Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Big Data

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to Big Data von University of California San Diego

4.6
Sterne
10,027 Bewertungen
2,359 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Interested in increasing your knowledge of the Big Data landscape? This course is for those new to data science and interested in understanding why the Big Data Era has come to be. It is for those who want to become conversant with the terminology and the core concepts behind big data problems, applications, and systems. It is for those who want to start thinking about how Big Data might be useful in their business or career. It provides an introduction to one of the most common frameworks, Hadoop, that has made big data analysis easier and more accessible -- increasing the potential for data to transform our world! At the end of this course, you will be able to: * Describe the Big Data landscape including examples of real world big data problems including the three key sources of Big Data: people, organizations, and sensors. * Explain the V’s of Big Data (volume, velocity, variety, veracity, valence, and value) and why each impacts data collection, monitoring, storage, analysis and reporting. * Get value out of Big Data by using a 5-step process to structure your analysis. * Identify what are and what are not big data problems and be able to recast big data problems as data science questions. * Provide an explanation of the architectural components and programming models used for scalable big data analysis. * Summarize the features and value of core Hadoop stack components including the YARN resource and job management system, the HDFS file system and the MapReduce programming model. * Install and run a program using Hadoop! This course is for those new to data science. No prior programming experience is needed, although the ability to install applications and utilize a virtual machine is necessary to complete the hands-on assignments. Hardware Requirements: (A) Quad Core Processor (VT-x or AMD-V support recommended), 64-bit; (B) 8 GB RAM; (C) 20 GB disk free. How to find your hardware information: (Windows): Open System by clicking the Start button, right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties; (Mac): Open Overview by clicking on the Apple menu and clicking “About This Mac.” Most computers with 8 GB RAM purchased in the last 3 years will meet the minimum requirements.You will need a high speed internet connection because you will be downloading files up to 4 Gb in size. Software Requirements: This course relies on several open-source software tools, including Apache Hadoop. All required software can be downloaded and installed free of charge. Software requirements include: Windows 7+, Mac OS X 10.10+, Ubuntu 14.04+ or CentOS 6+ VirtualBox 5+....

Top-Bewertungen

DK
11. Aug. 2021

I love the course. It goes deep into the foundations, and then finishes up with an actual lab where you learn by practice. I greatly benefited from it and feel I have achieved a milestone in big data.

HM
8. Sep. 2019

I love the course. It goes deep into the foundations, and then finishes up with an actual lab where you learn by practice. I greatly benefited from it and feel I have achieved a milestone in big data.

Filtern nach:

1651 - 1675 von 2,304 Bewertungen für Introduction to Big Data

von Chan-Vu L

12. Dez. 2016

The course was awesome. It taught me the ins and outs of Big Data. Although its only the basics, I'd still recommend it to everyone before deciding whether you want to keep going as a Big Data specialist or not.

Some steps are not uptodate e.g. hadoop and wordcount aren't in the same folder as listed by this course. They were in the other folder /usr/lib... . It'd be nice if you guys put a "find" command with that description, because I've had to search it myself. That's why I took one star out of it.

von Giorgio L M

16. Nov. 2020

Excellent course. Well presented and very informational. A very good first course to get introduced to this topic. The quality of the presenters is outstanding.

My only feedback for improvement would be that some (very few) questions/answers in the assessments were possibly somewhat unclear as did not directly related to presentation contents. Therefore it was more difficult to understand what was required.

But otherwise everything was clear and useful.

von William K D

30. Juli 2017

This is very good course. It help you to understand the importance of Big Data, especial how nowadays big companies can take advantage of their large data storage to came out with lot of stuff like: innovation, user experience improvement. Big Data is also useful for organization. This course let me discover how Big Data is being user in US for social purpose. Mostly, I also learn technical skill with Hadoop which is a Widely user Big Data framework.

von Srikanth C

23. Okt. 2017

It was a very nice introductory course, and I'm looking forward to the future modules! As the lectures in this particular module are very verbose, I would've liked occasional in-lecture quizzes (not marked, of course) to keep me more engaged as there is a lot of factual information to assimilate. Prof. Daphne Koller does this during her PGM lectures and I found such quizzes very beneficial in keeping me in sync with what she's talking about.

von John R

11. Apr. 2017

Overall a good introduction to Big Data. Needed no prior experience, but ironically I found I'd misunderstood the way Map:Reduce worked. Reading around afterwards I worked out exactly how it worked, but I didn't think it was explained very well. Overall though, a great intro into a subject which is highly hyped in the IT industry, and demystifies some of the concepts, explaining what Big Data is good for, and hinting at it's limitations.

von Diksha C

20. Jan. 2018

This course is a really good introduction to Big Data. I come from an EE background and barely have any experience in IT/CS field. I was able to adapt and get a really good introduction to the Big Data world. My favorite part of the course is Hands On exercises at the end and quiz based on the hands-on exercise that provides you experience with Cloudera, Hadoop and MapReduce. I enjoyed this course and would recommend this course.

von MEGAT A F A S

22. Juni 2019

This is an excellent introductory course on Big Data in general and introduce to basic usage of Hadoop using Cloudera on a virtual machine. This course could be improved further especially to working professionals by spreading the course over 4 - 6 weeks instead as the 3 weeks duration is very short as the coverage of this course is quite broad. Thank you to the course instructors for preparing this wonderful course.

von Alireza A B

20. Juli 2017

good overview on Big Data. I like the intoroduction to Hadoop using the Cloudera VM, that's where things start to be more quantitative than qualitattive , some parts of the lectures could be improved. Also would be nice to be able to download the entire scripts for the lectures as a pdf at the end of each lecture or each week rather than only having it as a .txt file per lecture.

von Gregory G

21. Nov. 2017

Some of final lab instructions were out dated, i.e. the jar file was not in the directory listed. Perhaps too much time was spent on covering the introductory material. It could have been better with more actual examples and/or talking more about determining whether a data set would be a candidate for using Hadoop.

I enjoyed the class and look forward to the next course.

von Shahin A

11. Apr. 2020

The course in general is good and useful. However, there are a few caveats here and there. For instance, sometimes the questions in the quizes are not comprehensible. Maybe this is the problem of English proficiency for teaching. Also some case-studies can be added to the assignments and course. To train our eyes to figure out various data sources, and potential values.

von Katherine K

15. März 2020

Great course for those new to big data - it helps you understand the core components and processes of big data analytics. As a heads up, the last assignment will require significant computer bandwidth to support the program needed. Overall, very useful, understandable course on a topic that is becoming a foundation for business, society, and government.

von Emil H M

22. Juni 2018

Last assignment is hard to understand. You should included a proper direction in how your clear your "out" directory when trying to solve the question. I had to search for quite some time on other sites before I understood how I could create a new folder/directory and run the query from there. Other than that, great introduction to a new field!

von 曾添

8. Aug. 2016

I learned some new things because I'm a total beginner,I think the contents are updated but not very structured,the hands-on part is just a small peek of the whole big data process system and not very useful.It's not a complete course if you don't take the later courses of the whole specialization.So I gave 4 stars for this introduction course.

von Jen

26. Sep. 2019

It's starts slow, building a foundation for people who are completely new to the subject, but by the end, I felt I got a lot from the course. I wish there was a hands-on assignment the first week. Also, it's too bad there wasn't much conversation in the forum. The questions posed between videos were interesting and deserved more attention.

von Youssouf F

3. Sep. 2018

Lorsque je me suis inscrit sur ce cours je ne le pensais pas ainsi, je l'ai sous estime les outils que vous mettez à notre disposition sont de hautes factures et les cours sont très attractifs. Si j'ai donné 4 étoiles au lieu de 5 c'est parce que la transcription en Français n'existe pas encore et c'est un embattant pour les francophones.

von Jagadish B S

14. Jan. 2018

This course has been a wonderful start of this journey. Looks like I am glued to Coursera due to these courses. Paucity of time, good/comprehensive material and other reasons had kept me from proceeding forward till I found this material. Thanks to the two professors and apt material that they have created, this seems to be taking off.

von Talha I

28. Sep. 2017

Good Course. But Lecturers read from the notes. Which removes the human element and sometimes seems too robotic. They should try to bring the person more to the course by not reading and making it more interesting to hear what they are saying. I think the human element was missing but content of the course was very good.

von Wagner G d N

21. Aug. 2018

I'm new to the subject. Content is appropriate for my experience, but it bugs me the poor design and presentation of the course. Activities are ok, but more hands-on exercises, or written tasks will definitely help increase understanding. Overall, course is a good introduction, and It can be completed quickly

von Jürgen B

1. Aug. 2018

I keep wondering when the lectures were recorded and which years data refer to. I do not think that we see 2018 numbers here. In a field such rapidly evolving like BD data and information referring to 2016 or even 2015 is outdated. @Coursera team: Can you please timestamp the videos and the data presented.

von David R D N

6. Okt. 2016

The course material is overall very good and easy to understand, although a bit abstract at certain points (mostly when it comes to technical things like what MapReduce consists of and what Programming Models are). Regardless, the instructors do a great job of explaining the concepts. Great course overall

von Andrew O

8. Juni 2020

Getting the right computer that can run the virtual machine is a must. After that, there were still all kinds of error messages due to various reasons. The discussion forum on this topic was helpful to a certain extent but can be improved. Running the virtual machine was quite straightforward after that

von Emerald M

11. Feb. 2018

I loved this courses real life examples of the materials being discussed. It not only held my attention but also gave me a better understanding of how I might use it. The materials took what could be very complex realities and broke them down to 'bite size' pieces. OVERALL: GREAT COURSE FOR BEGINNERS.

von Hassaan a a

25. Mai 2018

it was my first experience of an online course . the course was very suitable for the beginners as describes and was very easy to learn . Just had a little problem in starting the cloudera virtual machine by following the given steps in the course . coursera is very good learning platform . Thank You.

von Agatha H

24. Apr. 2017

I'm grateful to the instructor(s). However, when I turned on closed caption to get used to the accent, the CC text covered part of the slide information. Overall, this is a good course to take. I'm glad I took it. Also, I was hoping that there's a clear instruction of Cloudera Quick Start on Linux.

von Claudia S

26. Jan. 2018

Overall the course was excellent.

A minor annoying issue was that the volume level is not constant between videos, so using earplugs was not an option, if you had the chance to take various lessons in a row.

In the end, I had to turn off the volume and use the subtitles instead, to avoid ear damage.