Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Big Data

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to Big Data von University of California San Diego

4.6
Sterne
9,932 Bewertungen
2,345 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Interested in increasing your knowledge of the Big Data landscape? This course is for those new to data science and interested in understanding why the Big Data Era has come to be. It is for those who want to become conversant with the terminology and the core concepts behind big data problems, applications, and systems. It is for those who want to start thinking about how Big Data might be useful in their business or career. It provides an introduction to one of the most common frameworks, Hadoop, that has made big data analysis easier and more accessible -- increasing the potential for data to transform our world! At the end of this course, you will be able to: * Describe the Big Data landscape including examples of real world big data problems including the three key sources of Big Data: people, organizations, and sensors. * Explain the V’s of Big Data (volume, velocity, variety, veracity, valence, and value) and why each impacts data collection, monitoring, storage, analysis and reporting. * Get value out of Big Data by using a 5-step process to structure your analysis. * Identify what are and what are not big data problems and be able to recast big data problems as data science questions. * Provide an explanation of the architectural components and programming models used for scalable big data analysis. * Summarize the features and value of core Hadoop stack components including the YARN resource and job management system, the HDFS file system and the MapReduce programming model. * Install and run a program using Hadoop! This course is for those new to data science. No prior programming experience is needed, although the ability to install applications and utilize a virtual machine is necessary to complete the hands-on assignments. Hardware Requirements: (A) Quad Core Processor (VT-x or AMD-V support recommended), 64-bit; (B) 8 GB RAM; (C) 20 GB disk free. How to find your hardware information: (Windows): Open System by clicking the Start button, right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties; (Mac): Open Overview by clicking on the Apple menu and clicking “About This Mac.” Most computers with 8 GB RAM purchased in the last 3 years will meet the minimum requirements.You will need a high speed internet connection because you will be downloading files up to 4 Gb in size. Software Requirements: This course relies on several open-source software tools, including Apache Hadoop. All required software can be downloaded and installed free of charge. Software requirements include: Windows 7+, Mac OS X 10.10+, Ubuntu 14.04+ or CentOS 6+ VirtualBox 5+....

Top-Bewertungen

HM
8. Sep. 2019

I love the course. It goes deep into the foundations, and then finishes up with an actual lab where you learn by practice. I greatly benefited from it and feel I have achieved a milestone in big data.

DK
11. Aug. 2021

I love the course. It goes deep into the foundations, and then finishes up with an actual lab where you learn by practice. I greatly benefited from it and feel I have achieved a milestone in big data.

Filtern nach:

1701 - 1725 von 2,289 Bewertungen für Introduction to Big Data

von Panya " F R

2. Dez. 2018

Very nice course. Well explained. Easy to understand even for those who have no IT knowledge/experience at all. Looking forward to finishing all the courses and starting implementing Big Data in my career.

von Anis R

30. Nov. 2017

Loved the course, it gave a over all understanding of Big Data and has perspective of what is of use especially in Data Science. I would recommend it if some one wants to start about Big data from base 0.

von Shivani K

30. Jan. 2021

The course is informative, and has good instructor, but at some point it was a little less interesting than my expectation. Other than that this course is a great platform to start learning about Data.

von Lola B

7. Okt. 2017

Great course! It provides an excellent starting point for big data, it gets you thinking about problems in a "big data way". I would recommend it to anyone who want to know what and how big data works.

von Dans S

8. Juli 2020

The course does it job, but the lectures look outdated and lack interesting examples. A lot of classifications and definitions are presented, but it is hard to figure out how useful they really are.

von Samuel

27. Apr. 2019

Great Content with very precise approach to teaching . One could easily;y relate these complex terms to everyday lives and see clear use cases for big data . Good course to begin a big data journey!

von Vinod J

27. Okt. 2020

Hadoop commands were from the old version whereas there are new versions command also there however the content of the course was very much interactive and interesting and made the learning easy.

von Pankaj A

11. Feb. 2018

The software which is to be installed in order to do the assignment of this course must be provided in cloud or other alternatives will be provided so that each person with 4 GB Ram can install.

von Feliks V S

17. Okt. 2020

Sometime the video duration takes to long but overall is good. I like how every explanation accompanied by easy-to-understand analysis and examples of technology that are currently widely used.

von Eduardo A

31. Aug. 2020

The course was perfect until the Hadoop part. Especially because I couldn't install it in my computer following all instructions and I have no idea even how to fix it. It's also a bit outdated.

von GHASTI P S (

20. Aug. 2020

The course was very interesting and the instructors are also good and make you feel engaged and wanting to know more. The quizzes and most importantly the real life examples helped very much.

von Giuseppe A T

27. Dez. 2020

This was my first experience with COURSERA and I really enjoyed it. I would have given five stars but I think the last part of the course, about the use of Hadoop, was a bit too approximate.

von Yujue S

8. Apr. 2020

Course was a bit easy on average, and feel a bit isloated from instructor - can tell some information are outdated. And hope to have more hand-on practises to take away more from the course.

von Felix R

19. Aug. 2016

The course is very well made, with very clear concepts and therefore very useful to start in the world of Big Data. Recommended for anyone who wants to have a basic knowledge about Big Data.

von Vincent R

23. Jan. 2018

Very informative and interesting introductory course. The short video format allows the students to learn at pace. The course convinced me to keep going with the specialization. Well done!

von Devanshu B

27. Apr. 2020

One of the best courses for Big Data. Detailed Explanation of every aspect of Big data. And Explanation was really phenomenal. I recommend this course to those who want to start Big Data.

von Tushar T

10. Juni 2017

The course is good for starters and needs a little more Hands on exercises needed. The cloudera VMware was painful to execute due to its slow response even with 8 Gb ram and I5 processor

von Joren Z

26. Juni 2017

A good bird's eye overview of Big Data. The level is not high, as in the assignments are not hard or difficult. This is to be expected in an introductory overview course, of course!

von Harshitha I

4. Mai 2020

The course was overall very good , they taught us well and the way of teaching was also very good . However they could solved our doubts in the discussion forums in the right time

von Niels B

17. Feb. 2018

The content of this course is very good. Also the hands on exercise at the end is very interesting. Although the formulation of the questions could sometimes be a bit more clear.

von Andreu T M

27. März 2018

Great introduction to big data, do not underestimate it, it starts easy but soon it gets more complicated. Really good to bring down to earth the highly spoken term of Big Data.

von Belen S

24. Mai 2018

The only negative part is that the course it´s bit long and the last Quiz it´s really complex to a non IT person as me. The conceps and the knowledge I get has been very great

von Zhe X

12. Jan. 2017

Too many concepts, better to provide more interactive questions during the video and more examples to demonstrate the concept.

If possible, make the assignment submission free.

von Tze M H

2. Aug. 2017

The course is good giving a lot of information for background. However, I personally would suggest the context would be better understood if its structure is more organised.

von sandeep d

7. Juni 2019

The course majorly teaches you the importance of big data in first 2 weeks. 3rd week, it gives you good brief of big data tools and technology. Good course for foundations.