Chevron Left
Zurück zu AstroTech: The Science and Technology behind Astronomical Discovery

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für AstroTech: The Science and Technology behind Astronomical Discovery von The University of Edinburgh

4.7
344 Bewertungen
96 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

"How do they know that?" Modern astronomy has made some astonishing discoveries - how stars burn and how black holes form; galaxies from the edge of the universe and killer rocks right next door; where the elements come from and how the expanding universe is accelerating. But how do we know all that? The truth is that astronomy would be impossible without technology, and every advance in astronomy is really an advance in technology. But the technology by itself is not enough. We have to apply it critically with a knowledge of physics to unlock the secrets of the Universe. Each week we will cover a different aspect of Astronomical technology, matching each piece of technology to a highlight science result. We will explain how the technology works, how it has allowed us to collect astronomical data, and, with some basic physics, how we interpret the data to make scientific discoveries. The class will consist of video lectures, weekly quizzes, and discussion forums. Each week there will be five videos, totalling approximately 40 minutes. They will be in a regular pattern - a short introduction, an example science story, an explanation of the key technology area, a look at how the technology is used in practice, and finally a look at what the future may hold....

Top-Bewertungen

AS

Jul 10, 2017

Excellent Course!! Amazing Teachers!! You can learn a lot of fundamentals if you are new to the field.Highly recommended for people for starting who just getting into astronomy.

EE

Apr 27, 2018

This Course is phenominal and the mix of practicals shown with the consistency of thery makes it a remarkable product of gaining basics ofAstronomical knowledge

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 von 92 Bewertungen für AstroTech: The Science and Technology behind Astronomical Discovery

von Aishwarya S

Apr 04, 2017

Great course. Would definitely recommend it.

von Alfonso Y

Apr 30, 2018

Good course with interesting information.

von Jason M

Jun 24, 2019

excellent level of detail, very clear delivery. Perfect.

von Manan A

Jul 03, 2019

nice and short course from a great university and professors

von V R S

Jul 06, 2019

I enjoyed doing this course. Learnt lot of things about astronomy and the way technology is used.

von Fabiha N

Jul 06, 2019

Very good course. It gives a very clear explanation regarding the ways adopted by the scientists to discover the amazing universe.

von antonio b

Aug 04, 2019

Very good teaching style. Good integration of video snippet, resources, exercise. Quiz are medium difficulty, but good. Of course this course scratch the huge topic of modern astronomy: I am pretty sure that 3 to 4 courses like this might give a more that satisfactory overview of the current astronomy challenges. I will be more that willing to pay for getting an official grade on the topic.

von Shiv P

Aug 13, 2019

good explanation

von Melissa R

Aug 10, 2019

This course is very easy to follow and explains all the essential concepts of technology in astronomy.

von Lilian K

Jun 14, 2019

Excellent! And the teachers are great at explaining everything very clearly. Thank you very much!!!

von Akhil T P

Aug 19, 2019

Loved It!

von Yulia B

Oct 27, 2019

Very accessible and at the same time informative. Introduction and use of formulas are great for keeping it serious even at the intro level.

von erica l

Oct 05, 2019

Es un excelente curso, altamente recomentable!

von Jeremy O

Oct 04, 2019

Very exciting course!! It's short but sweet. This experience has me seriously thinking about doing a deep dive into the spectrographic technology.

von zorion r

Nov 21, 2019

Excellent course

well don

von Mohammed M

Nov 20, 2019

They made it so easy to complete.!

von Tina M A

Nov 24, 2019

If you wanna learn about science and technology for discovery astromical, this course its for you. On this six week's you will learn about science, telescopes, stars, black holes, galaxies, how we can see the most beautifulls images from the galaxies, dark energy and matter.

Join the course! Knowledge is never too much!

von Manas S

Nov 30, 2019

Great learning experience

von Jorge L S N

Oct 28, 2019

My congratulations for the course. It has taken me much longer than I thought, but I always enjoyed it. The selected topics were excellent and the test questions were adequate. I will be waiting for a second part of the course.

Greetings from Lima, Peru.

von Richard E

Jan 02, 2019

The professors were clear and well-articulated. It might have been my expectations but I had hoped for a deeper dive into the technology and more use of Math & Physics.

von NITHIN R

Jul 13, 2018

good

von Ethan S

Apr 03, 2017

Very well instructed and the videos are nice and short. Perfect as a side project or on the go learning.

von RAGHAV R

May 23, 2018

This course presents basic science and tech used behind many of the astronomical discoveries, introducing us to methods and instruments used by astronomers. The course is very basic in nature, hence good for those who seek some astro knowledge for fun & curiosity. Presentation by instructors was also very good. Great use of real data and photographs to help in understanding and imagination. A large number of website links provided for looking up additional information. Overall,

It has been a wonderful journey to have been a part of this course as a space lover!

von Marko T

Jan 30, 2018

Very useful course about astronomy and discovery of universe.

von Harshal G H

Jun 14, 2018

This is a unique course, giving nice introduction about different technologies used by astronomers for observations. I particularly liked organizing it around revolutionary technologies. A small suggestion: Please expand this course, especially for computers and spectroscopy. For example, data analysis pipelines, machine learning, virtual observatories can be discussed for role of computers, and for spectroscopy role of filters such as Sloan filters (if I recall them correctly). Overall, great introduction.