Chevron Left
Zurück zu Basic Modeling for Discrete Optimization

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Basic Modeling for Discrete Optimization von The University of Melbourne

4.8
Sterne
370 Bewertungen
97 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Optimization is a common form of decision making, and is ubiquitous in our society. Its applications range from solving Sudoku puzzles to arranging seating in a wedding banquet. The same technology can schedule planes and their crews, coordinate the production of steel, and organize the transportation of iron ore from the mines to the ports. Good decisions in manpower and material resources management also allow corporations to improve profit by millions of dollars. Similar problems also underpin much of our daily lives and are part of determining daily delivery routes for packages, making school timetables, and delivering power to our homes. Despite their fundamental importance, all of these problems are a nightmare to solve using traditional undergraduate computer science methods. This course is intended for students interested in tackling all facets of optimization applications. You will learn an entirely new way to think about solving these challenging problems by stating the problem in a state-of-the-art high level modeling language, and letting library constraint solving software do the rest. This will allow you to unlock the power of industrial solving technologies, which have been perfected over decades by hundreds of PhD researchers. With access to this advanced technology, problems that are considered inconceivable to solve before will suddenly become easy. Watch the course promotional video here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hc3cBvtrem0&t=8s...

Top-Bewertungen

KG
7. Nov. 2020

Excellent course! I learned a lot. Although the assignments were sometimes hard to fathom, and its online nature mean getting hints was difficult, there's enough there to help get through.

AF
21. Dez. 2020

Excellent course, gives you a whole different contextualization of 'for loop' and formulation and solving a descrete optimization problem. Fun and challenging

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 92 Bewertungen für Basic Modeling for Discrete Optimization

von Karl G

7. Nov. 2020

Excellent course! I learned a lot. Although the assignments were sometimes hard to fathom, and its online nature mean getting hints was difficult, there's enough there to help get through.

von Alexandre P

30. Juli 2017

Very interesting and neatly prepared course. It was very easy to dive in the course and to stay motivated. I would highly recommend their course for its amazing quality.

von Михаил С

22. Sep. 2018

Great course, but huge gap in difficulty between weeks two and three, as it seemed to me. Knowledge given by course is applicable both for a work and a hobby for me.

von Adel F

22. Dez. 2020

Excellent course, gives you a whole different contextualization of 'for loop' and formulation and solving a descrete optimization problem. Fun and challenging

von David T

11. Juli 2021

C​ompact introduction to the basics of specifying models in MiniZinc. Excellent starter kit, but you will fight a bit with the syntax of MiniZinc.

von Hala A

2. Sep. 2019

I recommend this course for any one starts constraint programming. It is easy to understand but I think it is required logic background.

von Jaydeep M

29. Juli 2020

Great course for introduction to discrete optimization. Video lectures were engaging and the assignments were challenging but fun.

von Philippe C

14. Jan. 2018

Great course to learn modeling discrete optimization problems. Excellent pedagogy and amusing problems to model using MiniZinc.

von Clot J

30. Mai 2019

Good teachers. They go gradually from very easy to challenging concepts. Also a good intro to the main optimization problems.

von Nikolaj V C

18. Mai 2020

This course is really great. You get to model a lot of different problems, which are both fun and challenging.

von David B

11. Juni 2020

Very good assignements, it is a good introduction to CP, so i hope to continue to the next level soon.

von Olivier C

13. Okt. 2020

Interesting course, constraint solving systems are way different from usual programming languages.

von Charles E T

8. Juni 2019

Certainly more effort went into this course than I was expecting; well worth the $0 cost of entry.

von Filip S

15. Okt. 2020

Teaches the basics of modelling really well. I'm looking forward to the follow-up course.

von Keane M

10. Jan. 2021

Great introduction to modeling for discrete optimization. Very engaging and challenging.

von Tino W

26. Nov. 2017

It's a fun course and can be applied on many optimization problems in the real world.

von Cyprien P

10. Juni 2020

Awesome content and teachers, Minizinc is great to design contraints-based problems.

von Cristian R A

9. Okt. 2019

This course is very useful for learning basic CSP Modelling with Minizinc

von Ferry d B

3. März 2020

Great course, quality of the lectures and exercises was outstanding!

von Dharyll P A

24. Juni 2018

A creative way of teaching discrete optimization. Well appreciated.

von Juan L R A

26. Sep. 2017

A very good course. Thank you to the teachers and Staff in general.

von Duany D B S

29. Mai 2017

It's a great course! Professors explain the content in a easy way!

von Cameron D

9. März 2019

Great course, provided a nice introduction to discrete modelling

von Julien E

23. Aug. 2018

Excellent course ! Great programming assignments using Minizinc

von Cris P

18. Feb. 2018

Really engaging. Also challenging assignments for weeks 3 and 4