Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Big Data

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to Big Data von University of California San Diego

4.6
Sterne
10,027 Bewertungen
2,359 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Interested in increasing your knowledge of the Big Data landscape? This course is for those new to data science and interested in understanding why the Big Data Era has come to be. It is for those who want to become conversant with the terminology and the core concepts behind big data problems, applications, and systems. It is for those who want to start thinking about how Big Data might be useful in their business or career. It provides an introduction to one of the most common frameworks, Hadoop, that has made big data analysis easier and more accessible -- increasing the potential for data to transform our world! At the end of this course, you will be able to: * Describe the Big Data landscape including examples of real world big data problems including the three key sources of Big Data: people, organizations, and sensors. * Explain the V’s of Big Data (volume, velocity, variety, veracity, valence, and value) and why each impacts data collection, monitoring, storage, analysis and reporting. * Get value out of Big Data by using a 5-step process to structure your analysis. * Identify what are and what are not big data problems and be able to recast big data problems as data science questions. * Provide an explanation of the architectural components and programming models used for scalable big data analysis. * Summarize the features and value of core Hadoop stack components including the YARN resource and job management system, the HDFS file system and the MapReduce programming model. * Install and run a program using Hadoop! This course is for those new to data science. No prior programming experience is needed, although the ability to install applications and utilize a virtual machine is necessary to complete the hands-on assignments. Hardware Requirements: (A) Quad Core Processor (VT-x or AMD-V support recommended), 64-bit; (B) 8 GB RAM; (C) 20 GB disk free. How to find your hardware information: (Windows): Open System by clicking the Start button, right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties; (Mac): Open Overview by clicking on the Apple menu and clicking “About This Mac.” Most computers with 8 GB RAM purchased in the last 3 years will meet the minimum requirements.You will need a high speed internet connection because you will be downloading files up to 4 Gb in size. Software Requirements: This course relies on several open-source software tools, including Apache Hadoop. All required software can be downloaded and installed free of charge. Software requirements include: Windows 7+, Mac OS X 10.10+, Ubuntu 14.04+ or CentOS 6+ VirtualBox 5+....

Top-Bewertungen

DK
11. Aug. 2021

I love the course. It goes deep into the foundations, and then finishes up with an actual lab where you learn by practice. I greatly benefited from it and feel I have achieved a milestone in big data.

HM
8. Sep. 2019

I love the course. It goes deep into the foundations, and then finishes up with an actual lab where you learn by practice. I greatly benefited from it and feel I have achieved a milestone in big data.

Filtern nach:

1701 - 1725 von 2,304 Bewertungen für Introduction to Big Data

von Nester P

13. Juli 2017

A good introduction to the terms and concepts of Big Data. I was personally hoping for more hands on work with the Hadoop framework (an assignment / homework would have been nice). The lectures seems to be quite monotone at times.

von Colin B

5. Nov. 2016

Excellent course for beginner in the world of big data. Some issues with the hands-on lab (maybe due to a change in Cloudera softs). Provided examples were not working as-is for me, because of some path issues. But great anyway.

von Tanmay G

6. Nov. 2017

Good course to give you an overview of Big Data; best thing being it includes Hadoop programming basics as well. Interesting as well as a bit challenging course to learn about Big Data.I would surely recommend this to a friend.

von piaoyang

24. Feb. 2020

The first two weeks' course is really academic style, introducing many conceptions ahead. It could be more concise.

The third week is useful, but it's short and not much in detail, maybe just enough for an introduction course.

von Jeff R

11. Juli 2016

This course got upgraded from 2015 to 2016. I wish I did not have to take twice because all the assignments and material seemed the same. Maybe next time you upgrade give students the credit for the classes they already took.

von Rohit P

2. Apr. 2020

Nice course, very informative, only suggestion is to add details on how to install the Hadoop environment in Linux, rather than using an image to run on a VM in Windows or MAC. Programmers using Linux would benefit from it.

von Rafa G

18. Juli 2019

I looked for many sources to get started in Big Data and, after a lot of filtering, I opted for UC San Diego. I am very satisfied although in the final exercise of this first course I found problems outside the script.

von P V

30. Dez. 2016

This is an introductory course which met my expectations, giving overview with a little hands-on experience. Though instructional skills were not to the mark, supporting material and assignment instructions were good.

von Abhinav S

29. Juni 2017

It is a good course for someone looking to learn the basics. Some of the things might not get instantly clear but I am hoping that as we move forward through other courses in the series, the concepts will be clearer.

von Sahitesh R

14. Apr. 2018

Introsuction to the Big data was too boring. Please reduce the theoretical content to make it interesting. Week 3 material for Hadoop is awesome. Loved playing around with distributed file system for the first time

von Yugal A

25. Aug. 2017

Everything was good. Only CloudEra setup could have been explained better. Since I had used another Tutorial, I could see the missing links and proceed. Not sure if other people are running into simliar situations.

von Unab M E E

12. Juli 2020

The course is very useful and running the wordcount was funny for me but the deadlines was not appropriate at the description of the course they say that it will take 6 weeks but when I join i found it only 3 weeks

von Igor S

30. Dez. 2017

Course is really good and mostly met my expactations, but not ideal. I had to look some additional materials for making my understing better. That's not a problem usually, but can be a problem when time is limited

von Panya " F R

2. Dez. 2018

Very nice course. Well explained. Easy to understand even for those who have no IT knowledge/experience at all. Looking forward to finishing all the courses and starting implementing Big Data in my career.

von Anis R

30. Nov. 2017

Loved the course, it gave a over all understanding of Big Data and has perspective of what is of use especially in Data Science. I would recommend it if some one wants to start about Big data from base 0.

von Shivani K

30. Jan. 2021

The course is informative, and has good instructor, but at some point it was a little less interesting than my expectation. Other than that this course is a great platform to start learning about Data.

von Lola B

7. Okt. 2017

Great course! It provides an excellent starting point for big data, it gets you thinking about problems in a "big data way". I would recommend it to anyone who want to know what and how big data works.

von Dans S

8. Juli 2020

The course does it job, but the lectures look outdated and lack interesting examples. A lot of classifications and definitions are presented, but it is hard to figure out how useful they really are.

von Samuel

27. Apr. 2019

Great Content with very precise approach to teaching . One could easily;y relate these complex terms to everyday lives and see clear use cases for big data . Good course to begin a big data journey!

von Vinod J

27. Okt. 2020

Hadoop commands were from the old version whereas there are new versions command also there however the content of the course was very much interactive and interesting and made the learning easy.

von Pankaj A

11. Feb. 2018

The software which is to be installed in order to do the assignment of this course must be provided in cloud or other alternatives will be provided so that each person with 4 GB Ram can install.

von Feliks V S

17. Okt. 2020

Sometime the video duration takes to long but overall is good. I like how every explanation accompanied by easy-to-understand analysis and examples of technology that are currently widely used.

von Eduardo A

31. Aug. 2020

The course was perfect until the Hadoop part. Especially because I couldn't install it in my computer following all instructions and I have no idea even how to fix it. It's also a bit outdated.

von GHASTI P S (

20. Aug. 2020

The course was very interesting and the instructors are also good and make you feel engaged and wanting to know more. The quizzes and most importantly the real life examples helped very much.

von Giuseppe A T

27. Dez. 2020

This was my first experience with COURSERA and I really enjoyed it. I would have given five stars but I think the last part of the course, about the use of Hadoop, was a bit too approximate.