Chevron Left
Zurück zu AstroTech: The Science and Technology behind Astronomical Discovery

Learner Reviews & Feedback for AstroTech: The Science and Technology behind Astronomical Discovery by The University of Edinburgh

4.7
307 Bewertungen
84 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

"How do they know that?" Modern astronomy has made some astonishing discoveries - how stars burn and how black holes form; galaxies from the edge of the universe and killer rocks right next door; where the elements come from and how the expanding universe is accelerating. But how do we know all that? The truth is that astronomy would be impossible without technology, and every advance in astronomy is really an advance in technology. But the technology by itself is not enough. We have to apply it critically with a knowledge of physics to unlock the secrets of the Universe. Each week we will cover a different aspect of Astronomical technology, matching each piece of technology to a highlight science result. We will explain how the technology works, how it has allowed us to collect astronomical data, and, with some basic physics, how we interpret the data to make scientific discoveries. The class will consist of video lectures, weekly quizzes, and discussion forums. Each week there will be five videos, totalling approximately 40 minutes. They will be in a regular pattern - a short introduction, an example science story, an explanation of the key technology area, a look at how the technology is used in practice, and finally a look at what the future may hold....

Top-Bewertungen

AS

Jul 10, 2017

Excellent Course!! Amazing Teachers!! You can learn a lot of fundamentals if you are new to the field.Highly recommended for people for starting who just getting into astronomy.

EE

Apr 27, 2018

This Course is phenominal and the mix of practicals shown with the consistency of thery makes it a remarkable product of gaining basics ofAstronomical knowledge

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 of 81 Reviews for AstroTech: The Science and Technology behind Astronomical Discovery

von Felipe C

Apr 26, 2018

Congratulations to the instructors for putting together such a dynamic and informative course. Catherine and Andy are well prepared for the lessons and talk in a very clear manner - including examples and demonstrations whenever possible. I feel like now I know the answer to most of the stuff I used to ask when learning about astronomical discoveries; i.e. "how do they know that?"

von Alexander W

Oct 11, 2018

This course was engaging and easy to understand. I'd recommend it to anyone even remoty interested in the subject material.

von Lilian K

Jun 14, 2019

Excellent! And the teachers are great at explaining everything very clearly. Thank you very much!!!

von Jason M

Jun 24, 2019

excellent level of detail, very clear delivery. Perfect.

von Manan A

Jul 03, 2019

nice and short course from a great university and professors

von Fabiha N

Jul 06, 2019

Very good course. It gives a very clear explanation regarding the ways adopted by the scientists to discover the amazing universe.

von V R S

Jul 06, 2019

I enjoyed doing this course. Learnt lot of things about astronomy and the way technology is used.

von antonio b

Aug 04, 2019

Very good teaching style. Good integration of video snippet, resources, exercise. Quiz are medium difficulty, but good. Of course this course scratch the huge topic of modern astronomy: I am pretty sure that 3 to 4 courses like this might give a more that satisfactory overview of the current astronomy challenges. I will be more that willing to pay for getting an official grade on the topic.

von Melissa R

Aug 10, 2019

This course is very easy to follow and explains all the essential concepts of technology in astronomy.

von Shiv P

Aug 13, 2019

good explanation

von Akhil T P

Aug 19, 2019

Loved It!

von Richard E

Jan 02, 2019

The professors were clear and well-articulated. It might have been my expectations but I had hoped for a deeper dive into the technology and more use of Math & Physics.

von Adeem J

Apr 04, 2019

Quick learning. Excellent course.

von NITHIN R

Jul 13, 2018

good

von rabinder h

Jul 02, 2017

GooD course

von RAGHAV R

May 23, 2018

This course presents basic science and tech used behind many of the astronomical discoveries, introducing us to methods and instruments used by astronomers. The course is very basic in nature, hence good for those who seek some astro knowledge for fun & curiosity. Presentation by instructors was also very good. Great use of real data and photographs to help in understanding and imagination. A large number of website links provided for looking up additional information. Overall,

It has been a wonderful journey to have been a part of this course as a space lover!

von Harshal G H

Jun 14, 2018

This is a unique course, giving nice introduction about different technologies used by astronomers for observations. I particularly liked organizing it around revolutionary technologies. A small suggestion: Please expand this course, especially for computers and spectroscopy. For example, data analysis pipelines, machine learning, virtual observatories can be discussed for role of computers, and for spectroscopy role of filters such as Sloan filters (if I recall them correctly). Overall, great introduction.

von Marko T

Jan 30, 2018

Very useful course about astronomy and discovery of universe.

von ANTONIO R R

Mar 28, 2018

He encontrado el curso muy interesante e instructivo. Especialmente porque explica muy bien como funcionan instrumentos y formulas que son más prácticas que la teoría de otros. Gracias por el curso.

von Aravind R

Jul 04, 2017

Very interesting course serving as a good culmination point of technology and astronomy. Great for beginners on astronomy with a tech background.

von Harish M A

Nov 02, 2017

Very informative i enjoyed the course .

von Peter G

Mar 03, 2017

Really interesting material and well presented in digestible chunks by a pair of engaging professionals in the field.

von Ethan S

Apr 03, 2017

Very well instructed and the videos are nice and short. Perfect as a side project or on the go learning.

von Fernando G M

May 21, 2017

Good teachers.

von Chiradeep C

May 14, 2019

Very informative course, with concepts explained in a simple, no-fuss manner using lots of examples. Perfect for learners from all academic levels to grasp. I would definitely rate this as one if the top 10% of all courses I've taken on any MOOC platform.