Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Big Data

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Introduction to Big Data von University of California San Diego

4.6
Sterne
10,245 Bewertungen
2,394 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Interested in increasing your knowledge of the Big Data landscape? This course is for those new to data science and interested in understanding why the Big Data Era has come to be. It is for those who want to become conversant with the terminology and the core concepts behind big data problems, applications, and systems. It is for those who want to start thinking about how Big Data might be useful in their business or career. It provides an introduction to one of the most common frameworks, Hadoop, that has made big data analysis easier and more accessible -- increasing the potential for data to transform our world! At the end of this course, you will be able to: * Describe the Big Data landscape including examples of real world big data problems including the three key sources of Big Data: people, organizations, and sensors. * Explain the V’s of Big Data (volume, velocity, variety, veracity, valence, and value) and why each impacts data collection, monitoring, storage, analysis and reporting. * Get value out of Big Data by using a 5-step process to structure your analysis. * Identify what are and what are not big data problems and be able to recast big data problems as data science questions. * Provide an explanation of the architectural components and programming models used for scalable big data analysis. * Summarize the features and value of core Hadoop stack components including the YARN resource and job management system, the HDFS file system and the MapReduce programming model. * Install and run a program using Hadoop! This course is for those new to data science. No prior programming experience is needed, although the ability to install applications and utilize a virtual machine is necessary to complete the hands-on assignments. Hardware Requirements: (A) Quad Core Processor (VT-x or AMD-V support recommended), 64-bit; (B) 8 GB RAM; (C) 20 GB disk free. How to find your hardware information: (Windows): Open System by clicking the Start button, right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties; (Mac): Open Overview by clicking on the Apple menu and clicking “About This Mac.” Most computers with 8 GB RAM purchased in the last 3 years will meet the minimum requirements.You will need a high speed internet connection because you will be downloading files up to 4 Gb in size. Software Requirements: This course relies on several open-source software tools, including Apache Hadoop. All required software can be downloaded and installed free of charge. Software requirements include: Windows 7+, Mac OS X 10.10+, Ubuntu 14.04+ or CentOS 6+ VirtualBox 5+....

Top-Bewertungen

DK
11. Aug. 2021

I love the course. It goes deep into the foundations, and then finishes up with an actual lab where you learn by practice. I greatly benefited from it and feel I have achieved a milestone in big data.

HM
8. Sep. 2019

I love the course. It goes deep into the foundations, and then finishes up with an actual lab where you learn by practice. I greatly benefited from it and feel I have achieved a milestone in big data.

Filtern nach:

226 - 250 von 2,340 Bewertungen für Introduction to Big Data

von Tyrone C

20. Apr. 2021

Very good intro Big Data course. The Hadoop/MapReduce activities and command line examples were useful to feeling more comfortable in exploring Hadoop in the future.

von David L

1. Feb. 2021

Me ha gustado mucho el curso. Quiero tomarme esta semana para repasarlo mejor y en breve empezar el de "Especialización" de la Universidad de Computo de San Diego :)

von Jimmy R

28. Juli 2020

Nice! Understood how is big data used and implemented in daily lives, businesses, and various other sectors as well. Also, we got to learn how to use hadoop as well.

von Sekhar T

30. Mai 2019

Great beginner course for Big Data. Should not be skipped or neglected this course at all. It help me to understand why big data technology need and it's the future.

von Juan G C

2. Nov. 2017

I really enjoyed the course and I hope to start using this knowledge and put in practice what I've learned as soon as possible.

Probably I'll do the next course also.

von Eliana H

10. Feb. 2017

Interesting, very complete and really good explained, very participative, I'm really happy to had the opportunity to learn with this course and amazing professionals

von Sadhavi T

5. Juni 2020

For a beginners it's really simple and good course as everything was easy to understand and implement . Gained a lot of knowledge which will be surly be helpful .

von karra k k

17. Nov. 2018

It is a fantastic platform to upgrade our skills and the way of teaching is every nice to hear and understandable really impressive.Thanks for this beautiful course

von Nikhil P

8. Aug. 2017

Excellent course covering all the aspects of Big Data to get started and gives hands on practice of basic hadoop commands A must for all who want to learn Big Data.

von GANESH K T

28. Sep. 2020

Dear Professor's

Very good course, I have learned lot of methods in big data from Coursera, Thank you so much Professor Amarnath Gupta and Professor Ilkay Altintas.

von Abhay V

8. Sep. 2020

This is a quick and fast course to introduce one to Hadoop technology, but one is fimilar with basic concepts they should trying to find a more challenging course.

von R. R

21. Mai 2020

The content was very useful and informative. A learner new to the topic can easily comprehend and get interested. Presented very well with good real time examples.

von Martina D

3. Juli 2018

Interesting, understandable, easy to follow and interactive. I liked the Map-Reduce assignment and HandsOn the most. I wish there are more HandsOn and Assignments.

von Ali A

17. Feb. 2018

The course gives in-depth details of introduction to big data, techniques and helps you getting started with informative lectures, interactive quiz and many other.

von Naum S

3. Juli 2017

Excellent intro course in Big Data world. However I do disagree with time estimation of 5hr to 6 hours per week. I spent double that, although it might be just me.

von Alice V

11. Apr. 2017

Very helpful overview of all major topics around big data. Engaging, never boring. A couple of good framework to structure the various information around the topic

von Álvaro D

6. Juli 2020

Very nice introductory course to some of the concepts reltaed to Big Data. The course was very clear, the instructors were good at explaining each of the lessons.

von Sebastian W

15. Aug. 2016

I feel that the course helped me a lot in understanding what Big Data actually means and gave me an idea of how it's being handled. Well structured and explained.

von Rashad H N

20. Dez. 2020

I have no background in computers. I am an accountant. This course helps you start learning from the basics. Wonderful course. Thank you so much for creating it

von Rahul G

14. Juli 2017

This course provides an excellent opportunity for those seeking to learn about Big Data. The content is really good and helpful to understand the basic concepts.

von KIVANÇ Ö

22. Sep. 2020

Skilled academicians, high quality contents, easy to understand. Thank you very much. İlkay Hanım harikasınız, çalışmalarınızda bol şans ve başarılar diliyorum.

von Sarah A

22. Aug. 2020

I can say that I am more than overwhelmed by this course. Although it is a lot of information, it certainly was well thought out to help you start in Big Data.

von Alan P T

15. Juli 2020

The course really helps to understand the foundations. Nevertheless, it is desirable to have more activities. Also, certain things need to be better explained.

von HARMANDEEP S H S

19. Juni 2020

very basic course but very important as it helps to understand the flavor of Bigdata, Mapreduce and it introduces to cloudera and some real hands on sessions.

von Deepak G

18. Aug. 2016

excellent course, very easy to understand,

Hats off to Madam Ilkay Altintas and Sir Amarnath Gupta for explaining the big data concepts in such a simple way .