Chevron Left
Zurück zu Grundlagen der Statistik

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Grundlagen der Statistik von Universität von Amsterdam

4.6
Sterne
4,164 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Understanding statistics is essential to understand research in the social and behavioral sciences. In this course you will learn the basics of statistics; not just how to calculate them, but also how to evaluate them. This course will also prepare you for the next course in the specialization - the course Inferential Statistics. In the first part of the course we will discuss methods of descriptive statistics. You will learn what cases and variables are and how you can compute measures of central tendency (mean, median and mode) and dispersion (standard deviation and variance). Next, we discuss how to assess relationships between variables, and we introduce the concepts correlation and regression. The second part of the course is concerned with the basics of probability: calculating probabilities, probability distributions and sampling distributions. You need to know about these things in order to understand how inferential statistics work. The third part of the course consists of an introduction to methods of inferential statistics - methods that help us decide whether the patterns we see in our data are strong enough to draw conclusions about the underlying population we are interested in. We will discuss confidence intervals and significance tests. You will not only learn about all these statistical concepts, you will also be trained to calculate and generate these statistics yourself using freely available statistical software....

Top-Bewertungen

PG

20. Apr. 2016

This is a nice course...thanks for providing such a great content from University of Amserdam.

Please allow us to complete the course as I have to wait till the session starts for week 2 lessions.

AD

27. Juni 2022

Instructors have provided concise explanations of the concepts. There are many examples considered that make statistics easier to understand! Also, the illustrations are fancy. I enjoyed every video!

Filtern nach:

976 - 1000 von 1,025 Bewertungen für Grundlagen der Statistik

von Mahamadshabir M

1. Jan. 2021

It has been really great experience studying on Such Platform. Has got lots new things to learn. Requesting to provide reading manuals/write ups. Although lectures were provided in writing.

von Nikita F

13. Sep. 2017

Unfortunately I didn't like this course – the basic things are explained in great details (which is not always necessary), but more complicated terms are not covered in the way they should.

von SRINIVAS R

2. Apr. 2016

some of the videos were outstanding and easy to understand. Need more handholding for understanding of concepts and review/explanation of the quiz results will reinforce learning further.

von Steph B

27. Dez. 2020

Some info was presented really quickly and the course notes didn't help. Very shallow explanation. Having a recommended textbook that go into more depth would have been great

von tressie p

4. Jan. 2020

I was expecting to learn basic statistic before diving into the programming. I did not take this class to get familiar with R programming. And it slow me down.

von Christina P

26. Okt. 2017

It was a really nice and informative course. As a statistics rookie, I can say with confidence that I now know the basics of Statistics! Thank you very much!

von Manish G

25. Jan. 2022

C​ouse name should mention something like Basic statistics with 'R since it cover pretty good amoing of R language

von Ladden D N G U

11. Okt. 2020

VERY INFORMATIVE COURSE, YET I AM NOT THAT FAN OF THE rLAB BECAUSE OF THEIR INSTRUCTIONS THAT ARE HARD TO GET.

von Bhupesh P

3. März 2017

Course material is not enough, you need to also refer at least one reference book as well.

von Alexandria W

17. Juli 2022

C​ertain concpets are not well explained and some of the examples are actually incorrect.

von Yutian L

16. Mai 2017

if we can have a review before the final exam will help a lot. and the r lab is so hard.

von Troy B

6. Juni 2021

good information but the coding is far too difficult for a class of this level

von Jon H

20. Juni 2022

R​equires a working knowledge of R. Also not exactly an introductory course.

von Pankaj M

25. Nov. 2016

2 Stars less because they should have included R video tutorials

von SUNEWAD R L

1. Aug. 2020

good for the users , who wants to learn R lab coading.

von Kevin H

29. März 2021

The R Labs are hard to understand and very difficult

von Deleted A

26. Apr. 2021

It would be better without R lab

von Sujoy S

2. Juni 2019

Very tuff quiz questions

von Rasmus B

29. Juni 2019

quite hard

von asha s m

2. Juli 2020

THANKS

von Navya V

2. Aug. 2020

good

von Mutcherla S

30. Mai 2020

good

von Anastasiya K

28. Apr. 2020

The course is good because it collects pieces of information together if you have studied something before. But I went through it for a very long time (relative to other specialization courses) and lost motivation several times, had to take breaks. Some topics are not described in such detail and with incomprehensible examples, which is why it is go difficult to solve problems. Tasks with R are generally difficult - but not because it's code (i'm good with it) – most often tasks were not related to lectures in the subject, and often instead of using functions and other convenient methods in R, you had to solve everything manually, simply substituting the numbers in the formula. But what's the point then in the code?

I would also like to draw attention to the fact that it’s very difficult to pass tests, sometimes the question and answer options are ambiguous, or it seems that there can be more than one answer.

Also important is the fact that the curators do not answer questions at all on the forum, I met questions written six months or a few months ago - and they were unanswered. How so?

In general, I am glad that I took this course, but I can’t say that it practically helped me. You will have to watch other courses to fill in the gaps and understand what was not explained here.

von Courtney v S

10. Nov. 2016

Not very helpful. In the homework I spent more time wrestling with commands in R than actually gaining an understanding of the subject matter.

Also, I really didn't need so many subject matter examples about the professor's baby's pooping habits. (And my family is Dutch with all the offensive humor that comes with it, so it's not just a matter of the sense of humor not translating)

I'm re-taking Statistics with Calculus online at my local state university and frankly, I can't notice any benefit from taking this course first. My current online Statistics with Calculus course is rewarding and I feel like I'm truly gaining mastery of the topics, whereas in the Basic Statistics course I was floundering.

The graphics in the way the lessons are presented are well done! But I would have been just fine with fewer graphics if it meant more worked-through examples.