Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Big Data

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Introduction to Big Data von University of California San Diego

4.6
Sterne
10,454 Bewertungen
2,443 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Interested in increasing your knowledge of the Big Data landscape? This course is for those new to data science and interested in understanding why the Big Data Era has come to be. It is for those who want to become conversant with the terminology and the core concepts behind big data problems, applications, and systems. It is for those who want to start thinking about how Big Data might be useful in their business or career. It provides an introduction to one of the most common frameworks, Hadoop, that has made big data analysis easier and more accessible -- increasing the potential for data to transform our world! At the end of this course, you will be able to: * Describe the Big Data landscape including examples of real world big data problems including the three key sources of Big Data: people, organizations, and sensors. * Explain the V’s of Big Data (volume, velocity, variety, veracity, valence, and value) and why each impacts data collection, monitoring, storage, analysis and reporting. * Get value out of Big Data by using a 5-step process to structure your analysis. * Identify what are and what are not big data problems and be able to recast big data problems as data science questions. * Provide an explanation of the architectural components and programming models used for scalable big data analysis. * Summarize the features and value of core Hadoop stack components including the YARN resource and job management system, the HDFS file system and the MapReduce programming model. * Install and run a program using Hadoop! This course is for those new to data science. No prior programming experience is needed, although the ability to install applications and utilize a virtual machine is necessary to complete the hands-on assignments. Hardware Requirements: (A) Quad Core Processor (VT-x or AMD-V support recommended), 64-bit; (B) 8 GB RAM; (C) 20 GB disk free. How to find your hardware information: (Windows): Open System by clicking the Start button, right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties; (Mac): Open Overview by clicking on the Apple menu and clicking “About This Mac.” Most computers with 8 GB RAM purchased in the last 3 years will meet the minimum requirements.You will need a high speed internet connection because you will be downloading files up to 4 Gb in size. Software Requirements: This course relies on several open-source software tools, including Apache Hadoop. All required software can be downloaded and installed free of charge. Software requirements include: Windows 7+, Mac OS X 10.10+, Ubuntu 14.04+ or CentOS 6+ VirtualBox 5+....

Top-Bewertungen

HM

8. Sep. 2019

I love the course. It goes deep into the foundations, and then finishes up with an actual lab where you learn by practice. I greatly benefited from it and feel I have achieved a milestone in big data.

DK

11. Aug. 2021

I love the course. It goes deep into the foundations, and then finishes up with an actual lab where you learn by practice. I greatly benefited from it and feel I have achieved a milestone in big data.

Filtern nach:

76 - 100 von 2,389 Bewertungen für Introduction to Big Data

von roman b

15. Nov. 2019

Great introduction to Big Data concept - just right pace, course design, and most importantly, very clear explanation of the ideas, with relevant examples. It appears that both instructors really love this field and doing their best to induce an interest in learners (they succeeded in my case, for sure:)

von Tejal G B

1. Juli 2020

It was an amazing experience. I got to learn a lot of new things including big data concepts like where it is used, who uses it, why is it important. Along with this also got to learn about data science concepts. Thank you, sir and ma'am, for sharing your practical experience. It was of a lot of help.

von Saeed Z G

7. Juni 2020

As an introduction course is sufficient to learn the basic concepts. I have hands on Big Data for several years and liked to get certified. This course professionally provides concepts. A Data Scientist and Big Data Engineer, I believe that we have a long journey to go and this journey will never end.

von Sukanta M

25. Okt. 2017

I was looking for this type of course of BigData. I have spent hours to read through different blogs and articles. But couldn't get better idea/direction how to start or where to start. This is ideal course for getting started on Big Data. I enjoyed all the slides and hands on very much. Thank you.

von CHARAN N 1

1. Sep. 2021

"I've never completed a course like this before (online) and I cannot express how great the instructor was and the overall content of the material. I would definitely recommend this to my friends. I will be looking into taking more of these courses through Coursera in the near future. Thank you!"

von Steve S

12. Apr. 2018

Based on a previous course I took, I didn't think that this course would be as informative and practical. As it turned out, this was a great introduction to big data along with a practical exercise using hadoop. Very well organized and professionally done. I will take other courses from UC San

von MATHUMITHA .

4. Dez. 2018

Everything was explained in brief manner with day to day examples . Thanks to Ilkay Altintas and Amarnath Gupta for their clear cut explanations and also my reviewers for my assignments . Such an awesome course for beginners. Ample amount of time was given to finish this course successfully

von Anton V

20. Juni 2017

For me this is my first online course and I am flabbergasted by the quality and comfort of studying online. I think the course is well structured, very knowledge intensive, but well balanced. You learn a lot in a relatively short time frame. Thank you very much for this fantastic course.

von Jaime G C T

1. Nov. 2020

This course is good introductory program that delves into the multidisciplinary and rapidly-evolving nature of Big Data and Data Science. The hands-on data analysis activities are well-designed and encourage learners to explore more big data analytics and cloud computing applications.

von Juan F d N

11. Nov. 2020

Congratulations,

Good,, simple and enough to have an idea of what hadoop is.

Only a few recommendations.

As the course needs a computer with more than 8GB... it would be better to install the software the first day. Just to see if the requirements of the hardware and software are ok.

von Maninder S

30. Juli 2020

As the data has been growing rapidly day by day, the major challenge is not only to process the big data efficiently in a cost effective way but also to produce the meaningful results that can add values to the business. It was indeed a great learning experience. Highly recommended.

von Subhrajit R C

10. Okt. 2017

This course lays a good foundation for understanding what Big Data is, what it is good for, and also what it is not good for. The course is well structured and the quizzes and hands-on material test you and also and allow you to practice and get a taste of what lies ahead.

von Raman K

18. Juni 2021

Introductory course for Big Data. Nicely explained with the help of real-life applications. Instructors are knowledgable and has ability to keep your attention towards course and you won't be feeling bored at any moment even though most part of this course is theoretical.

von King W N

9. Okt. 2017

This is a terrific intro into what Big Data is for those who are interested but aren't sure if they want to dive into the technology behind how Google, Amazon or internet search engines market what you might be interested in. This course will definitely wet you appetite.

von Pamela C O D

17. Apr. 2020

Muy bien realizado el curso aborda todos los temas importantes , las presentaciones en video son realmente buenos, las diapositivas interesantes y a la vez llaman la atención. La voz de la presentadora a veces se hacia aburrida pero la información que daba muy relevante.

von Parth S

7. Apr. 2017

Very useful course to start one's journey into the world of Big Data. Concepts were explained thoroughly and in a very easy-to-understand manner. The quizzes and assignment help in evaluating one's own progress. Must-do course for anyone wanting to learn about Big Data.

von Mabel Y

11. Okt. 2020

It was very insightful and an eye opener to what big data is. There is so much potential to what big data could help to achieve be it for businesses or for environment providing proven results or statistics which could help to create predictive model.

It is so amazing!

von Anurag S

13. Sep. 2018

This is a very good course which provides a good overview of the big data domain. It provides an introduction to the various Hadoop components and gives a flavour of big data computing using Cloudera. Overall, a very good introduction to the six course specialization.

von Sina S E

15. Okt. 2021

Hi, It was a brief and useful course to start this topic. I recommend this course to all those who are interested. I would also like to thank the instructors and participants in creating this course. Finally, I thank the Coursera team for providing this platform.

von Ishan S

22. Mai 2017

This course is really helpful for understanding the basics of Big Data. As they say, if the foundation of something is strong, it lasts forever. This course really helped me in laying down that strong foundation,which will be helpful in the future courses.

Thanks.

von Ramon P T S

15. Juni 2020

Except for the section where I had to run Hadoop through my laptop computer and had trouble loading the disk image into the VirtualBox environment and therefore had to test it using another computer, the pacing of the course seemed appropriate for a beginner.

von chandrasegaran s

2. Feb. 2022

I'm beginner to big data with fundamental knowledge of machine learning and functional programming. This course is the best course for the beginner and easy to follow. It covers most of the fundamental in big data such as hadoop eco system and map reduce.

von Christopher R

26. Juli 2017

Great short intro course. The work load was a little high but I believe it was pretty thorough to get a basic understanding. I also loved the pre-built cloud environment built for us! The exercises were pretty intuitive. I'm excited for the next course :)

von Ahmed S

1. Jan. 2020

Excellent Course. It provides essential fundamentals for big data, Hadoop and map reduce applications. I do recommend this course for anyone interested in this line of study. Language, videos, slides, and quizzes are very clear and interesting to follow.