Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Big Data

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to Big Data von University of California San Diego

4.6
Sterne
10,013 Bewertungen
2,358 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Interested in increasing your knowledge of the Big Data landscape? This course is for those new to data science and interested in understanding why the Big Data Era has come to be. It is for those who want to become conversant with the terminology and the core concepts behind big data problems, applications, and systems. It is for those who want to start thinking about how Big Data might be useful in their business or career. It provides an introduction to one of the most common frameworks, Hadoop, that has made big data analysis easier and more accessible -- increasing the potential for data to transform our world! At the end of this course, you will be able to: * Describe the Big Data landscape including examples of real world big data problems including the three key sources of Big Data: people, organizations, and sensors. * Explain the V’s of Big Data (volume, velocity, variety, veracity, valence, and value) and why each impacts data collection, monitoring, storage, analysis and reporting. * Get value out of Big Data by using a 5-step process to structure your analysis. * Identify what are and what are not big data problems and be able to recast big data problems as data science questions. * Provide an explanation of the architectural components and programming models used for scalable big data analysis. * Summarize the features and value of core Hadoop stack components including the YARN resource and job management system, the HDFS file system and the MapReduce programming model. * Install and run a program using Hadoop! This course is for those new to data science. No prior programming experience is needed, although the ability to install applications and utilize a virtual machine is necessary to complete the hands-on assignments. Hardware Requirements: (A) Quad Core Processor (VT-x or AMD-V support recommended), 64-bit; (B) 8 GB RAM; (C) 20 GB disk free. How to find your hardware information: (Windows): Open System by clicking the Start button, right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties; (Mac): Open Overview by clicking on the Apple menu and clicking “About This Mac.” Most computers with 8 GB RAM purchased in the last 3 years will meet the minimum requirements.You will need a high speed internet connection because you will be downloading files up to 4 Gb in size. Software Requirements: This course relies on several open-source software tools, including Apache Hadoop. All required software can be downloaded and installed free of charge. Software requirements include: Windows 7+, Mac OS X 10.10+, Ubuntu 14.04+ or CentOS 6+ VirtualBox 5+....

Top-Bewertungen

HM
8. Sep. 2019

I love the course. It goes deep into the foundations, and then finishes up with an actual lab where you learn by practice. I greatly benefited from it and feel I have achieved a milestone in big data.

DK
11. Aug. 2021

I love the course. It goes deep into the foundations, and then finishes up with an actual lab where you learn by practice. I greatly benefited from it and feel I have achieved a milestone in big data.

Filtern nach:

1726 - 1750 von 2,304 Bewertungen für Introduction to Big Data

von Yujue S

8. Apr. 2020

Course was a bit easy on average, and feel a bit isloated from instructor - can tell some information are outdated. And hope to have more hand-on practises to take away more from the course.

von Felix R

19. Aug. 2016

The course is very well made, with very clear concepts and therefore very useful to start in the world of Big Data. Recommended for anyone who wants to have a basic knowledge about Big Data.

von Vincent R

23. Jan. 2018

Very informative and interesting introductory course. The short video format allows the students to learn at pace. The course convinced me to keep going with the specialization. Well done!

von Devanshu B

27. Apr. 2020

One of the best courses for Big Data. Detailed Explanation of every aspect of Big data. And Explanation was really phenomenal. I recommend this course to those who want to start Big Data.

von Tushar T

10. Juni 2017

The course is good for starters and needs a little more Hands on exercises needed. The cloudera VMware was painful to execute due to its slow response even with 8 Gb ram and I5 processor

von Joren Z

26. Juni 2017

A good bird's eye overview of Big Data. The level is not high, as in the assignments are not hard or difficult. This is to be expected in an introductory overview course, of course!

von Harshitha I

4. Mai 2020

The course was overall very good , they taught us well and the way of teaching was also very good . However they could solved our doubts in the discussion forums in the right time

von Niels B

17. Feb. 2018

The content of this course is very good. Also the hands on exercise at the end is very interesting. Although the formulation of the questions could sometimes be a bit more clear.

von Andreu T M

27. März 2018

Great introduction to big data, do not underestimate it, it starts easy but soon it gets more complicated. Really good to bring down to earth the highly spoken term of Big Data.

von Belen S

24. Mai 2018

The only negative part is that the course it´s bit long and the last Quiz it´s really complex to a non IT person as me. The conceps and the knowledge I get has been very great

von Zhe X

12. Jan. 2017

Too many concepts, better to provide more interactive questions during the video and more examples to demonstrate the concept.

If possible, make the assignment submission free.

von Tze M H

2. Aug. 2017

The course is good giving a lot of information for background. However, I personally would suggest the context would be better understood if its structure is more organised.

von sandeep d

7. Juni 2019

The course majorly teaches you the importance of big data in first 2 weeks. 3rd week, it gives you good brief of big data tools and technology. Good course for foundations.

von Syed S A

10. Aug. 2020

It was a comprehensive course that adequately covered introduction to big data. I think only in week 3, there should be a bit more details and practices on Map and Reduce

von Cheng-shuo Y

21. Dez. 2017

The map-reduce is really intriguing. However, I think this class is kind of more suitable for those who are really new to this field. Anyway, a lot of things are learned.

von STEFANOS C

2. Jan. 2020

Very interesting course and well explained course . It is very good as a foundation course. Minimum hardware needs should be mentioned at the very begging of the course!

von Gajendra B D

28. Okt. 2016

It was a Good course to start with the Big Data. The content is also good and properly arranged. Good Instructors. I will suggest this course as a starter for Big Data.

von Manish S

14. Mai 2020

It is a good course for people who have no prior knowledge of Big Data. The course doesn't get into much details of Hadoop but does provides an overview of MapReduce.

von Andrea P

20. Jan. 2019

A bit too simple, but it's understandable given the name of the course. Good broad and general introduction to the world of Big Data.

Useful initial steps into Hadoop

von Lim J H G

22. Mai 2020

A good place to start for those who are interested in learning about Big Data, the technicality of week 3 can be a little challenging but very useful nonetheless!

von Estanislao H A

30. Nov. 2020

Thank you very much, iss still hard to work with thins opensources platforms cause many of the configs can mess up the practices, but, everything else is great.

von Venkataraghavan

5. Jan. 2018

I found the course to be informative. I found the questions in the assignments to be challenging sometimes. These questions require one to by heart the answers,

von Mehedi H S

4. Mai 2020

I think it is too much basic course that can help much a beginner in that sector for the beginning. Both teachers have nicely explained their topics.

Thank you

von Василий П

20. Apr. 2020

Basically, first two weeks were like memory training exercise.

A lot of general concepts unsupported by practical examples.

Only third week is interesting.

von Anshu V

13. Juli 2020

It was excellent and good content to have knowledge on BIG Data overview and after every chapter their is exercise quiz test which is good to get confidence.