare von The University of Edinburgh

4.8
Sterne
4,369 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Animal welfare has been described as a complex, multi-faceted public policy issue which includes important scientific, ethical, and other dimensions. Improving our understanding of animal welfare, involves the fascinating study of animal behavior as well as the challenge of accessing the emotions of animals. This is the On-Demand version of this course, which means you can start the course at any time and work through the course materials at your own pace. The materials and quizzes will always be available to you. You can come and talk about the course on Twitter using the hashtag #EdAniWelf...

Top-Bewertungen

AS

21. Juni 2020

This course was very informative and interesting! I enjoyed the lectures as well as the instructors and also loved that it focused on many different kinds animal welfare issues. Definitely recommend!

PR

27. Apr. 2020

Its a nicely designed course. It sheds light on many animal care practices and welfare. Very well instructions and quiz sessions are arranged. Many important learnings and takeaways from the course.

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 von 1,122 Bewertungen für Animal Behaviour and Welfare

von Maria K T M

22. Aug. 2020

Very informative and I appreciate the definitions and terms added for such a limited amount of time. Sources provided are also helpful for additional reading and the course does show that it cares for the learner to be well-informed and to be entertained because this course is also persuasive as each video of the lesson shows visually the environment on what the topic is about-- for example if it is about zoo animals they provide videos related to it and inserts slides as well to show what they are talking about which is very helpful for further understanding.

von asheesh s

7. Apr. 2020

Very very informative and motivational to sensitize us towards the welfare aspects of all animals, most important is that it opens our eyes to see these animals not from our point of views but try to see their world with their eyes and its not important that what we think, more important is what we do for these sentient animals. Thank you very much for opening our eyes, making us to think in a different way, broader way and specially to sensitize us to focus on various welfare issues and giving special attention towards the BEHAVIORAL part of animal welfare.

von Katerina P

27. Nov. 2019

Very helpful, well organized, eye opening course! Loved it! It made me want to study more on the subject of animal welfare and behavior.

I think this course would be beneficial for everyone today, regardless of if they have animals in their life or not, as it gives a very solid perspective, demystification, and understanding of what a good animal welfare means, how to assess it and how to objectively view the problematic of animal welfare in different areas, such as pets, farm/production animals, wild animals in captivity, etc.

I highly recommend this course!

von Desai N H

10. Feb. 2021

Got to know cutting edge research being conducted in animal welfare science. Relevant research crux was shared throughout the course, it is the best part of this learning experience. Covered the animal kingdom which we interact directly or indirectly in great diversity. The professional manner in which all the instructors curated the course is admirable. Mentors' quick and continuous support in discussion forum made the journey more exciting. Tests were also insightful and in a way taught welfare concerns afresh and it will be remembered for long!

von Jana R B

15. Aug. 2016

What an informative course! Your Professors (all women, and which I find very impressive and inspiring) are so knowledgeable, so broad-based, as well as detail-oriented in their quest to bring animal rights to the forefront of worldwide consciousness. I would love to visit University of Edinburgh someday, I'm an alumnus of University of Montana (B.A.) and Gonzaga University (M.A., and Ph.D. candidacy). Thanks so very much for offering this most important course for free and to make it available for certification so that it can be added to any resume.

von Brittany R

14. Okt. 2018

Very informative, and it helped me see aspects of everyday life that were definitely "out of sight, out of mind" as it often is with lifestock (for those not in farming or thinking about what they eat/where it comes from), wild animals in zoos and conservation sites, as well as animals used in lab testing which I had always been curious about since I work at a cancer research journal. I'm interested in learning more and advocating for animals in any way I can while still trying not to anthropomorphize them so much (as humans are wont to do).

von Eddy L

25. Feb. 2016

This is a very nice course. Thank you so very much for it.

It covers so many aspects of Animal Welfare. At the introduction, it is explained on how to have a useful discussion on such a delicate subject.

With so much information and facts given, one can develop their very own opinion on this Animal Welfare.

I find it very important to cover Animal Welfare for anyone, who works with any kind of animals.Alongside this course I studied Dognition and Basic Horse Management. Soon I will be starting Dairy Farm Management and Horse Nutrition.

von Melanie M

2. März 2018

This is a great way of getting some education on the subject. I love animals and hope to work for an animal welfare charity as my next career move. I currently work in an Aquarium but in the operations side so I hope this shows potential employers my passion on the subject. For someone that is older and unfortunately can't afford to study full time, these courses are a great way of testing the brain! Really easy to learn whilst keeping up a hectic lifestyle! Thanks Coursera, I have already signed up to The Truth about Cat's and Dogs!

von Irenke B

23. Aug. 2020

This course was so much more than I expected it to be! I learnt a lot and I'm excited to put the knowledge I gained into use in my new career path. I highly recommend it for anyone who wants to know more about AW. The only downside is that a lot of the additional resources aren't accessible unless you can buy/rent the books or have access to research papers (if you're in university maybe?). But the actual course content was informative in itself. I look forward to learning from other Uni of Edinburgh animal-related courses :)

von Hawra F A

20. Aug. 2020

A great introduction to animal welfare! Comprehensive and option to watch previous years' livestreams :)

The discussion forums seem lovely too, but I didn't use them much. But when I did open them, I saw a comprehensive post on goat and sheep care, I think, as an addition to farm animal care which was the week's topic. It was quite comprehensive and also had detailed input from someone with actual goats. I'm sure that might have been more but I didn't out much time going through it, but I would love to someday in the future :)

von Suneet C

22. Juni 2020

The course was very engaging and stimulating. The lectures were very passionate about Animal Welfare and this made it more fun and interesting. The course has also challenged me to think about certain welfare aspects I had no previous knowledge about. In addition, the additional material and optional module were interesting topics to consider and think about especially for a student like me in the veterinary field. I would like to thank all the lectures for their help and for delivering this informative course.

von Deleted A

18. Nov. 2015

Five weeks in and this is one of the best courses going, This is a course every potential animal carer should take before considering 'cute' and 'expensive' just because they come with a certificate of pedigree with names one can't pronounce of prize winning ancestry. Drive past the puppy and kitten factories and go down to ones local RSPCA centre or council pound instead, you will never regret it. Rescue animals are the best because they will never forget your kindness for giving them a nice comfortable home.

von Khalisya A P

21. Nov. 2020

As a veterinary medicine student in Indonesia, I feel that subjects about animal behavior are not too emphasized in our studies. Through this course, I have learned many new pieces of information and eye-opening facts about animal behavior and welfare. Even though the standards of how we should treat animals may be different in Asia and Europe, hopefully I will still be able to use this course as a reference in my future career. Thank you to Coursera for letting me learn through this course for free.

von Loreta M

28. März 2018

A brilliant course - suitable for beginners and amateurs interested in animal behavior welfare. Every lecture is engaging, full of useful information, encouraging discussion and thirst for more info! And there's plenty of that as well - every lecture provides extra reading material, quizzes to test what you've learned and a taste at the end of every week. AND you get an extra lecture at the end. This course reiterated the things that I already new, and provided some fresh material to think about.

von Shalini k

6. Okt. 2020

all round course to understand about the welfare of pets, strays, farm, and wild animals.

this course has provided me with lot of knowledge and understanding of what we assume and what is it in real with the animal. being a animal activist who helps strays this course was necessary for a deep understanding of lader of aggression and how to improve the welfare of shelters, welfare principals, animal experiences, the five freedoms, care, and many more. thank you team for such a wonderful course

von Jane R

31. Juli 2022

​this was done during a Covid isolation period so appreciate it would probably take longer to do 'normally'. I found the course very confronting at times but understand that nothing can be sugar coated. Excellent. I am 66 years old and when 15 I was told by the school careers officer that I could not work with animals vecause that was man;s work! Been a long journey. Im now a Clinical Therapy Dog handler and Story Book Dog handler. Still looking for as much info as I can get. Thank you!

von Katrina P

23. März 2020

As a year 8 student in Middle School(junior high) This entire program was very easy to understand and showed me some key terms in Animal Behavior and Welfare. This has surely taught me well and it very much will help me with getting a job that uses this information in the future. I really enjoyed this learning experience and I'm glad to give it 5 stars as I feel it is a wonderful program! Thank you for this experience and I hope that others that do this program enjoy it as much as I do!

von vadali s s

28. März 2018

This course has been amazing, i have learnt a lot more about animals and their behaviors as pets, strays and in captive. i received a better opportunity to understand the animal welfare issues around the world. Few videos that were shown in this session were heart touching. The course actually showed the sour truths about how animals suffer and how miserable their lives can be if not treated well. overall this course is very interesting and suites quite well for animal lovers.

von Sylvia S M

16. März 2016

Opened my eyes to a lot of what is going on especially in the animal food industry, and animal behaviours and animal welfare that we don't consider when a visitor to a zoo or game farm. If more of us became aware, and understood the issues as well for both the industry and the animals, new policy via populace advocacy might help even further. It is taking too long for this, considering we live amongst animals for companions, and eat animals for survival. WEll most of us do.

von manaswini g

3. Juni 2020

This course was an wonderful experience, as I got several new perspective about life of an animal, the parts which were distressing did add on a lot of knowledge. I have interest in knowing and studying about Animal Rights and Psychology. So if such a course could be structured. This course structure is just what it needs to be and I feel so satisfied pursuing this course. Thanks for creating the course, to all the ones who taught us the course. Huge thanks to all of you.

von Fanny A

18. Apr. 2021

It's a very good introduction to the animal welfare subject, covering different topics. The course doesn't treat subjects in depth but instead provide a very good introduction. I would add to that that the resources available are of great quality and more in depth. The teachers are good to my own opinion, and the format is very engaging. I would recommend this course to anybody with a slight interest in animals and animal welfare. The content is of a very good quality.

von Bhavya B D

18. Dez. 2020

Thank you Coursera for providing me this great opportunity to complete this very interesting, informative course on Animal Behavior and Welfare. As an animal lover and an enthusiast it really helped me with a lot of learning with animal behavior. I would also like to thank Coursera for sponsoring courses to the students of St. Agnes college Mangaluru, India. This made us receive the most valuable certificate for extra credits after completing the course successfully.

von Wolf

3. Aug. 2019

As someone who studies animals and trains many there were some points I wasn't quite on ball with but many I still agreed with on your reasoning. Personally I've always thought animals felt emotions (I mean how can a human feel it and not an animal if we are all animals with the same common ancestors) so I often try to read their body language to understand how they may be feeling to what we are doing. This was a good course though with some good readings and videos.

von Sravya c

3. Mai 2021

It is common and known to us that animals are categorised in 4 different areas; farming, pet ownership, wildlife & sanctuaries and slaughtering. However, much is happening without our knowledge and awareness with animals in depth, and probably without our understanding on animal communication vs. human's translation and selfishness. This course opens the path to introduce us to the world of animals' behaviour and welfare and everything that lies between it.

von Vishrutha R

1. Apr. 2020

I found the course quite informative and engaging in terms of understanding the stress factors that apply to animals with human interaction. However, I wanted to know more about how QBA is quantified and how enrichment planning can be evaluated. I particularly was looking forward to understanding the welfare of captive cetaceans and how they can be improved which wasn't part of the syllabus but I shall try to extrapolate. Thank you for the enjoyable course.