Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Chemistry: Structures and Solutions

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Introduction to Chemistry: Structures and Solutions von Duke University

4.7
Sterne
436 Bewertungen
116 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This is an introductory course for students with limited background in chemistry; basic concepts such as atomic and molecular structure, solutions, phases of matter, and quantitative problem solving will be emphasized with the goal of preparing students for further study in chemistry....

Top-Bewertungen

S

29. Juni 2020

Very nice to explain all the things and enjoying to learn with this pnline course.its my first time at online base so very happy to complete it and also get the certificate so so so happy

KV

20. Juli 2020

the course is very interesting and enjoyable I am thankful to the university for offering such a wonderful course thank you for dorian canelas for explaining in a wonderful way

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 von 115 Bewertungen für Introduction to Chemistry: Structures and Solutions

von Abd E E

12. Okt. 2018

very very good course

von John F

1. Juli 2020

a good introduction

von Ivan W H

1. Juni 2020

Good Introduction

von KARRI V S D

5. Juli 2020

Very nice

von Alicia m

28. Dez. 2021

First, note that this course assumes that you have also taken Intro: Reactions and Rates (also on Coursera, from the same professor). In the video lectures, she references things covered in that course, and many of the quiz/final exam questions test material from that course which was not covered in this one. But both classes are so easy that you could finish both of them in about a week even while working full time.

Despite being offered by Duke University, this is not a college level course. For reference, I have a bachelor's degree in physics and astronomy, so I know the level of rigor in university level science courses. This material is more suitable for junior high students as the most 'advanced' math actually used in the course is ratios (and one honors problem that needed algebra). Coursera's "Advanced Chemistry" (aimed at high school students) is closer to the desired level of material, but EdX is a better platform for actual college level courses - I'm now doing General Chemistry 1 from MIT through EdX.

Furthermore, you can't really learn chemistry without advanced math. So this course is more 'talking about chemistry ideas' than it is 'doing chemistry.' In the 'quantum mechanics' (QM) unit , the professor acknowledges that you can't actually do QM without calculus. (As a physicist, I've actually taken courses on QM; but since they aren't taken until junior year, and the calculus sequence is finished during freshman year, this poses no problem. It's only Coursera which assumes its students don't know anything.) Further, you can't really call what the professor teaches here QM - my Introduction to Quantum Mechanics course was 100x more advanced than this.

On that note, at least half of the material covered in this "chemistry" course is actually physics: wave-particle duality of light, wave-particle duality of electrons, phase changes, gas laws, pseudo quantum mechanics. It is also concerning that some of the physics in this course doesn't match the physics I learned in physics courses. For example, the definition of the constant k (in Coulomb's Law) includes ε, so I don't know why both k and ε appear in the form of the equation given in this course. Similarly, the symbols used for and the names given to the quantum numbers in this course are different from the names and symbols what we actually use in QM.

Pedagogically, the order of presentation in this course should be changed. The professor uses concepts before they have been introduced, which prompted me to look up the material on other websites (chem.libretexts is a great source). For some of the lessons, I found it easier to take notes from another source before glancing through the video lecture. It is also pedagogically unsound to provide 0 feedback on the quizzes and exams. Without knowing what the correct answer should have been, and ideally how to find that answer, students don't learn from practice problems. Furthermore, many of the quizzes mark the correct answer as incorrect. Some of these errors could be because the professor sometimes rounds the constants used in the equations and sometimes doesn't, meaning that you don't know which version was used in the 'correct' answer on the quiz. (Ex: sometimes the atomic mass of oxygen is 15.999 and sometimes it's 16; sometimes K = C + 273 and sometimes K = C + 273.15. On the multiple choice final exam, it was easy to find the answer closest to mine, but the quizzes were fill in the blank). Other times whoever edited the quizzes didn't notice that the correct answer isn't provided. (Ex: on the final exam, several questions were identical to questions we had already solved in the Week 5 and Week 6 quizzes. The correct answer for one such problem, as shown by the fact that I got it right on the quiz, wasn't even provided as a multiple choice answer on the final).

Overall, part I of this course (Rates and Ratios) is suitable for junior high students wishing to start studying chemistry early, but middle schoolers will likely need help from a knowledgeable adult due to the out-of-order presentation of material in part II of this course (Structures and Solutions). Students with a background in science can cover this course in about a week and then move on to an actual college class. But there's no reason to waste money on the certificate for this course given that even a community college course would have more academic standing than this. High school students should instead take AP Chemistry, which will give them actual college credit and adult students are advised to take courses from an actual university or through EdX.

von WShashini S W

22. Nov. 2021

This is an amazing chemistry course!

This course helped me to develop so many skills such as scientific and numerical skills, excellent analytical skills and meticulous attention to detail and accuracy. Not only that but also this skills created a logical and independent mind. My patience and determination have improved as well. I hope this certificate will be worth and create a rich profile in my CV. This course is really interesting and it will be a good start to students to learn chemistry from the beginning without a basic knowledge. I recommend this course for everyone who is willing to carry out their careers in chemistry.

von Asfandyar K

13. März 2021

Alhamdolillah! I am so happy and feeling really proud after completing this course. The content was precise and the way Prof. Dorian A. Canelas deliver was very easy and understandable to almost every student. Hats off to great teacher Prof. Dorian A. Canelas for teaching this and Thanks to the Coursera platform for providing such valuable courses to the students.

von Prakyath T

3. Juli 2020

The lecture given by the Teacher was Very good and informative. It helped me to understand and relate why we need to have knowledge about The basics of Chemistry and its real world application. I am grateful to have attended this course and Learnt more about introduction to Chemistry!

von Michelle Y L

4. Mai 2020

I took this course to help myself get ready for the AP Chemistry Exam next week. And I really enjoyed learning this course, it's interesting and easy to understand :). A big thank you to the professor for teaching us these amazing Chemistry knowledge!

von Dennis O P

27. Okt. 2020

I appreciate this course is made. I highly recommend this to all of you who want to get acquainted back with the basics of general inorganic chemistry. I learned things from this course especially on how to make quizzes on different topics.

von Martine S

19. Mai 2020

I have enjoyed Dr Canelas lectures. They were well structured and delivered. I now have a better understanding of the atoms and molecules and how elements interact with each other. Thank you to Dr Canelas and her team

von Sofiia K

28. Juni 2021

I've learned a lot of new information through this course. Introduction to Chemistry helped me to increase my knowledge in a variety of studies including physics, mathematics and organic chemistry. Thank you so much!

von Phoebe D

26. Feb. 2022

T​his course provided a really good, in-depth study of basic chemistry. It is will paced, the assessments are challenging without being impossible, and everything is explained well. I enjoyed this course thoroughly!

von Roberto R

3. Juli 2020

Absolutely great, it definitely felt like a second part to the original, it's more challenging and harder. The explanations given by Ms. Canelas are flawless and very entertaining, it left me wanting more.

von Solanki S c

30. Juni 2020

Very nice to explain all the things and enjoying to learn with this pnline course.its my first time at online base so very happy to complete it and also get the certificate so so so happy

von faquer g

21. Juli 2020

the course is very interesting and enjoyable I am thankful to the university for offering such a wonderful course thank you for dorian canelas for explaining in a wonderful way

von alain t

6. Nov. 2020

This course was for me a big plus in learning because it was very well structured and coherent. Thank you for allowing me to do this course to the end.

von Satvik S S

23. Aug. 2020

Very nice and excellent course !!! the teachers are highly qualified and known to there subject .

I Satvik Suvir sharma recommend this course .

von Muhammad S S A

31. Mai 2020

I learned so much from this course I would recommend it to every chemistry enthusiast who is looking forward to dive in the sea of knowledge!

von MUNA E

12. Dez. 2020

It is wonderful, useful, excellent knowledge course .Prof Dorian is teaching this course in a perfect ,simple, clear way.

von ARPAN A 1

2. Nov. 2019

It was very good and helpful to me in many ways. It was so lovely to learn from her that i truly enjoyed learning .

von Deleted A

21. Sep. 2020

All the topics were explained very clearly, the weekend quizzes were very challenging yet useful.Thank you

von Rashid I

4. Juni 2020

The method of doctor Dorian Canels is osm

Thank you, Coursera

I have learned a lot then I expected from it.

von Renan A d S

19. Mai 2020

A very good course, with a great teacher! I have learned and improved my knowledge in so many things.