Chevron Left
Zurück zu International Law in Action: the Arbitration of International Disputes

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für International Law in Action: the Arbitration of International Disputes von Universiteit Leiden

4.8
Sterne
523 Bewertungen
84 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

‘The Arbitration of International Disputes’ is the third course of Leiden University’s series on International Law in Action. The first course covered generalities on the international courts and tribunals in The Hague, while the second course provided an insider's perspective into the work of international criminal courts and tribunals. This third course explores the major aspects of international arbitration as one of the most common method of international dispute settlement . Through this course you will gain an in-depth understanding of the various facets of international arbitration through the analysis of its role as a mechanism of dispute settlement, its institutions, the fields of law it is applicable to, and, of course, its most famous awards. The main question we will answer together during this course is "Can international arbitration contribute to the creation of a peaceful world through the settlement of disputes between States and between States and non-State actors?" In order to do so, we will learn the basic historical concepts or arbitration, as well as everything there is to know about the Permanent Court of Arbitration, based in The Hague. We will then dive into the role of international arbitration in settling disputes relating to the Law of the Sea, with a particular insight into the landmark South China Sea Arbitration. For an entire module, we will focus on investment arbitration, its principles and the procedure of the ICSID, the International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes. We will conclude the course with a module on the interplay between state immunity and enforcement of arbitral awards. This is brought to light through the Yukos Arbitration which is a perfect illustration of the topic. This course offers you an opportunity to gain a better insight into international arbitration, its role and the current issues relating to it. You will gain in-depth knowledge of the principles and rules of arbitration. You will explore the topic through concrete examples and the most prominent arbitrations. You will also grasp the notion of international arbitration navigating between law and politics. International arbitration and The Hague go hand in hand: several key arbitration institutes are located in The Hague and important disputes were settled here through arbitration. The Hague is, so to speak, ‘the place to be for international arbitration’, especially when we are dealing with arbitration between States, or arbitration of investment disputes between foreign investors and States. Join us for the course and become an expert on international arbitration! This course is free to join and to participate in. There is the possibility to get a verified certificate for the course, which is a paid option. If you want a certificate, but are unable to pay for it, you can request financial aid via Coursera....

Top-Bewertungen

LM

May 08, 2020

Great course to provide an overview of international arbitration. The last exercise needs to be updated with the latest info on the Yukos case, the Appels Court (18/02/2020) reinstated the PCA award.

MR

Jan 22, 2020

It was a wonderful course on International Arbitration by University of Leiden. Got to learn a lot. I would like to thank Coursera and University of Leiden for such a productive course.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 85 Bewertungen für International Law in Action: the Arbitration of International Disputes

von Maureen S

Mar 23, 2018

Excellent course. Lectures are clear and concise. Testing is relevant and designed to help you understand the material.

von Okachi A

Nov 13, 2018

It gave a broad understanding of international Arbitration and the law of the sea, international investment laws and others.

von Leonardo C L M

May 08, 2020

Great course to provide an overview of international arbitration. The last exercise needs to be updated with the latest info on the Yukos case, the Appels Court (18/02/2020) reinstated the PCA award.

von Marcelo G F M

May 11, 2020

Excellent course! Thanks Drs De Brabandere and Pinzauti for such an excellent course. I highly recommend it to anyone interested in arbitration and its different types and forms.

von Hope M

Apr 06, 2018

This was a very insightful course. The manner in which it is structured allows a considerable in-depth coverage of content and direction for further personal development.

von KRUSCH P A

May 09, 2020

I recommend this course on International Arbitration to all, especially to those who want to get an introduction to International Arbitration law.

von Olotu E

Nov 11, 2019

It was a very interesting course. The links and resources to articles, was very helpful and also the cases that were used to teach the course.

von Ethige B S

Oct 26, 2018

The course International Law in Action: the arbitration of international disputes is explanation very good and starting one and two lessons are not so difficult. But third questions are bit difficult. May be fourth and final exam might be like third questions have to spend more time to answer. I am studying law because of involving United Nation activities and improve my knowledge and not to become a professional layer. Thank very much Coursera helping to study law. Best wishers to the Coursera organization team.

von saurabh s

May 11, 2018

Excellent course for those who are engaged in international dispute settlement and it will serve as much needed food for thought for those who wishes to build their intellect in given field. It is also a gateway for those who wishes to see themself in Hague and particularly who want to do an advance LLM which Leiden University is about to offer. Highly recommendable!.

von Syed S D

May 12, 2020

It has been pleasure for me that i fully understand the important concepts of International Arbitration through this course. The lectures are designed and delivered nicely in a concise form in very easy way to understand the comprehensive knowledge within a short course. Thanks the institution and both the learned teachers.

von Mohamed M G

Feb 17, 2019

The course content is clearly articulated and the mode of delivery (lecture videos) very personal and accommodating. I have thoroughly enjoyed and gained so much from the course work that I feel ready to practice Arbitration of International Disputes.

I highly recommend this course to any person interested in this field.

von Bhagya G

May 18, 2020

This is a great course which provides a broad understanding regarding the Arbitration of International Disputes. It was an interesting experience and I learned a lot from this Course. Thank you very much university of Leiden and Coursera, for providing such opportunities to learn online and obtain Knowledge.

von Mukhtar K

Nov 19, 2018

Thank you for everything thank you very much for organizing such a chance. Thanks to this course, I gained new knowledge and information that was very useful to me. I would like most people to be aware of this course, thank you for doing something useful to people who are scared of such a system

von Irfan J

Nov 19, 2018

Excellent course and materials. The course has acted as a refresher for my understanding of international arbitration law. The video lectures are comprehensive and recommended reading lists are very helpful. Thanks a lot to Universiteit Leiden and the course organisers.

von Arvin A O

Feb 08, 2018

The videos are instructive. The readings are relevant. The instructors are great. The course can be done at one's pace and preferred time. Overall, the course is a great place to start if one wishes to embark on a deeper understanding of international arbitration.

von Samba M

Nov 18, 2019

Great course that equips one with adequate knowledge of Arbitration of International Disputes, a great indeed for budding arbitrators who want to dive deeper and gain a better understanding of international dispute resolution specifically arbitration

von Ahmet S T

May 11, 2020

It was the best course experience ever. Teachers are the best teachers in the field. They support us with resources and cases for us to learn. His exams were also really challenging. If you do not grasp the subject, you cannot pass the course.

von Narinder K

Aug 01, 2020

I really amazed to note that such experienced facilities made this tough subject so easy to understand. I really moved and learnt lot from it. The learning of International arbitration will help me a lot in my professional career

von Sukhamrinder P S

Jul 14, 2020

This Course on International Investment Arbitration has been fantastic learning experience. The study material is very knowledgeable and updated. The faculties are excellent and explain the module in a very simplified manner.

von Luka J

Nov 17, 2018

I have done the first two weeks and do recommend the course to all who have an interest in international arbitration. The course is easily accessible and provides you with an overview of all the major areas of the subject.

von Peter A O

May 05, 2020

This course has perfectly broadened my horizon with respect to international dispute settlement mechanisms especially arbitration in a very succint and concise manner. The study materials are very resourceful and wide.

von jamal s b

Dec 09, 2019

the most important course I have taken concerning about arbitration,and advise every one interesting in this subject to start,many sources and views easily to be full aware about ,just take the first step..

von MADHUPARNA R

Jan 22, 2020

It was a wonderful course on International Arbitration by University of Leiden. Got to learn a lot. I would like to thank Coursera and University of Leiden for such a productive course.

von Rohit K

Jul 12, 2018

The course content was really good and met my expectations. I am very thankful to both the instructors for designing this wonderful course

von Ender

May 13, 2020

The lecture and content of the course will be more beneficial for me in my future professional life.

Thanks for the course organisation