Chevron Left
Zurück zu Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors von University of Pennsylvania

4.8
Sterne
659 Bewertungen
195 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

What is philosophy? How does it differ from science, religion, and other modes of human discourse? This course traces the origins of philosophy in the Western tradition in the thinkers of Ancient Greece. We begin with the Presocratic natural philosophers who were active in Ionia in the 6th century BCE and are also credited with being the first scientists. Thales, Anaximander, and Anaximines made bold proposals about the ultimate constituents of reality, while Heraclitus insisted that there is an underlying order to the changing world. Parmenides of Elea formulated a powerful objection to all these proposals, while later Greek theorists (such as Anaxagoras and the atomist Democritus) attempted to answer that objection. In fifth-century Athens, Socrates insisted on the importance of the fundamental ethical question—“How shall I live?”—and his pupil, Plato, and Plato’s pupil, Aristotle, developed elaborate philosophical systems to explain the nature of reality, knowledge, and human happiness. After the death of Aristotle, in the Hellenistic period, Epicureans and Stoics developed and transformed that earlier tradition. We will study the major doctrines of all these thinkers. Part I will cover Plato and his predecessors. Part II will cover Aristotle and his successors....

Top-Bewertungen

AT

10. Jan. 2021

This is an excellent course. The lecturer presents the material very clearly, carefully bringing out what is at stake in the views and arguments of the Greek thinkers and schools she considers.

LG

25. Apr. 2019

Excellent course, Pr. Sauvé-Meyer keeps the material very engaging, and makes it very clear and easily accessible. Knowing how difficult the original texts are sometimes, this is very valuable.

Filtern nach:

76 - 100 von 193 Bewertungen für Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors

von Todd B T

16. Dez. 2020

I really enjoyed this course, And with the other 2 courses in philosophy I've already taken I've really learned alot.

von Marco A S A A

19. Mai 2020

It has helped me to understand the four causes and the difference between the Epicurian school and the stoic school.

von Jacob R

27. Okt. 2016

Very good basic introduction to the philosophers and their ideas. Very succinct while staying true to the content!

von Linda

26. Apr. 2017

The professor is very great, she stated clealy and intersting about Ancient Philosophy. I love very much. useful!

von Ying X

27. März 2017

learned a lot about the subject under the guidance of Professor Meyer that's otherwise hard to study independently

von Camilo A G R

11. März 2016

This course give us a particular synthetical view of ancient thought with a particular conciseness and precision.

von Екатерина Х

27. Feb. 2018

Very well-prepared and informative course. I've really enjoyed reading and listening to the lectures. Thank you!

von IOANNA L

25. Mai 2020

I think that this course is very useful. It helped me understanding several topics of ancient greek philosophy.

von Kayhan A

9. Mai 2020

Wonderful course. Learnt a lot of information about Greek philosopher Aristotle and those that followed him.

von Annette V

27. März 2021

This professor is awesome! She really knows what she's talking about and I love that she's not "glitzy."

von Eliza L

17. Juni 2022

Muy bien estructurado, me parece que la duración es razonable así como los examenes y el trabajo final.

von Barbara H

26. Feb. 2021

Excellent clear lectures. Professor is amiable, intellectually provocative, and has a sense of humor.

von Serena S

12. Jan. 2017

I loved this course, the Professor is thoughtful and insightful. It was a treat to take this course!

von Olivia R

20. Juni 2016

Meyer is a great teacher and I look forward to more courses by her if she continues to release them

von Alexandre N

20. Dez. 2020

Excellent ! Aristote explained clearly. Stoics & Épicurians very well explained ans distinguished

von Simon M

28. Mai 2020

The teacher was excellent, especially in her clear explanations of the Stoics vs the Epicureans.

von Antonia Y

7. März 2016

Very good professor. She explains everything clearly and is really enthusiastic about the topic.

von Dimitris S

30. Nov. 2018

Fully satisfied. A course that provides us skills to endure our ordeals, and manage our lives.

von Carole L P

4. Juni 2020

Really great course. Learned so much about Aristotle. Good course. Glad to have taken it.

von Jamie L

4. Aug. 2019

awesome course!! lots of takeaways from the teacher who really makes complex theories clear.

von Kenny S

2. Feb. 2018

Awesome, Professor highly recommend.This class added yo my knowledge in Philosophy,Thank you

von Dimitris P

13. Okt. 2016

Excellent course with precious insights in the works of Aristotle, Epicurus and the stoics.

von Sajid K

31. Mai 2020

Very well structured, it explains complex ideas simply. Makes philosophy very interesting!

von Erica

24. Juli 2017

Excellent teacher! I can't wait to start the next part (which is actually the first one)!!

von Don E

11. Juni 2020

Very informative and detailed course! I found it both interesting and thought provoking.