Chevron Left
Zurück zu AstroTech: The Science and Technology behind Astronomical Discovery

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für AstroTech: The Science and Technology behind Astronomical Discovery von The University of Edinburgh

4.7
309 Bewertungen
85 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

"How do they know that?" Modern astronomy has made some astonishing discoveries - how stars burn and how black holes form; galaxies from the edge of the universe and killer rocks right next door; where the elements come from and how the expanding universe is accelerating. But how do we know all that? The truth is that astronomy would be impossible without technology, and every advance in astronomy is really an advance in technology. But the technology by itself is not enough. We have to apply it critically with a knowledge of physics to unlock the secrets of the Universe. Each week we will cover a different aspect of Astronomical technology, matching each piece of technology to a highlight science result. We will explain how the technology works, how it has allowed us to collect astronomical data, and, with some basic physics, how we interpret the data to make scientific discoveries. The class will consist of video lectures, weekly quizzes, and discussion forums. Each week there will be five videos, totalling approximately 40 minutes. They will be in a regular pattern - a short introduction, an example science story, an explanation of the key technology area, a look at how the technology is used in practice, and finally a look at what the future may hold....

Top-Bewertungen

AS

Jul 10, 2017

Excellent Course!! Amazing Teachers!! You can learn a lot of fundamentals if you are new to the field.Highly recommended for people for starting who just getting into astronomy.

EE

Apr 27, 2018

This Course is phenominal and the mix of practicals shown with the consistency of thery makes it a remarkable product of gaining basics ofAstronomical knowledge

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 81 Bewertungen für AstroTech: The Science and Technology behind Astronomical Discovery

von David B

Aug 17, 2017

Excellent course. I highly recommend anyone interested in viewing the night sky and Astronomy to take this course.

von Nabarup G

Apr 18, 2018

good

von Mukharbek O

Dec 22, 2016

Excellent!

von Roland U

Oct 14, 2017

Good and Interesting course, specifically about the Technology used for Astronomy.

von Alan h

Dec 28, 2017

HI. i learned a lot of things i had not thought about before. thanks

von Bruce J A

Dec 23, 2016

Super course!

von paneri p

Apr 09, 2017

amazing course.....

von Txinto V

Nov 02, 2017

Easy but a good approach to astronomy science cases where instrumentation help is fundamental.

von Aline S

Oct 05, 2017

It was a great overview! I looking forward for more courses.

von Nikhil N P

Dec 02, 2016

Provides new insights for Dark Energy and Dark Matter and also helps one understand the basic Physics as applied to Astronomy.Really nice course !

von Felipe C

Apr 26, 2018

Congratulations to the instructors for putting together such a dynamic and informative course. Catherine and Andy are well prepared for the lessons and talk in a very clear manner - including examples and demonstrations whenever possible. I feel like now I know the answer to most of the stuff I used to ask when learning about astronomical discoveries; i.e. "how do they know that?"

von Robert B

Mar 11, 2017

Very good course. Explanations of new technology and

basic concepts were informative and easy to understand.

von Brice B

Jun 21, 2018

Great course!!! Very clear, very interesting! Just the right level of detail to be interesting to both people who know no physics and people who know a little more (high school physics). The different technologies are presented by showing how they can help us explaining a specific astronomical phenomenon. The integration is not seamless (there is some overlap / some physics points are spread across several weeks) but it's close enough. I would take another course by the same instructors without any hesitation. If you are interested in astronomy as a science (and not only as a body of knowledge) don't miss this course!

von Rujaya T

Mar 05, 2017

I love this course. Easy explaining so it's easy to understand.

von Denise W

Feb 06, 2018

Thank you for putting on this course, I really enjoyed it.

von Ashwini V S

Jul 10, 2017

Excellent Course!! Amazing Teachers!! You can learn a lot of fundamentals if you are new to the field.Highly recommended for people for starting who just getting into astronomy.

von José F

Jan 02, 2017

Great course for learning not only the way the universe work but also the way we have learned it!

von Emille G

Mar 06, 2018

Outstanding! I've gained a greater appreciation for physics and a far greater understanding of the role that it plays in observation and the technology developed. I feel confident to pursue further studies along these lines. Thank you for creating this wonderful course!

von Juan M G

Feb 14, 2017

Amazing course! Brings me a lot of updated information regarding technic that how mesure an observe the universe currently

von Eleftheria M

Feb 27, 2017

Many thanx for a fantastic course! Waiting for your next one!

von George V P

Mar 03, 2017

A very interesting course for beginners and a very good first step in pursuing deeper knowledge. Thank you Edinburgh University and Coursera

von Sharan S M

May 13, 2017

This was a really good course.

von Mohamed N

Sep 07, 2017

Excellent Course!

von Evanshu

Apr 27, 2018

This Course is phenominal and the mix of practicals shown with the consistency of thery makes it a remarkable product of gaining basics ofAstronomical knowledge

von Cipactli M

May 08, 2017

I loved the course and i learnt a lot about technology in Astronomy!