Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Big Data

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to Big Data von University of California San Diego

4.6
Sterne
9,929 Bewertungen
2,345 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Interested in increasing your knowledge of the Big Data landscape? This course is for those new to data science and interested in understanding why the Big Data Era has come to be. It is for those who want to become conversant with the terminology and the core concepts behind big data problems, applications, and systems. It is for those who want to start thinking about how Big Data might be useful in their business or career. It provides an introduction to one of the most common frameworks, Hadoop, that has made big data analysis easier and more accessible -- increasing the potential for data to transform our world! At the end of this course, you will be able to: * Describe the Big Data landscape including examples of real world big data problems including the three key sources of Big Data: people, organizations, and sensors. * Explain the V’s of Big Data (volume, velocity, variety, veracity, valence, and value) and why each impacts data collection, monitoring, storage, analysis and reporting. * Get value out of Big Data by using a 5-step process to structure your analysis. * Identify what are and what are not big data problems and be able to recast big data problems as data science questions. * Provide an explanation of the architectural components and programming models used for scalable big data analysis. * Summarize the features and value of core Hadoop stack components including the YARN resource and job management system, the HDFS file system and the MapReduce programming model. * Install and run a program using Hadoop! This course is for those new to data science. No prior programming experience is needed, although the ability to install applications and utilize a virtual machine is necessary to complete the hands-on assignments. Hardware Requirements: (A) Quad Core Processor (VT-x or AMD-V support recommended), 64-bit; (B) 8 GB RAM; (C) 20 GB disk free. How to find your hardware information: (Windows): Open System by clicking the Start button, right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties; (Mac): Open Overview by clicking on the Apple menu and clicking “About This Mac.” Most computers with 8 GB RAM purchased in the last 3 years will meet the minimum requirements.You will need a high speed internet connection because you will be downloading files up to 4 Gb in size. Software Requirements: This course relies on several open-source software tools, including Apache Hadoop. All required software can be downloaded and installed free of charge. Software requirements include: Windows 7+, Mac OS X 10.10+, Ubuntu 14.04+ or CentOS 6+ VirtualBox 5+....

Top-Bewertungen

HM
8. Sep. 2019

I love the course. It goes deep into the foundations, and then finishes up with an actual lab where you learn by practice. I greatly benefited from it and feel I have achieved a milestone in big data.

DK
11. Aug. 2021

I love the course. It goes deep into the foundations, and then finishes up with an actual lab where you learn by practice. I greatly benefited from it and feel I have achieved a milestone in big data.

Filtern nach:

1651 - 1675 von 2,289 Bewertungen für Introduction to Big Data

von Jen

26. Sep. 2019

It's starts slow, building a foundation for people who are completely new to the subject, but by the end, I felt I got a lot from the course. I wish there was a hands-on assignment the first week. Also, it's too bad there wasn't much conversation in the forum. The questions posed between videos were interesting and deserved more attention.

von Youssouf F

3. Sep. 2018

Lorsque je me suis inscrit sur ce cours je ne le pensais pas ainsi, je l'ai sous estime les outils que vous mettez à notre disposition sont de hautes factures et les cours sont très attractifs. Si j'ai donné 4 étoiles au lieu de 5 c'est parce que la transcription en Français n'existe pas encore et c'est un embattant pour les francophones.

von Jagadish B S

14. Jan. 2018

This course has been a wonderful start of this journey. Looks like I am glued to Coursera due to these courses. Paucity of time, good/comprehensive material and other reasons had kept me from proceeding forward till I found this material. Thanks to the two professors and apt material that they have created, this seems to be taking off.

von Talha I

28. Sep. 2017

Good Course. But Lecturers read from the notes. Which removes the human element and sometimes seems too robotic. They should try to bring the person more to the course by not reading and making it more interesting to hear what they are saying. I think the human element was missing but content of the course was very good.

von Wagner G d N

21. Aug. 2018

I'm new to the subject. Content is appropriate for my experience, but it bugs me the poor design and presentation of the course. Activities are ok, but more hands-on exercises, or written tasks will definitely help increase understanding. Overall, course is a good introduction, and It can be completed quickly

von Jürgen B

1. Aug. 2018

I keep wondering when the lectures were recorded and which years data refer to. I do not think that we see 2018 numbers here. In a field such rapidly evolving like BD data and information referring to 2016 or even 2015 is outdated. @Coursera team: Can you please timestamp the videos and the data presented.

von David R D N

6. Okt. 2016

The course material is overall very good and easy to understand, although a bit abstract at certain points (mostly when it comes to technical things like what MapReduce consists of and what Programming Models are). Regardless, the instructors do a great job of explaining the concepts. Great course overall

von Andrew O

8. Juni 2020

Getting the right computer that can run the virtual machine is a must. After that, there were still all kinds of error messages due to various reasons. The discussion forum on this topic was helpful to a certain extent but can be improved. Running the virtual machine was quite straightforward after that

von Emerald M

11. Feb. 2018

I loved this courses real life examples of the materials being discussed. It not only held my attention but also gave me a better understanding of how I might use it. The materials took what could be very complex realities and broke them down to 'bite size' pieces. OVERALL: GREAT COURSE FOR BEGINNERS.

von Hassaan a a

25. Mai 2018

it was my first experience of an online course . the course was very suitable for the beginners as describes and was very easy to learn . Just had a little problem in starting the cloudera virtual machine by following the given steps in the course . coursera is very good learning platform . Thank You.

von Agatha H

24. Apr. 2017

I'm grateful to the instructor(s). However, when I turned on closed caption to get used to the accent, the CC text covered part of the slide information. Overall, this is a good course to take. I'm glad I took it. Also, I was hoping that there's a clear instruction of Cloudera Quick Start on Linux.

von Claudia S

26. Jan. 2018

Overall the course was excellent.

A minor annoying issue was that the volume level is not constant between videos, so using earplugs was not an option, if you had the chance to take various lessons in a row.

In the end, I had to turn off the volume and use the subtitles instead, to avoid ear damage.

von Luke S

25. Dez. 2016

This is a great introduction to the concepts of Big Data. Compared to whats available online, this course does a great job of digging into the components and definition of big data vs just diving in with code examples. Well worth it for anyone trying to get a holistic understanding of big data.

von Amit K Y

7. Juli 2020

It's good as an introductory course! A lot of topics are covered briefly and excellent examples are presented to help people understand the concepts! There is a need to update the "Hadoop hands-on training" examples as cloudera has stopped the support for virtual VMs mentioned in the course.

von sachin d

27. März 2017

Fantastic course and all concepts were very well explained. Interesting quiz at end of every section that tests understanding of the topic and the glimpse of Hadoop in the final section is the best part of the entire course.

Hadoop fs -Thanks Ilkay Altintas and Amarnath Gupta :)

von Serge L N

1. Sep. 2017

The content is good, however the presenters just read a text which makes it a bit boring to follow. Due to the style of presentation I find it rather distracting that the presenters are embedded in the presentation.

Further sources for additional reading would be great a well.

von Claudia T G

7. Aug. 2019

Great contents, and the way they explain them makes it easier to understand. If I had to mention an area, it would be to make the slides a bit more visual (the strong blue color sometimes made it more difficult to watch a few videos at a time). But overall great course!!

von Reynaldo A

22. Nov. 2016

Dr Altintas is an excellent presenter and very thorough. I would have enjoyed more practical exercises instead of mainly theory videos. The ones done with Hadoop in the last week were very enjoyable. I also enjoyed Dr Gupta's videos as well. Excellent intro to Big Data.

von Maithreyi S

22. Apr. 2017

I enjoyed this introductory course because it really provided the scope for this area of study and helped chart the course for the rest of the specialization as I move forward. Excited to move on through to the next course armed with what I have learned in this one!

von Shubham S

2. Juli 2017

Nice course with proper foundation of big data. Instructors were describing things nicely. It would be more better if you add some more reading material of each content so that something which is not described in detail then we can go through it. Thanks coursera.

von Shababa B

27. Sep. 2020

Does a good job of providing foundational information about Big Data and the Hadoop ecosystem. The end of the course has a fairly easy hands on MapReduce exercise. I wish it had more exercises but I assume the other courses in the specialization would offer this.

von David F M M

4. Sep. 2020

El hecho de que mis compañeros revisen el trabajo de otros es muy poco objetivo, desde mi experiencia personal mandé un trabajo bien hecho que lo calificaron con un 40%, luego reenvié el mismo y obtuve un 100%, la calificación que merecía desde un inicio.

von Ganesh T

1. Aug. 2019

Overall experience was good with learning module. the objective to the course has meet the expectations.

Suggestion: Please check once the question module, which showing wrong with different answer combinations.

Rest all as per me up to the mark. Thank you

von Mustafa M

7. Apr. 2020

A good course for beginners to understand the basics of BigData and the history behind it. Learned basic definitions and understanding of terms used in BigData. Hand on practice to install VirtualBox and run hadoop basic commands in Cloudera Sandbox.

von Tariq A

27. Dez. 2019

I believe that I developed an understanding of the Introduction to big data. This is what I was interested in achieving. This is the first course I have taken from Online-learning.com and I feel that I am achieving a good understanding of big data.