Chevron Left
Zurück zu Grundlagen der Statistik

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Grundlagen der Statistik von Universität von Amsterdam

4.6
Sterne
4,137 Bewertungen
1,028 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Understanding statistics is essential to understand research in the social and behavioral sciences. In this course you will learn the basics of statistics; not just how to calculate them, but also how to evaluate them. This course will also prepare you for the next course in the specialization - the course Inferential Statistics. In the first part of the course we will discuss methods of descriptive statistics. You will learn what cases and variables are and how you can compute measures of central tendency (mean, median and mode) and dispersion (standard deviation and variance). Next, we discuss how to assess relationships between variables, and we introduce the concepts correlation and regression. The second part of the course is concerned with the basics of probability: calculating probabilities, probability distributions and sampling distributions. You need to know about these things in order to understand how inferential statistics work. The third part of the course consists of an introduction to methods of inferential statistics - methods that help us decide whether the patterns we see in our data are strong enough to draw conclusions about the underlying population we are interested in. We will discuss confidence intervals and significance tests. You will not only learn about all these statistical concepts, you will also be trained to calculate and generate these statistics yourself using freely available statistical software....

Top-Bewertungen

AD

27. Juni 2022

Instructors have provided concise explanations of the concepts. There are many examples considered that make statistics easier to understand! Also, the illustrations are fancy. I enjoyed every video!

PG

20. Apr. 2016

This is a nice course...thanks for providing such a great content from University of Amserdam.\n\nPlease allow us to complete the course as I have to wait till the session starts for week 2 lessions.

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 von 1,017 Bewertungen für Grundlagen der Statistik

von Richard N B A

9. Feb. 2016

Puerile, made up examples with made up data, no deeper treatment of the mathematics involved than the here-is-a-magic-formula-use-it approach and mistakes (including serious conceptual and factual errors) evident in the quizzes and the R labs. Far better to look out for the "Data Analysis and Statistical Inference" course by Duke on Coursera that is presented by a passionate statistics teacher, covers the same material (and more) and provides a far better introduction to R than this course.

One of the stated purposes of this specialization is to clean up the way social scientists conduct science and are perceived as scientists; in this respect, it appears that the worst enemies of social scientists are social scientists.

von Robert C

3. Aug. 2021

I was really enjoying this course in the first week and then I realised I had to switch from statistics to programming before moving on. I am doing other courses and needed to get my head around statistics so decided to enrol in this.

Then I realised we cant progress unless we learn R. Learning programming and statistical theory are two different things and I found the R lab very confusing.

Very disapointed will now have to look for another statistic course.

von Scott P

8. Aug. 2016

this course was a waste of my time; luckily I found out after wasting only 6 hours on the preview. this course apparently requires a level of probability knowledge I don't

von Clay C

7. Mai 2020

I just wanted to learn statistics, not also learn R, which has made completing this course impossible!

von YunLi

11. Jan. 2016

Good lectures, but the R-lab is horrible. Do not take this class.

von Dr. J P M

2. Mai 2020

Not a great course.

von SHEILA D D S

21. Dez. 2021

N​ão confunda básico por fácil. O curso mostra os conceitos básicos em estatística utilizando exemplos divertidos, que chamam a atenção e suavizam a natureza fria dos números. Porém ele não é um curso fácil, apesar de não precisar de grandes pré-requisitos, você poderá se beneficiar do seu background na linguagem R, se tiver, por exemplo. É possível para quem não sabe programar aprender a utilizar a ferramenta, que já vem com todos os pacotes estatísticos que vc precisará utilizar, sem nenhum esforço de instalação, por exemplo... Isso é ótimo para você conseguir focar na parte que importa, que é somar o que está aprendendo em estatística à linguagem de programação. Tem espaço para melhorias: as dicas da ferramenta ainda possuem errinhos de formatação afetados pelo browser de internet e as fórmulas poderiam ter seu processo de construção contextualizado, em uma janela separada do tipo: "Saiba mais", "Saiba como essa fórmula foi descoberta", "Quer saber como essa fórmula foi construida?". Porém o conjunto da obra compensa tudo, instrutores divertidos e atentos, vídeos curtos e com revisão final bem amigável, perfeitos para aprendizagem e capacidade de atenção dos adultos.

von Alejandro N J

23. Juni 2016

Excellent MOOC. A great introduction to the basic elements of statistics. I had studied statistics years ago in my bachelor but almost forgot everything. This course greatly helped me revive all the elementary concepts. The teachers explain complex things in simple terms easy to follow, and the funny examples have brought a smile to my face more than once and twice during the MOOC. Finally, the collaboration with professional illustrators adds great value to the course. A big deal of effort has gone into its making, and it truly pays off. I just wished there'd be an intermediate and advanced statistics course to keep digging into it!

Thanks a lot!

Alejandro

von Stacy H

30. Juni 2016

I hadn't touched math in any real way in years and this was a great re-introduction. The videos were fun and engaging, and while the material was challenging, I felt I got a lot out of it. I highly recommend it for people who need statistics for their work or for a degree program but who are feeling a little intimidated by it.

As far as feedback goes, I would have liked to get explanations for quiz questions I couldn't answer. I wish there was a way to say, "This is the quiz score I'd like to accept; now please explain to me the ones I missed." The lack of feedback on the quizzes was frustrating at times.

von gerald k

19. Apr. 2016

This is a great course. It was challenging but not discouraging. I think that there is a high probability that I learned something very useful. Now that I have said the most important words now I would like to give a thumbs down on the Data Camp R section. I found it to be frustrating and discouraging. You can find better information and tutorials on YouTube. Check out"MarinStatsLectures. A text book is also a great help. I bought Elementary Statistics at a used book store for $4.00 US. And it correlated very nicely with the course. If you are interested in statistics this course is a good first step.

von Amelia S

29. Mai 2020

The lectures are very well structured and the flow of each lectures flows great, reference support and reading material is very satisfying, Presentation support such as drawings, slides, cartoons is very interesting, the way the lecturer teaches is very passionate and very interesting, the speed of the lecturer is suitable to my ability to listen and comprehend, the voice and pronunciation are clear and easy to understand, the material taught is very useful, interesting and up to date, this lecture will be very useful for my career in the future

von Stacey G

30. März 2021

This was an excellent course! Well thought out and with easy to follow tutorials. I especially liked the use of animation and humor by the lecturers. These made it easier for me to focus and the examples easier to follow. Each quiz covered the modules well and I really appreciated the access to R as I've always wanted to learn how to use it but never knew how to access it. I am thankful to the Commonwealth of Learning team as well as the Coursera team, for the opportunity to complete this course.

von Jacob S

18. Juni 2016

Really a great introductory course. I am a real beginner in statistics, since I need it to make it easier for my self at data mining and machine learning in the future, this course gives me a solid basic understanding of terminology, calculations and relationships between calculations. Week 3 and 4 are pretty hard in my opinion, but after doing the course learning how to learn I know how to handle it, so I will recommend everybody to do that one also if you think this looks too difficult for you.

von Aurangazeeb A K

6. Jan. 2019

One of the best courses on Coursera and I'm saying this with an experience of 10+ courses on Coursera. The teaching strategy is brand new, with some surprises from the awesome teachers ! Statistics now feels like child's-play. Thank you University of Amsterdam for making this amazing course. The animations gives a fresh feel towards the concepts. After starting this class, I'm more curious and passionate about statistics. One more thing, be ready for a surprise at the first video of week 6.

von Elena K

30. Sep. 2016

A really great course. Simple to follow and understand, but provides insights into the basics of statistics. Almost no math which is good news for non-experts and makes the course more accessible for a broader audience. The lecturers explain the intuition behind the fundamental things in statistics, which I find very important before studying the statistical tests (inferential statistics). Feels like it opened my eyes.

Thank you very much Matthijs Rooduijn and Emiel van Loon!

von Leitha M

27. Feb. 2016

I've always had a rough time with mathematics, but the way this course is structured makes it easy for me to go at my own pace, re-watch videos that were confusing the first time through and work through problems until I really felt like I understand how the formulas work. The consistent use of exercises in R were extremely useful as well. I'd highly recommend this course and learning system for people like me, who never thought they'd be able to grasp mathematics.

von Giulia L

13. Mai 2020

I decided to start that course as I am not good at statistic, but I wanted to learn more about it and see if I was wrong.

Actually, the course has been super interesting and VERY well structured. All the topics were very well explained and I understand them all. Therefore, I believe that the professors has made an excellent job. However, I still don't like statistic that much, I am sorry!! But probably it is just my personal inclination.

von Lanan Z

31. Aug. 2020

I always wanted to learn some basic statistics, because I believe it helps me to see the world differently. I'm glad that I found this fantastic course on Cousera.

The course is very well structured, covering all the basic topics in the area. The two professors are very charmful. I enjoyed a lot their humor. Furthermore, the presentation of the course is very well designed, which helped me to keep focus.

I highly recommend this course!

von Alexander M

8. Aug. 2017

Thank you for the instruction and clear overview for this course. Coming from a HR standpoint (where ocassionally Statistics are a must) it was easy to follow the chapters week by week. As in any course there were some challenging sections to redo or retry but great learning and application to the real world. Highly recommend for anyone in a math background or looking to improve a skill set in numbers.

von Ebubechi N

23. Apr. 2020

I really enjoyed this course. I was always terrified of statistics, but it was explained so well and so clearly that I found myself understanding some of the statistical jokes shared during the lesson. The only difficult part for me was the probability sessions, but after reviewing them a few times I got the gist of it. I am already recommending this course to my colleagues and friends. Great job!

von Eric M E

22. März 2016

Simple explanations that make the topic rather easy to learn and having a visual aid (the drawings) I find it to be so much more friendly that I've really come to enjoy what I'm learning (I'm mostly a visual learner so to me this is very good). So far it has been a great course with R labs that can help reinforce the ideas and give a bit more practice in the subject, I do recommend the course.

von SRI R R

2. März 2016

This is a very informative and good course for beginners who wants to explore basic statistics along with R lab. Ofcourse, I felt little tought when i tried to do R lab but finally got it!! Overall course was very informative and would definitely recoment for those who wants to learn statistics

thanks for professors and the team of University of Amsterdam for conducting this course.

von Srikar R

16. Mai 2020

This is literally the best statistics course to begin with.It improved my fundamentals and revoked my love for statistics.I would recommend this to anybody who wants to explore the statistics field.I will also come back here to clarify my doubts.A well thought out course and brilliant explanation.I wish I had teachers like you guys in my college,our world would be a better place :)

von Ramesh S

21. Juni 2020

I enrolled into the course to revisit the basics, which we learnt long back and forgotten down the line. The course aptly filled the purpose. The exercises were truly testing. Evaluation questions really made us sweat out, revise the lectures, look at internet for better grasp...on the whole made an intense session of learning. Thank you Teachers and Thank you Coursera!!

von Nobuko S

9. Juni 2020

Great course to learn a basic of statistics. Teachers tried to explain complicated concepts in a comprehensive way by using interesting examples. Although I have some background in mathematics, this course was a little bit challenging for me. However, I could learn a lot and by the end of the lecture, I felt confident about statistics. Thank you for the great lectures!