Chevron Left
Zurück zu Archaeoastronomy

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Archaeoastronomy von Politecnico di Milano

4.5
Sterne
1,226 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Archaeoastronomy is the “science of stars and stones”. It is an interdisciplinary science in between architecture, archaeology, and astronomy. It studies the relationships between the ancient monuments and the sky, in order to gain a better understanding of the ideas of the architects of the past and of their religious and symbolic world. The course provides the first complete, easy introduction to this fascinating discipline. During the course, many spectacular ancient sites of archaeology – such as Stonehenge in England, Giza and Karnak in Egypt, Chichen Itzá in the Yucatan, Macchu Picchu in Peru and the Pantheon in Rome – will be visited and the fascinating events occurring there in special days of the year (such as solstices, equinoxes, or the day of the foundation of Rome) will be shown and explained. The course also provides the necessary background on Astronomy with the naked eye and a general introduction to the role of Astronomy in religion and in the management of power among ancient cultures....

Top-Bewertungen

II

2. März 2019

Amazingly made MOOC. Perhaps it feels a bit short in comparison to some of the others, but the material is well presented and the suggested readings give plenty of opportunity for further learning.

DG

27. Nov. 2021

I really enjoyed this archaeoastronomy course. Professor Magli demonstrated outstanding knowledge of the subject, and was so generous in sharing his expertise through videos of worldwide locations.

Filtern nach:

276 - 300 von 384 Bewertungen für Archaeoastronomy

von Carlos E F

19. Apr. 2022

Es un excelente curso introductorio. La secuencia de sesiones está bien organizada y los temas son abordados de forma clara e interesante lo que motiva a aprender más del tema. Las pruebas son relevantes y pertinentes a los contenidos estudiados. Lo recomiendo a cualquiera que esté motivado por la integración entre arquitectura y astronomía.

von Karen

8. Feb. 2021

Fascinating class with great examples. Given the criticality of the concepts of Azimuth throughout the course it would have been better to cover that more thoroughly up front, perphps with written materials to look at similar to the last section on formulas. Loved all the examples of ancient buildings/places where this is applicable.

von Jose N

16. Dez. 2020

It is a brief but interesting view of the relationship between ancient civilizations, astronomy, and monumental architecture. It is slightly more in-depth than a NatGeo documentary. You don't need any background to take it, but the first and last quizzes assumes that you have powers of divination to answer. It is fun to get it done.

von Amulya K

17. Mai 2021

This course is very interesting! As a student of Architecture, I've always wanted to delve deeper into diverse subjects and I've been curious about Astronomy since I was young. The course was a wonderful amalgamation of Architecture and Astronomy. The videos were very informative and the subject as a whole was taught very well.

von Lerato K

15. März 2018

As a basic course on the rudimentary elements of what constitute archeoastronomy it is very informative and a good grounding for anyone seeking to learn about how astronomy has been part of the social and cultural life of human evolution, and in some ways the roots that led to the birth of Astro physics from ancient times.

von Alvaro P

26. Juni 2017

Muy buen curso. Los test son suelen irse por detalles que con frecuencia pasan inadvertidos. Me gustó mucho y aprendí mucho.

Si algo se me complicó particularmente, fue el acento del instructor. tuve que basarme mucho en las transcripciones para lograr una comprensión más cabal de los temas. De cualquier forma, muy bueno.

von Eva B

18. Mai 2022

​Fascinating course with wonderfully explained details. Dr Giulio Magli gave a lot of insight regarding ancient astronomy and archeology, and answered many of my questions regarding monuments. Looking forward to find the time for the exercises and to read is book. I can only recommend Archeoastronomy as a study subject.

von Marianthi P

2. Dez. 2020

One of the most interesting courses I have found so far in coursera. However, I think there was a huge gap in the 6th week regarding the classical word, since there was not even a slight reference about the Mechanism of Antikythera , the theater of Epidaurus and other astromically -related ancient Greek monuments.

von Mahbub A K

15. Okt. 2017

It's a great course about ancient archaeology with its relation with astrology. It is apparently new subject but developing much rapid pace. It will shade light on many things which are clouded by current pseudo science of ancient astronauts. Only difficulty I face with this course is the accent of the instructor.

von Erin H

11. Okt. 2020

Fabulously interesting material but weeks 1 and 7 were jam-packed with complex info that needed a lot more unpacking. I felt that I gained very little in terms of genuine comprehension from these weeks. The other weeks were fantastic - I just wish the quality had been a bit more consistent throughout the course.

von Zeta

1. Apr. 2020

Fascinating course! I really enjoyed it. I will definitely read more about archaeoastronomy. The length of the course and the materials used were just about right. Thank you all for making it possible. As a total novice on the matter, I found it easy to follow. Overall a very interesting course!

von Vasiliki C

16. Apr. 2021

The material was very interesting and the videos were great.

The first and last test, however, were too hard and you had to be familiar with material that was not presented in videos or could not be deduced from the readings.

Anyway, I learned a lot of things and I'm glad I participated.

von Antonia d C B

27. März 2018

Very good course to give you a basic overview of archaeoastronomy as a branch of science. The quiz questions tend to be too "technical" and sometimes really challenging as it requires a lot of focusing on the parts where astronomical phenomena are described. The course could be longer.

von D S

28. März 2017

Loved the course videos and lectures were entertaining. I was a bit dissappointed with the outright dismissal of non-traditional understnadings of these ancient monuments and thought the explanations on why and how they were built, were lightly treated.

A great course ...

von Vladislav K

25. Aug. 2017

Very good! This is uniqe scientific course. The Author gives a complete and important informaion about the connections between visible sky and buildings on the Earth. I give four stars to this course because no practical methodic for evaluation of the ancient sites is given.

von Evelyn

10. Feb. 2021

very fun introduction to the subject of archaeoastronomy, one issue with language use in the documents in the last week and the phrasing of some questions makes it difficult to understand what the question is asking for and trying to decipher the information to answer.

von Mariela G

21. Nov. 2020

Very interesting course, however I found the pace of the lectures a little too fast paced with a ton of information given in a very short videos. At times I found it hard to remember everything taught in the lessons in order to complete the quiz at the end of the week.

von Sophie V

24. März 2020

The lectures in the course were really good, but in the last week, all of the course material was just reading and a quiz that asked questions that don't appear to have been fully addressed in the text, which was frustrating after the clarity of the other units.

von Norma J

14. Aug. 2020

Excellent survey class. I don't think I was qualified as the professor presents fomulae and concepts which went way WAY over my head mathematically. Terms were so foreign to me I wish I had taken a preliminary course. Very cool world tour of related sites.

von Emily S

4. Dez. 2020

This course is informative about both visual astronomy and ancient architecture. Unfortunately, the Italian professor, though knowledgeable, has a very difficult accent in English, making him somewhat unintelligible without great concentration.

von Alan G

26. Aug. 2020

Quizzes in weeks 1 & 7 were much more difficult than those in weeks 2-6. an enjoyable course that certainly will give me a different perspective when watching some of the programmes on the various Discovery/National Geographic channels!

von James C

28. Feb. 2018

Very interesting topic. Extremely enjoyable. Appreciate the technical introduction to the topics, but would have appreciated a little more big picture. I'm still wondering about the real motivations behind these ancient structures.

von Michelle B

25. Okt. 2020

It is a well-constructed course to learn Archaeoastronomy.

I've missed some other topics like the Nazca Lines and more Asian Archaeoastronomy.

But overall it is a good start to understand how ancient people viewed the Sky.

von William R N J

10. Juni 2017

Interesting, but a bit confusing in dealing with the more technical aspects of archaeoastronomy. I would have benefited from spending a bit more time on the nuts and bolts of the movements of the sun, moon, and stars.

von Eda N Ö

14. Feb. 2021

The course was great, but I would also like to see Göbeklitepeyi or Nevali Çori, which are the first places that come to mind when it comes to archeology. However, the course was very good. thanks for everything.