Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Big Data

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to Big Data von University of California San Diego

4.6
Sterne
10,013 Bewertungen
2,358 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Interested in increasing your knowledge of the Big Data landscape? This course is for those new to data science and interested in understanding why the Big Data Era has come to be. It is for those who want to become conversant with the terminology and the core concepts behind big data problems, applications, and systems. It is for those who want to start thinking about how Big Data might be useful in their business or career. It provides an introduction to one of the most common frameworks, Hadoop, that has made big data analysis easier and more accessible -- increasing the potential for data to transform our world! At the end of this course, you will be able to: * Describe the Big Data landscape including examples of real world big data problems including the three key sources of Big Data: people, organizations, and sensors. * Explain the V’s of Big Data (volume, velocity, variety, veracity, valence, and value) and why each impacts data collection, monitoring, storage, analysis and reporting. * Get value out of Big Data by using a 5-step process to structure your analysis. * Identify what are and what are not big data problems and be able to recast big data problems as data science questions. * Provide an explanation of the architectural components and programming models used for scalable big data analysis. * Summarize the features and value of core Hadoop stack components including the YARN resource and job management system, the HDFS file system and the MapReduce programming model. * Install and run a program using Hadoop! This course is for those new to data science. No prior programming experience is needed, although the ability to install applications and utilize a virtual machine is necessary to complete the hands-on assignments. Hardware Requirements: (A) Quad Core Processor (VT-x or AMD-V support recommended), 64-bit; (B) 8 GB RAM; (C) 20 GB disk free. How to find your hardware information: (Windows): Open System by clicking the Start button, right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties; (Mac): Open Overview by clicking on the Apple menu and clicking “About This Mac.” Most computers with 8 GB RAM purchased in the last 3 years will meet the minimum requirements.You will need a high speed internet connection because you will be downloading files up to 4 Gb in size. Software Requirements: This course relies on several open-source software tools, including Apache Hadoop. All required software can be downloaded and installed free of charge. Software requirements include: Windows 7+, Mac OS X 10.10+, Ubuntu 14.04+ or CentOS 6+ VirtualBox 5+....

Top-Bewertungen

HM
8. Sep. 2019

I love the course. It goes deep into the foundations, and then finishes up with an actual lab where you learn by practice. I greatly benefited from it and feel I have achieved a milestone in big data.

DK
11. Aug. 2021

I love the course. It goes deep into the foundations, and then finishes up with an actual lab where you learn by practice. I greatly benefited from it and feel I have achieved a milestone in big data.

Filtern nach:

1751 - 1775 von 2,304 Bewertungen für Introduction to Big Data

von BEATRIZ M M

26. Apr. 2020

Debería tener información más actualizada, por ejemplo, el Hadoop presenta algunos problemas pues ha habido cambios en la aplicación y su forma de instalarla

von Leticia R d S M

5. März 2020

A parte mais interessante é a última, da semana 3 e é super curta. Poderia ter sido estendida em detrimento de algumas partes que se repetem muito do início.

von Pedro L

31. Juli 2017

I had some problems with the last part of this course (when we were getting started with Hadoop), and I didn´t see anything to help solving those problems.

von MAURICIO D F P

22. Nov. 2020

Faltó detallar en qué consistía una máquina virtual y ofrecer el comando para desactivar el safe mode, tuve que investigar para completar la última tarea.

von Sylvain T

30. Juli 2016

So much better than in the first version of the specialization! the peer reviewed project is a welcome addition to help understanding map reduce concepts

von Balaji

27. Mai 2018

The steps provided are good. Practical way of teaching. The course navigation links are sometime confusing. it does not start from where you had paused.

von Darren

15. Nov. 2017

This is is a very fundamental course. It tells me a big picture of what is Hadoop and how it is applied. But only the course of last week is new to me.

von Christoph H

27. Okt. 2017

Good course, I know it's only the intro, but I would have liked some more hands-on exercises. Most of the course consists of watching videos.

Thank you!

von Tamoghna M

30. Juni 2017

It was a very informative experience on basics of big data management. However, it would be better to have more challenging questions and assignments.

von Shaurya M

17. Juli 2020

It was a great experience. This helped me with basics in Big data and also the mentors were great with their knowledge in the this field.

Thank you :)

von Peter B

24. Mai 2018

Good Introduction and overview, especially if you are very new. If you already new a little bit you can do fast orward the course and fill your gaps.

von Suresh V

20. Apr. 2017

Very nice introduction to Big Data. This is were you decide whether to take the blue pill or the red pill (sorry that's from the 1999 movie Matrix )

von chiuyuwen

1. Dez. 2016

In this course, I learned how to use Hadoop basically. With the clear explanation of the Professor, I believe every one can realize in a short time.

von Harrison T

23. Nov. 2018

i would like to see more intermittent testing and application of my knowledge. it felt like it had a high ratio of lecture to hands-on/testing/etc

von Tamas M

28. Aug. 2016

The beginning is a bit theoretical, only the end brings some practical examples up. Slides are a bit old fashioned and presenters are a bit rigid

von Alexander P

30. Okt. 2020

Great content, very broad and provides a good overview of BigData. They alloy you to taste the subject and try a "Hands on" approach at the end.

von Inés T R

12. Juli 2021

The course is quite appropiate to introduce you in to the field of Big data. Some lessons become more difficult if you don`t know informatics.

von Yukta S

20. Aug. 2020

It’s a good and helpful course which will take you through all the basics.Apart from theoretical topics,practical application is also taught.

von Amrit P P

25. Juli 2020

great course to understand the concept of bigdata and famalarize yourself to hadoop and cloudera. only issue i faced the VM used is outdated

von Sanskriti O

24. Juli 2020

This is a wonderful introductory course for Big Data . If people are confused whether to go for it or not , this course will be very helpful.

von Akshay P

19. Mai 2020

This is probably the best Introduction to Hadoop. Minus 1 star only because I wish I could receive the sessions on mail for future reference.

von Phuc T

4. Juni 2021

It gave me knowledge, but the voice and the presentation of the teacher sometimes too fast and unreachable. The presentation seems outdated.

von Ramesh P

19. Juni 2017

Increase the depth on hands on exercises. There were very basic and did not explore even all the examples which hadoop provides by default!

von Yogesh P

28. Feb. 2018

Very good course . It was a bit slow in the beginning but went to a good pace covering a whole lot of basics as the course moved forward.

von Ali R

18. Juni 2016

There is room to improve, but much better than previous version. Thanks for your good work as a good resource on learning about big data