Chevron Left
Zurück zu Bayessche Statistik

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Bayessche Statistik by Duke University

3.9
532 Bewertungen
158 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course describes Bayesian statistics, in which one's inferences about parameters or hypotheses are updated as evidence accumulates. You will learn to use Bayes’ rule to transform prior probabilities into posterior probabilities, and be introduced to the underlying theory and perspective of the Bayesian paradigm. The course will apply Bayesian methods to several practical problems, to show end-to-end Bayesian analyses that move from framing the question to building models to eliciting prior probabilities to implementing in R (free statistical software) the final posterior distribution. Additionally, the course will introduce credible regions, Bayesian comparisons of means and proportions, Bayesian regression and inference using multiple models, and discussion of Bayesian prediction. We assume learners in this course have background knowledge equivalent to what is covered in the earlier three courses in this specialization: "Introduction to Probability and Data," "Inferential Statistics," and "Linear Regression and Modeling."...

Top-Bewertungen

RR

Sep 21, 2017

Great course. Difficult to apprehend sometimes as the Frequentist paradigm is learned first but once you get it, it is really amazing to see the believe update in action with data.

GH

Apr 10, 2018

I like this course a lot. Explanations are clear and much of the (unnecessarily heavyweight) maths is glossed over. I particularly liked the sections on Bayesian model selection.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 of 154 Reviews for Bayessche Statistik

By Richard M

Jan 24, 2019

While the other modules so far have been terrific with good levels of support and clear explanations, this module is pretty terrible for a few reasons.

1) The level of support.

Your chances of getting a response to any question are slim - which means you're pretty much on your own here. Don't understand anything? Go find the answer elsewhere.

2) The tutors.

Mine Çetinkaya-Rundel has generally been terrific so far. Speaks slowly, repeats what variours terms mean (instead of assuming we memorize them the moment we hear them) and provides good clear examples to work from.

Sadly both Merlise and David are the opposite. They whiz through the material uncomfortably reading from a telepromter often assuming we instantly grasp every possible concept. It's almost impossible to follow most of the sessions they present. Most of the time there aren't even any exercises or opportunities to check we've understood the material correctly. They would both be 100% better if they frequently reminded us of the definitions of the concepts they use.

3) The material. There is FAR too much here to be covered in a single module. This is an entire course on its own (or a much bigger module).

4) Assumptions we know things which are never taught. I've lost track the number of times a word or concept sneaks into a quiz, into a lecture, or into an R package without explaining what it means. At times it feels this material was pulled from 2 or more sources and this has created gaps in understanding.

Sorry guys, I've really enjoyed the first three modules...but this one was a bit of a disaster.

Provide better support, shrink the material, create a better lecture experience and I'll happily revise this.

By Anna P

Oct 24, 2018

Very large drop in quality from the previous three courses in the specialization. Unlike the previous classes, there is not a quality textbook provided. What passes for a "textbook" is essentially a written re-hashing of the lectures which provides no new examples. The lectures themselves can be hard to follow and often times skip over important calculations. There are no practice problems. The labs are also less clear and there are major leaps between what is taught and what we are expected to know to solve the problems. The lack of quality resources and poor teaching coupled with the more challenging material made this course very frustrating.

By Tansel T A

Dec 05, 2018

Unfortunately, for me, this course did not live up to my expectations in comparison to the previous 3 courses I took as part of the Statistics with R specialisation. I gave the previous 3 a full 5 stars each.

The problems I had with this course was not that my statistics knowledge was lacking or that I found it difficult. The problems were due to the robotic delivery of the material. Specially towards the end of the course. It is very clear that the instructors have a great depth of knowledge which is incompatible with the robotic delivery structure currently in place.

For example, if you use a particular technique, even if it was introduced earlier, all it takes is a brief 2-10 second statement to re-iterate. This encourages the delivery of the material to be a hybrid of both written text the instructors are reading from, as well as a more informal aura of discussion. A guideline is: 'Can you get someone off the street to read the material you wrote to the screen?'. The more this statement is false, the more amazing your course is.

Another issue I had was that the accompanying material was immense. Am I paying a subscription to read books and passages in order to understand the material? This point is also prevalent in the forums where it was raised multiple times. These books and supplementary material would be largely not required if simple commentary was in place in the videos.

E.g. We are applying a 'BIC' prior. What does this mean? Up to this point we are used to applying priors that are distributions. This means that we are approximating the posterior probabilities of the models using the maximisation of their log-likelihoods which turns out to be easier to calculate than the posterior distributions. However, as the model space grows (>25 parameters), we may need to rely on a sampling technique, these techniques which rely on posterior probabilities to traverse the model space. If I were to say this, it would take me 10 seconds but would provide so much information to the learner.

In summary, I could have read a lot of the presented material here from a text book and found it clearer which wasn't the case in the previous 3 courses. The resources were helpful and focused on interesting points. I loved the interviews at the end with experts in the field. The statsR package is great and this is a great way to showcase its capabilities. This course is OK but I think the delivery could be improved upon.

Thanks

By Sara M

Dec 24, 2018

Starts out good in the first week and then ramps up to graduate level statistics without really a lot of notation explanation. Week 3 with the silver haired lady as the teacher was the WORST. nothing made sense when she taught.

By Ong Y R T

Mar 16, 2019

Worst course in the specialization. Totally killed my interest in statistics and R. Warning to everyone, do not do this course if you have / want to learn statistics. Only do it if you want to re-enforce the view that statistics is not something for you.

By Tulio R C

Dec 11, 2018

The last two weeks are way too hard to follow and could provide more practical examples instead of focusing on mathematical theory and formulas. That would make more sense to this course when compared to the content of the previous ones in this specialization.

By Toan T L

Jan 26, 2019

Good for reviewing Bayesian Statistic. But not for new learners.

The quality is below the previous courses in the same Specialization. The contents are rushed. The labs are impractical and sometimes confusing.

And beware of the final assignment. Since the number of students is low, the grading takes lots of days. And you might miss the enrollment window for the Capstone course.

By Juan P S

Aug 12, 2018

I have been doing the specialization from course 1, giving 5 stars to all of them. This course had the poorest explanations in the videos. I like the content, as it is challenging but many questions come to mind which are not thoroughly discussed in the video. For example, when you do the exercises you get topics that raises questions and there is no way to clear these doubts. Sometimes in the forums, but it shouldn't be the case.

By Praveen A

Oct 13, 2018

The course has seen a lot of improvement with new study materials and videos. I'd say that this is now much better than what the course was previously.

By Mark N

Jul 30, 2018

much different than the other classes in the series. They tried to put to much into this short course and consequently its way too hard. They should drop if from the statistics specialization and produce on new and longer stand alone Bayesian class. dissappointed because I dont think I can finish this class and now I wont be able to finish the specialization.

By Kevin P B

Feb 25, 2018

Like many other reviewers, I was caught out by the dramatic shift in approach and presentation style at week 3 of this class. In one of the in-class forum threads on this topic I found a perhaps sarcastic recommendation from one of the mentors to take a different class (UC Santa Cruz) which I did in the middle of this one. I learned more from that one. The in-video demonstrations do not always explain the numbers that show up on the screen, and there is much less direct connection to using R than in the previous classes in the specialization. In the final programming projects, the Bayesian magic is hidden behind packages so you don't actually work directly with the computations...just a different function call. This was the least rewarding class of the specialization, and I won't bother to continue to the capstone project because of it.

By Chen N

Apr 11, 2019

Clearly, Professor Clyde doesn't know how to teach.

By Aleix D

Mar 19, 2019

Too many formulas... More examples would be nice.

By Syed S R

Sep 13, 2018

I want to give 0 ratings. The worst course I have seen so far in Coursera. Horrible planning, horrible execution and makes no sense. Totally disappointed by the style of course design and delivery

By Rofi S I

Aug 19, 2018

Weeks 1 and 2 were perfect. Weeks 3 and 4 felt rushed. The course suddenly became very formula heavy.

By Elizabeth C S

Aug 06, 2018

I think it was way too much subject matter to fit into the 5 weeks. In previous courses, I could watch lectures and take notes in a reasonable amount of time. This course, 7-minute lectures would take me 45 minutes to listen and take notes. They just went way too fast through the material, even talking much faster. Splitting this into 2 sections would have been much better.

By Chin J L

Jun 07, 2018

In my opinion this is the most difficult course in this specialization. There is a lot of new concepts to master and, although Bayesian reasoning is more natural, most of us has been conditioned to think as a frequentist, not as a Bayesian. However, the course offered a glimpse on how Bayesian approach can deal certain issues where frequentist approaches fail and that is the most important lesson one can take home from this course.

It would be very helpful if the teachers provide us an indication of a good book on Bayesian Statistic that is friendly to people that are not mathematically oriented (like myself).

By Lalu P L

Jun 02, 2019

The course could have been more comprehensive and less verbose. It had so much content in a tiny course. Content should be less and more comprehensive.

By schlies

May 31, 2019

It seems like this course contains good information, but there's a huge gap in the material as taught by some of the instructors. It seems like one of the instructors in particular assumes you're already familiar with material that's not covered in the rest of the course. These parts of the lectures rehearse math and code in a very formulaic way which conveys almost no intuition or understanding of the subject matter. However, the labs a pretty good.

By Guillermo U O G

May 12, 2019

I really loved the previous courses because their reading material which was very good complimented by the video lectures, nevertheless, in this course, many of the video lectures was the repetition of the main book.

By Joshua L I

May 09, 2019

The pacing for this course was way faster than the previous ones, I think it would help if the course's length was twice as long covering each topic more slowly and having more videos.

By Jeff M

May 09, 2019

Overall I think there are better options available for learning bayesian statistics. The pacing and structure of the course both felt off to me, spending too much time on some things (conjugacy in particular) and breezing past many other things too quickly (particularly numerical methods). I also thought that it would have been more helpful to learn to perform many of the analyses from scratch so that they could be better understood, rather than relying so heavily on the accompanying statsR package.

By Stefan H

Mar 16, 2019

Find it hard to follow the lectures. The labs and supplement material is good though.

By De'Varus M

Feb 15, 2019

Though this section in the specialization is a little more difficult than the other sections. The supplemental material provided is helpful in navigating through the course. I will continue to read through this material to further my understanding of the material.

By Liew H P

Jan 17, 2019

This course is challenging and well-presented!