Chevron Left
Zurück zu AstroTech: The Science and Technology behind Astronomical Discovery

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für AstroTech: The Science and Technology behind Astronomical Discovery von The University of Edinburgh

4.7
344 Bewertungen
96 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

"How do they know that?" Modern astronomy has made some astonishing discoveries - how stars burn and how black holes form; galaxies from the edge of the universe and killer rocks right next door; where the elements come from and how the expanding universe is accelerating. But how do we know all that? The truth is that astronomy would be impossible without technology, and every advance in astronomy is really an advance in technology. But the technology by itself is not enough. We have to apply it critically with a knowledge of physics to unlock the secrets of the Universe. Each week we will cover a different aspect of Astronomical technology, matching each piece of technology to a highlight science result. We will explain how the technology works, how it has allowed us to collect astronomical data, and, with some basic physics, how we interpret the data to make scientific discoveries. The class will consist of video lectures, weekly quizzes, and discussion forums. Each week there will be five videos, totalling approximately 40 minutes. They will be in a regular pattern - a short introduction, an example science story, an explanation of the key technology area, a look at how the technology is used in practice, and finally a look at what the future may hold....

Top-Bewertungen

AS

Jul 10, 2017

Excellent Course!! Amazing Teachers!! You can learn a lot of fundamentals if you are new to the field.Highly recommended for people for starting who just getting into astronomy.

EE

Apr 27, 2018

This Course is phenominal and the mix of practicals shown with the consistency of thery makes it a remarkable product of gaining basics ofAstronomical knowledge

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 92 Bewertungen für AstroTech: The Science and Technology behind Astronomical Discovery

von Adrian F

Dec 16, 2018

Clear, understandable, accessible explanations of astrophysics. Excellent! Thank you!

von SIRI.L

Jan 06, 2019

gives an insight on technology and instrumentation used in astronomy and very well explained.

von Conor M

Jan 06, 2019

A fantastic course with an insight into principal theories that I cannot wait to explore further.

von Alexandre B

Mar 18, 2019

Very nice and very interesting.

Thanks

von David M

Feb 07, 2019

The professors were friendly, animated and explained concepts well in a manner that was easy to follow and understand.

von arlex b

Feb 19, 2019

exelente !!

von Wade C A C

Jul 11, 2018

Outstanding course

von Josh C

Aug 15, 2017

This course is so good. It covers high level concepts but got me super interested in aspects of astronomy I didn't even know existed. The information is brief but really useful and gets one thinking about the broader picture. Thanks for a great course!

von Francesco V

Sep 14, 2017

Very interesting and inspiring, thanks to the teachers!

von Carla P M N

Jun 01, 2017

It gave me a more deep notion about how some of the most important space discoveries have been done and I'm truly amazed by their beautiful complexity and ingenuity, it also let me with the feeling that there is still so much more to understand.

von Maciej K

Nov 05, 2016

great starter for astronomy and cosmology :)

von Graham R

Dec 02, 2016

Enjoyed this a lot. Wish I'd kept to my childhood plans to become an astronomer.

von KUNTAL K G

Jan 04, 2017

The course was well planned, thorough and organized.

von Jose l n m

Jan 25, 2018

Excelent. Congratulations to the teachers. Pretty interesnting. Thakns a lot.

von Paco M

Mar 04, 2017

Excelente curso, bastante completo y muy interesante. Muy buen profesor me gustaría conocerlo algún día!!!!

von Abirami.S

Feb 14, 2018

i am enjoying

von Balaji S

Jan 06, 2018

very good course

von Lisa H

Jun 13, 2017

If you are searching for a course that can give you clear explanations and explain the functions of all the technological devices that allow scientists to pursue astrophysics fundamental research, this is absolutely the right choice for you:-) I enjoyed everything, and the quizzes after each unit was challenging enough to foster reasoning and deeper the learning path started with the lessons provided. Well done!

von Gkouvelis L

Jan 08, 2017

I enjoyed a lot this course and even if I am doing astrophysics I have learned some technical details!!

von David B

Aug 17, 2017

Excellent course. I highly recommend anyone interested in viewing the night sky and Astronomy to take this course.

von Nabarup G

Apr 18, 2018

good

von Mukharbek O

Dec 22, 2016

Excellent!

von Roland U

Oct 14, 2017

Good and Interesting course, specifically about the Technology used for Astronomy.

von Alan h

Dec 28, 2017

HI. i learned a lot of things i had not thought about before. thanks

von Bruce J A

Dec 23, 2016

Super course!