Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Big Data

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to Big Data von University of California San Diego

4.6
Sterne
8,633 Bewertungen
2,051 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Interested in increasing your knowledge of the Big Data landscape? This course is for those new to data science and interested in understanding why the Big Data Era has come to be. It is for those who want to become conversant with the terminology and the core concepts behind big data problems, applications, and systems. It is for those who want to start thinking about how Big Data might be useful in their business or career. It provides an introduction to one of the most common frameworks, Hadoop, that has made big data analysis easier and more accessible -- increasing the potential for data to transform our world! At the end of this course, you will be able to: * Describe the Big Data landscape including examples of real world big data problems including the three key sources of Big Data: people, organizations, and sensors. * Explain the V’s of Big Data (volume, velocity, variety, veracity, valence, and value) and why each impacts data collection, monitoring, storage, analysis and reporting. * Get value out of Big Data by using a 5-step process to structure your analysis. * Identify what are and what are not big data problems and be able to recast big data problems as data science questions. * Provide an explanation of the architectural components and programming models used for scalable big data analysis. * Summarize the features and value of core Hadoop stack components including the YARN resource and job management system, the HDFS file system and the MapReduce programming model. * Install and run a program using Hadoop! This course is for those new to data science. No prior programming experience is needed, although the ability to install applications and utilize a virtual machine is necessary to complete the hands-on assignments. Hardware Requirements: (A) Quad Core Processor (VT-x or AMD-V support recommended), 64-bit; (B) 8 GB RAM; (C) 20 GB disk free. How to find your hardware information: (Windows): Open System by clicking the Start button, right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties; (Mac): Open Overview by clicking on the Apple menu and clicking “About This Mac.” Most computers with 8 GB RAM purchased in the last 3 years will meet the minimum requirements.You will need a high speed internet connection because you will be downloading files up to 4 Gb in size. Software Requirements: This course relies on several open-source software tools, including Apache Hadoop. All required software can be downloaded and installed free of charge. Software requirements include: Windows 7+, Mac OS X 10.10+, Ubuntu 14.04+ or CentOS 6+ VirtualBox 5+....

Top-Bewertungen

HM

Sep 09, 2019

I love the course. It goes deep into the foundations, and then finishes up with an actual lab where you learn by practice. I greatly benefited from it and feel I have achieved a milestone in big data.

PB

May 25, 2018

A step by step approach stating from basic big data concept extending to Hadoop framework and hands on mapping and simple MapReduce application development effort.\n\nVery smooth learning experience.

Filtern nach:

1851 - 1875 von 1,986 Bewertungen für Introduction to Big Data

von Rohit

Mar 22, 2020

Very Basic course. Don't expect in depth expectations. Inadequate hands on exercises in the course. You will get 10,000 ft view of Big Data after completing this course. Don't expect much from this course.

von David W S

Sep 14, 2016

An introductory course that seems like it should have been the first week of a more in-depth course instead of being a stand-alone course. The cost vs benefit of this particular course is questionable.

von Fernando R

May 12, 2020

The content is good, but the VM is bad, slow, and old version of everything. I have downloaded a Docker Container to continue with the program. They should update the VM or provide a Docker link.

von Murray S

Jan 11, 2017

I'm not sure who the target audience is for this course. The level of presentation seems rudimentary to me. I had a hard time sustaining interest in the course and did not finish.

von Tianchun H

Sep 10, 2020

The lectures in the first two weeks are not practical at all. The only practical content in this course is the MapReduce and Hadoop part, which can be finished in one or two days.

von Dmitry S

Dec 18, 2016

The time / usefulness rate of this course is very low. Most of the stuff they teach (at least in introduction) is very basic theory that's presented in not really interesting way.

von Matej F

Nov 14, 2016

The course is a lot about talking and theory which is not very interesting. Final part of course is trying to work with hadoop using virtualbox and provided virtual image.

von Txerra P

Nov 30, 2017

De momento he aprendido conceptos nuevos e interesantes, pero todavía no entiendo las herramientas utilizadas. Hadoop me parece muy confuso y dificil de utilizar

von IMAD E M

Feb 14, 2017

An amazing course to get a brief understading about Big Data, the course needs an improvement in the slides, and additional resources for better understading.

von Robert L

Aug 15, 2016

Very informative but the structure is a lecture where the concepts are basically read from a paragraph. Perhaps I'd give more stars if I only saw diagrams.

von Yanpei L

Mar 11, 2017

Was expecting more hands on stuffs, the class is too conceptual. The sound volume of the videos is not consistent, hope Coursera can improve a bit on this.

von Marta L M

Oct 30, 2017

Interesting concepts and basics about Big Data. However, it could include more practical exercises or quiz to continuously learn and evaluate the student.

von Federico A G C

Sep 25, 2016

A little bit too conceptual and very basic. Hadoop hands on and HDFS should be much more intensive. However, good material, well presented and explained.

von Akash C

Nov 20, 2018

The Content of the Course is Very Good.But the examples are very Outdated. And the English Slang they Spoke is Difficult for an Indian to Understand.

von Rao, R X

Oct 17, 2018

It was a good Course.. we should have some kind of a helpline or a chat bot which will help in the installation process of virtual box or Hadoop etc.

von Kashif H

Nov 17, 2018

Too much theoretical descriptions video lectures . very less programming approach and videos. It should contains more programming practices videos.

von dan s

May 04, 2018

I thought the material was really relevant and timely, however, it would have been nice to have some more assignments to help internalize it.

von Stefano

Jul 25, 2017

Very basic stuff. It's nice to have a very easy, very general introduction to the thematic, maybe it's not worth so many lessons though.

von Kim U

Jan 17, 2018

We get a superficial introduction to tools used in the big data field, but all in all, the course feels a bit like a catalogue.

von Maria S

May 30, 2020

It was very good until the last part of the course, when you have to install de VM and run hadoop. I found it very unclear.

von Lucas P

Nov 20, 2016

There should be some reading material to assist learning. The course was too expensive for the small content it provided

von Tushar S

Sep 15, 2016

I'd recommend this course be taken as audit. Doesn't add specific value to your skill set! But, it's good to know :-)

von Sukanta C

Aug 07, 2020

Very long lectures. Can be short with more examples. Felt too many jargons in the very beginning of the course

von Stefano F

Jul 21, 2020

I was hoping for something more in depth but if you don't have any basic knowledge this course is right for you

von Damien G

Jun 01, 2018

A lot of theory, at a quite slow rate. I hope we will go deeper in the following courses of the specialization.