Chevron Left
Zurück zu Autismus-Spektrum-Störung

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Autismus-Spektrum-Störung by University of California, Davis

4.6
818 Bewertungen
215 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Understanding the characteristics of autism spectrum disorder (ASD) and their implications for behavior, learning and the ability to process information is critical for anyone working or interacting with those on the spectrum -- educators, clinicians, counselors, therapists, medical staff, family and employers. This course will give you a fundamental understanding of what ASD is, how it is diagnosed, the primary areas of impairment, and why prevalence is increasing. Examine the developmental and sensori-motor differences that may impact academic, play, social and self-help skills at different stages of life, including the transition to higher education and employment. Gain a clear understanding of how sensory regulation differs for individuals on the spectrum, and explore practical tools for identifying triggers and communicating feelings. Learn to use evidence-based practices to provide effective interventions and explore typical strengths and weaknesses of individuals on the spectrum in relation to identified impairments. The course culminates with a description of the ASD system of care, an overview of the National Standards Report studies and treatments, and an explanation of how evidence-based practices are established and implemented. Those seeking a more in-depth, instructor-led experience are encouraged to check out the Professional Concentration in Autism offered by UC Davis Extension: https://extension.ucdavis.edu/certificate-program/professional-concentration-autism-spectrum-disorders...

Top-Bewertungen

MF

Feb 14, 2016

Very interesting and informative. I taught children with special needs for 33 years. I think this course would be very helpful to new teachers and anyone interested in learning basic info on ASD.

KS

Sep 15, 2017

Loved the videos, lots of good material. Wish there had been more discussion, but I was so busy, I might not have been able to participate very much. Overall helpful and useful in my profession.

Filtern nach:

176 - 200 of 212 Reviews for Autismus-Spektrum-Störung

von Lucero B C

Jun 15, 2017

Really helpfull but more of a general look into autism

von Jasen S

Jun 24, 2016

This course was a good introduction to ASD. I was hoping to learn more about how to best serve students with ASD, but this course was not designed solely for educators. I will now look for a more specialized course in ASD.

von Ammar A

Apr 12, 2017

Thanks for the rich and well conducted course. It was very beneficial for me and I recommended it to my friends.

von Areej A

Jul 28, 2017

great course. It would be made even better if it included more medicine. Thank you

von Wong M H S

Apr 10, 2016

It's a really great class to know about Autism. The information is sufficient as well.

von meenakshi b

Dec 25, 2015

very useful course. gave insight into a lot of the issues faced by children with asd. a little more detail would be even more useful.

von Salau R A

Jan 10, 2016

n

von Charis V N M Y

May 27, 2018

It was great as an introduction; but would also like more in-depth content. Also perhaps things like how with "an increased rate of autism" (which as we've just learnt is more about an increased rate of accurate diagnosis), what specialists and therapists are doing. Particularly if the diagnosis is done really early on, but also how to move forward if unfortunately it's only managed to be identified a lot later in life.

von JORGE R M

Jun 06, 2018

Thanks

von Preeti

Jan 29, 2017

Informative for beginners

von Paige P

Jul 02, 2018

Had a fantastic time with this course! The clear, thoughtfully-made lessons were excellent! My only qualms were that the quizzes were on the easy side and the course only took about 3-5 hours to complete-- definitely something you could complete in a single day if you wanted to! I would have liked more content that would have truly taken me 5 weeks to complete. Thanks for the helpful info!

von Maitu B

Jun 02, 2017

El curso es muy completo, pero creo que le hacen mucha propaganda a la universidad.

von Miruna S

Apr 04, 2019

Although it was only a general overview of what autism stands for, this course was quite helpful in explaining the basics. The subject is nevertheless vague even for specialists who cannot exactly point at certain causes or treatments, but it is relieving to know that research is being done and more and more people can receive specialized support for this kind of problems.

It's a pity that one cannot finish the course (that means, do the quizzes) without paying for the certificate, and since I don't need a certificate, I still feel like a lost a bit of what might have been a motivation to pay even more attention to certain aspects of the lessons.

von Tom G

Dec 21, 2018

Clear and factual course with well presented materials. I found the scope of the course to be very narrow though, lacking a diversity of perspective and no consideration given to the new directions that international autism research is taking. For example, the challenges to the role of theory of mind in autism deficits or the research being conducted by autistic academics. There are autistic individuals working in academia who are responsible for more than photocopying and making the tea! It is also somewhat telling that Autism speaks features prominently in the recommended reading, not to mention the implied ABA bias in the intervention module.

von Bhrigu M

Mar 11, 2019

Good course covers everything related to ASD ,I feel the lecture goes at a very fast pace without explaining much. anyhow I completely enjoyed the course I being a special educator is confident enough this course has widened my horizons. Thanks to the UC Davis mind institute team.

von Ana C M B

Mar 13, 2017

There are some errors on the quizzes in between the videos. I had to skip a lot of them because it wound't accept the correct answer. I liked the testimonial videos.

von Elizabeth N

Feb 15, 2016

Could be more computer friendly. Had good information but hard to engage because the majority of the lectures are just powerpoints with the professor talking over them.

von Pat D

Jul 07, 2016

The course had some useful content, but there was too much time spent on USA centred materials for an iavailabe course.

von Sara A

Oct 05, 2017

Good course ... but it gives so basic information. I wish it gives more deep and specialized information about autism.

von Bethany B

Oct 16, 2016

In general, I enjoyed the contents of the course. It's a general overview that introduces all aspects of Autism Spectrum Disorder which is exactly what I wanted. However, half of the final week is a list of established and emerging practices, so this was quite boring. I could have read them off the screen faster.

My least favorite aspect of this course is that you can't take the quizzes without buying the certificate. Currently, the certificate won't assist me; I simply wanted to learn more about ASD so as to be more informed. This was quite frustrating because I use the quizzes as a means of checking my understanding and retention of the material.

von Claire A

Sep 04, 2016

Good introduction to ASD.

von Joydip M

Oct 17, 2017

A good course in terms of content that is shared. Not so good in terms of pedagogy and teaching method. Doing this course is equivalent to listening someone Voicing power point slides on the screen word for word 90% of the time. That is not why most of us join these courses but that is what comprises 90% of the instruction. Balance 10% comprises short videos and interviews with esteemed personalities from Mind Institute, parents of autistic children and of course, Temple Grandin - that is the part worth spending time on. Also the test questions are very poorly set. Why is it important to have 5 questions in a quiz, of which 2 are asking - what percentage of children need this or that - basically testing rote memory of autism statistics? How exactly does that help learning? Note - I did pass all the tests and the course with flying colors - so this is an impartial observation :)

von Katharine A

Jan 06, 2016

Very helpful information particularly in the earlier weeks. I found the last couple weeks less helpful because of the large quantity of listed interventions without elaboration/examples - I did read the attached report but would have found it helpful to see some of the interventions demonstrated either via a video or diagram. Temple Grandin is a great documentary and I appreciated hearing her perspective regarding tactile sensitivity. She's also a great example of a person with autism who has developed her strengths and worked around her weaknesses and is a highly functional and successful individual. Overall enjoyed this class. Thanks!

von Andrea J V

Mar 12, 2018

The material was good, but I really think access to the quizzes should be free. Especially since so many lectures all but advertised the UCDavis centre.

von Julie D

Mar 17, 2018

It's very focused on the American system. (which isn't bad, but it's not for me.)

there are problems with the sound not fitting with the image shown sometimes