Chevron Left
Zurück zu Archaeoastronomy

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Archaeoastronomy von Politecnico di Milano

4.5
Sterne
1,210 Bewertungen
378 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Archaeoastronomy is the “science of stars and stones”. It is an interdisciplinary science in between architecture, archaeology, and astronomy. It studies the relationships between the ancient monuments and the sky, in order to gain a better understanding of the ideas of the architects of the past and of their religious and symbolic world. The course provides the first complete, easy introduction to this fascinating discipline. During the course, many spectacular ancient sites of archaeology – such as Stonehenge in England, Giza and Karnak in Egypt, Chichen Itzá in the Yucatan, Macchu Picchu in Peru and the Pantheon in Rome – will be visited and the fascinating events occurring there in special days of the year (such as solstices, equinoxes, or the day of the foundation of Rome) will be shown and explained. The course also provides the necessary background on Astronomy with the naked eye and a general introduction to the role of Astronomy in religion and in the management of power among ancient cultures....

Top-Bewertungen

II

2. März 2019

Amazingly made MOOC. Perhaps it feels a bit short in comparison to some of the others, but the material is well presented and the suggested readings give plenty of opportunity for further learning.

DG

27. Nov. 2021

I really enjoyed this archaeoastronomy course. Professor Magli demonstrated outstanding knowledge of the subject, and was so generous in sharing his expertise through videos of worldwide locations.

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 von 381 Bewertungen für Archaeoastronomy

von YOGESH.B

18. Apr. 2021

Hello, My name is YOGESH.B I studied this course in India. It was quite astonishing. The teacher conducted the lesson very well. With this course, I was able to learn the unknown clearly. The method of conducting the lesson was also clear enough to understand.

I hope this course will be very useful for my future.

Thanks, Coursera...😊😊😊

von Rani W

10. März 2021

Excellent Course. I am pleased that esteemed universities like Politecnico di Milano are finally opening up to re-teaching such a suppressed knowledge, publicly speaking, especially and personally, how it pertains to contemporary architecture and urbanism. It will be interesting to see how this field develops from here!

Thank you, Rani.

von Tristan C

12. Apr. 2020

I absolutely LOVED this course. LOVED !!!!! I am an Environmental Engineer by Trade, and the videos where fantastic!!. This course has made me want to travel to see all the great megalithic structures in the world. I will listen to the videos again and will seek the books you have recommended. Well done Politechnico Milano !!!

von Daniel O C P

17. Nov. 2020

Es un curso muy bueno e interesante, no solo se limita al tema arqueológico, de hecho empecé a tomar conciencia del movimiento de los astros y pues efectivamente tienen relación con las temporadas de lluvia, ubicación en cierto lugares, época de cosecha, etc. me gustaría volver a llevar un curso similar con el mismo docente :D

von Lara

13. Okt. 2020

Great new course that provides interesting connections between temples build by different nations using knowledge of stars. I wish it was more temples included in this course, such as from the Middle East. Looking forward to learn more from Politecnica Milano, that related to astronomy and architecture. Grazie from New York.

von Rakesh M

14. Juni 2020

Excellent introduction to the less known but fascinating field of Archaeoastronomy. The content has been designed meticulously and explained well by Dr. Giulio Magli. Some parts of the week seven content, like the motions of the moon and the Venus, if explained through animation would make it even better. My felicitations!

von Elizabeth G

16. Mai 2020

This is a fascinating overview of archaeoastronomy. I learned a lot about ancient monuments that were built in accordance with movements of the sun, moon, and stars. It is challenging to understand all the concepts, but worth the effort. I bought Dr Magli's book and look forward to reading it. I want to learn more.

von Svitlana

6. Jan. 2021

I am very pleased that I found this course and was able to complete it. It is rich in interesting information and shows Archaeoastronomy as a promising area of research. During the course I improved my skills in astronomy, although (as the final test shows) they are still not very good. Thank you Teacher for his work!

von ANDREA P

10. Apr. 2021

Very nice introduction to this topic ; equilibrate use of the documentation and clear, precise and stimulating examples presentation ;nice videographics ; statements are well explained ; to suggest to people interested in a different (but scientific evidence based) point of view about "old stones"

von Kati P

28. Okt. 2021

I​ am so glad to have found this course! I don't have any background in the field but the subjects of archaeology and astronomy have interested me since childhood. The course is ideal for beginners as long as you work through the material thoroughly. Thank you for this amazing experience, Polimi!

von Crystal E

8. Aug. 2021

I​t was fascinating ! Well-constructed and full of detailed examples. I learned a lot. I was looking forward to have a better understanding of the connection between ancient cultural heritage sites and astronomy, and this course provided me all the knowledge I needed and even more. Thank you !

von Karen O

5. Jan. 2021

I really enjoyed this course and only wish I hadn't taken it over Christmas when I wasn't able to give it my best effort.

A big thank you to Dr Magli for the great video lectures.

I am hoping to further my interest by reading more of bibliography contents.

Thank you and Happy New Year!

von John F G

4. Juni 2020

Very informative course! Learned much about how astronomy is linked to various monuments and ancient civilizations. Particularly enjoyed the architectural alignment of monuments/buildings with stars and movement of our solar system. Thank you for developing and teaching this course!!

von Jennifer H

1. Juli 2020

I absolutely LOVED this course. The videos were well organized and informative. I really liked the way the instructor had images and maps in the background as he explained them and even showed him self perspectively placed so it looked as if he was there in the images. I loved it

von Fouad

17. Juli 2020

Extremely interesting and filled me with wonder about how different ancient civilizations perceived the sky and its connection to their earthly presence.

Would recommend for anyone who enjoys learning about the past, but devoid of a trash-archaeology Ancient Astronaut spin.

von Hayley A

15. Feb. 2021

Professor Magli is a great teacher with interesting lectures. The topics covered in this course were very comprehensive and widespread. The use of green screen effects was an awesome bonus, super cool! Would definitely recommend as a course for anyone who loves to learn.

von Aitor1979

25. Mai 2020

A very interesting course that open doors and minds on how to look at ancient cultures and archaeology. Even is for beginners, the subjects are demanding and its not just an easy path to the end. You must read, think and understand challenging knowledge. I recommend it.

von Charles H

23. Apr. 2021

Great course, very scientific and good material. The quiz questions are not all directly given in the material. You have to work out the answers from that which they give you in the material. This is just like any college level astronomy course operates. You learn!

von Ajeng D Y

25. März 2021

I like this material very interesting, add to my insight. I like the HD screen display so it is not boring and easy on the eyes. delivery of material that is very communicative and clear. thank you for giving me the opportunity to learn new things in this material

von Yasi Z

13. Mai 2020

Wonderful course with great insights into the field of archaeoastronomy! Professional explanations of knowledge with a wide range of significant examples, but I guess it's better to have some basic knowledge about astronomy in mind before starting this course.

von Gerald K

12. Aug. 2021

The videos are graphically very well done. Embedding the speaker in the changing landscapes helped a lot in understanding what was said. The technical astronomical data was a bit too complicated for me, but I was still able to follow the course with interest.

von Vanessa S

22. Sep. 2020

Thank you for offering this fascinating and informative course. I learned how to dispense with a few more unconscious biases, I can now approach the concepts of the ancient monuments with new lenses of consideration and understanding, which I value greatly.

von Ignacio G R V

19. Mai 2020

El curso es muy útil, ya entrega los lineamiento generales de la Arqueoastronomía y permite conocer datos interesantes sobre un sinnúmero de obras arquitectónicas de todo el mundo. Ideal para quienes quieran complementar sus conocimientos de arqueología.

von Paolo A

5. Mai 2020

A thoroughly interesting insight into ancient monuments and their celestial alignment. I really enjoyed this course, it was packed full of facts and information, as well as dispelling a lot of myths. Will be looking into learning more about this subject.

von Moira G

6. Juli 2020

Loved this course! Science, architecture, ancient history, astronomy - all combined to make a very enjoyable lesson. I also loved the way the program was managed - the videos were very dynamic and interesting to view. Highly recommend this course!