Chevron Left
Zurück zu Animals, Self, and Society

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Animals, Self, and Society von University of Colorado Boulder

4.7
Sterne
66 Bewertungen
19 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course explores how animals and people are situated within the web of structures and connections known as “society.” Module 1 considers some of the key symbolic roles that animals play in society by investigating the practice of “thinking with animals.” We investigate how people construct different meanings of animals and the implications these meanings have for both animals and humans. You will gain first-hand experience of this by analyzing how animals are represented in the media. Modules 2 and 3 investigate human-animal relationships, including those that involve suffering as well as those that are beneficial. Although many people describe their pets as friends or family members, Module 2 takes a deeper dive into what constitutes friendship and family membership where other species are concerned. Module 3 examines the dark side of these relationships, focusing on animal abuse and its relationship to domestic violence. Module 4 focuses on people’s encounters with those animals outside the boundaries of the home and the farm. The way people understand and regard the species commonly considered “wild” shapes the treatment and moral status of these animals....

Top-Bewertungen

JL
21. Nov. 2020

A really great course, easy to follow lectures and great information! I had a really fun time with it, and the peer graded assignment really solidified what I had learnt. I definitely recommend! :)

WP
13. Feb. 2021

Awesome course! Learned a lot. Very interesting and easy to learn from. Educational. I am studying to be a vet tech and this will be a valuable course on my resume.

Filtern nach:

1 - 20 von 20 Bewertungen für Animals, Self, and Society

von GUIDO F K

28. Sep. 2020

Leslie Irvine was an excellent teacher. Even though the classes were short, the information was detailed and I learned a lot of different aspects of the animals sorrounding our current society that I had never considered before.

von Marcnel J

25. Sep. 2020

Easy to follow and understand.

von Winston A W

24. Sep. 2020

Excellent, thank you.

von Reshob R

29. Sep. 2020

This course provides a lot of examples regarding human and animal relationships. It also encourages us to question the philosophical, psychological, and moral implications regarding human-animal interactions along with racialization and genderization of animals.

von Rhyki W

28. Sep. 2020

I don't think that peer-review assignments ought to weigh on our grades, as I have encountered peers not testing my reference links or actually reading submissions which ended up resulting in a non-passing score.

von Jessica L

22. Nov. 2020

A really great course, easy to follow lectures and great information! I had a really fun time with it, and the peer graded assignment really solidified what I had learnt. I definitely recommend! :)

von Wendy J P

14. Feb. 2021

Awesome course! Learned a lot. Very interesting and easy to learn from. Educational. I am studying to be a vet tech and this will be a valuable course on my resume.

von Maria C

17. Dez. 2020

It's a very nice, full of information course. I think everyone should lay an eye on this course and learn critical information about animals.

von Rijita M

19. Nov. 2020

very informative and highly reccomended for anyone in the field of human and animals dyad.

von Brenda L

29. Sep. 2020

Excellent course. Thoroughly enjoyed it. Lots of very good information!!

von Melike N D

29. Dez. 2020

It was a very productive course

Congratulations !!!

von W O

17. Jan. 2021

The course was great and challenging

von Jen A G

14. Dez. 2020

love the instructor!

von Aizhan S

30. Sep. 2020

Very useful course

von Camilo A M E

18. Jan. 2021

Very informative!

von VICTOR D R B

21. Juni 2021

excelente curso

von S S

20. März 2021

easy and fun

von Fatima A K

7. Juli 2021

very informative course

von Ewurajei

12. Feb. 2021

Really worth it.

von Osama A M

30. Okt. 2021

Need Graphics, & Pictures in Lecture