Chevron Left
Zurück zu Confronting The Big Questions: Highlights of Modern Astronomy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Confronting The Big Questions: Highlights of Modern Astronomy by University of Rochester

4.6
298 Bewertungen
96 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

An introduction to modern astronomy's most important questions. The four sections of the course are Planets and Life in The Universe; The Life of Stars; Galaxies and Their Environments; The History of The Universe....

Top-Bewertungen

GB

Aug 01, 2017

Excellent course. Very clear lectures that cover a lot of ground in not a lot of time. Fantastic overview of most of what we know about astronomy and how we know it. Best class I've taken on Coursera.

AM

Apr 12, 2018

The is the first time I have rated a course with 5 stars, but this one is worth it. I audited and did not take the exams, but I thoroughly enjoyed the lectures and I learned a lot.

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 of 94 Reviews for Confronting The Big Questions: Highlights of Modern Astronomy

von Divyanshu R

Dec 27, 2015

Course has been very helpful; giving the apt amount of knowledge in a way that can be easily understood with a little background in physics.

von Ann M H

Jul 19, 2017

Professor Frank is super down-to-earth (ha) and easy-going, so the difficult concepts seem less intimidating. I like how the videos are cut into short, topical sections, and the information on the green screen next to him helps with understanding. The weekly lecture note PowerPoint slides are even more detailed.

I had a basic understanding of astronomy coming in, and this course struck a good balance between reviewing info I already knew, and introducing me to some more challenging concepts.

The quizzes were pretty difficult for me, and I had to take 3/4 twice to get a passing score. You really have to take what you learned, think about it deeply, then apply it. It wasn't just regurgitating information, which was good, it also meant I was scouring my notes and Google for a long time. They aren't kidding when they say the quizzes take 50 minutes!

If you can finish this course in four weeks, I applaud you. I admit I wasn't very diligent, but it's a lot of information to digest each week. I took closer to 10 weeks, but they were well-spent months! I learned a lot, and could subsequently "wow" my friends. Very well-done course! Thank you!

von Lisa T

Mar 08, 2017

Really great course, but I would recommend that if you haven't taken many classes in this branch of the sciences to take a different introductory course, first. It can still be done, but might require more study and review of additional resources.

von Lynn N

Mar 23, 2017

So far a very easy to understand and enjoyable course. As someone coming from High school with some research and knowledge in Astronomy this was a great way to fill in the gaps in my knowledge and get a more technical sense of Astronomy. The prof makes this incredibly enjoyable. Lectures are paced well and the 'homework'/practice work is easy enough.

von Fabiano S D S

Jul 31, 2016

Best course ever. With a very professional professor. All just perfect, every word and every subject!

von Nicolás R

Dec 11, 2015

This course is amazing, and the professor is great too!!!! 100% recommended

von Mukharbek O

Jan 10, 2016

I strongly recommend this course to all who interested in Astrophysics.

von Peter M

Mar 15, 2017

If you know nothing about astronomy, this is a great starting point. You will cover a brief overview of everything from the solar system to the frontiers of dark matter and dark energy. It will allow you to get a taste of everything so that when you're ready, you can dive in deeper to the topics that interest you the most.

von jaibalaje

Jan 16, 2016

AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

von satyam t

Dec 25, 2015

lucid explanation...

von Yves J

Mar 31, 2017

Really enjoyed this course which gives a good summary about astronomy to beginners like me.

von Mohammad S H

Dec 21, 2016

Very exciting, strong structured course, The most difficult materials in a simplified and exciting declamation. Great lecturer .

von Milinda Y

Feb 28, 2016

Thank you!! Very organized and easy to follow. The questions at the end of the week encouraged me to explore more about the subject matter.

von Julia B

Nov 26, 2016

Excellent

von Denis K

Jan 09, 2016

Hi,

I tried to get knowledge about cosmology from my university but everithing was insignificant and boring. This course is more than amazing. I like it very much. Waiting for more courses ! Thanks a lot to you, professor!

von José F

Dec 30, 2016

Great course to learn the wonders of the universe by understanding a littler of how it works! Saludos desde Venezuela!

von tanisha j

Jan 04, 2017

great content and great teacher, thanks so much for this :)

von Krasnov P

Jun 23, 2016

excellent

von Abdallah M A

Sep 10, 2017

Definitely, it was a great course!!!! simple, easy and important topics, I highly recommend this course.

von Sai K R

Jan 25, 2016

Great introduction to Astronomy! I learnt a lot about the current state and the unsolved challenges in this field. I liked that I could play with various simulators and develop detailed understanding.

As a beginner in Astronomy, I had a little difficulty finishing the first and last week's quizzes. Apart from that, I was able to easily follow the content in the course.

von David D

Apr 24, 2019

Outstanding!Sso rare to find a lecturer who can deliver on the course material without having to read every line off of a prompter. Bravo for the delivery and terrific material. I don't say it was easy but the investment was worth the time.

von Stuart R

Jun 14, 2019

Exceptionally clear and concise presentations.

von Tina A D

Jul 16, 2019

I enjoyed the course and Prof. Franks way of teaching! I learned a lot and am happy that I took it

von Reg T

Feb 02, 2016

As a quick overview to modern astronomy and cosmology this is a very worthwhile course. Highly informative and well presented. Material is detailed enough to provide an understanding of the topics covered and hints at more complexity to encourage further exploration.

Marked down to four stars solely on the basis of the review questions. Some of these are ambiguous or have a lack of clarity. Otherwise this course, given the level and time allocation, would rate 5 stars.

von Charles H

Feb 02, 2016

This course provided a great overview of Astronomy. I thought the difficulty was about right for a survey course and recommend it to anyone who wants a better understanding of how we think the universe came to be and what we think will happen to it.