Chevron Left
Zurück zu Big Data Modeling and Management Systems

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Big Data Modeling and Management Systems von University of California San Diego

4.4
Sterne
2,803 Bewertungen
469 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Once you’ve identified a big data issue to analyze, how do you collect, store and organize your data using Big Data solutions? In this course, you will experience various data genres and management tools appropriate for each. You will be able to describe the reasons behind the evolving plethora of new big data platforms from the perspective of big data management systems and analytical tools. Through guided hands-on tutorials, you will become familiar with techniques using real-time and semi-structured data examples. Systems and tools discussed include: AsterixDB, HP Vertica, Impala, Neo4j, Redis, SparkSQL. This course provides techniques to extract value from existing untapped data sources and discovering new data sources. At the end of this course, you will be able to: * Recognize different data elements in your own work and in everyday life problems * Explain why your team needs to design a Big Data Infrastructure Plan and Information System Design * Identify the frequent data operations required for various types of data * Select a data model to suit the characteristics of your data * Apply techniques to handle streaming data * Differentiate between a traditional Database Management System and a Big Data Management System * Appreciate why there are so many data management systems * Design a big data information system for an online game company This course is for those new to data science. Completion of Intro to Big Data is recommended. No prior programming experience is needed, although the ability to install applications and utilize a virtual machine is necessary to complete the hands-on assignments. Refer to the specialization technical requirements for complete hardware and software specifications. Hardware Requirements: (A) Quad Core Processor (VT-x or AMD-V support recommended), 64-bit; (B) 8 GB RAM; (C) 20 GB disk free. How to find your hardware information: (Windows): Open System by clicking the Start button, right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties; (Mac): Open Overview by clicking on the Apple menu and clicking “About This Mac.” Most computers with 8 GB RAM purchased in the last 3 years will meet the minimum requirements.You will need a high speed internet connection because you will be downloading files up to 4 Gb in size. Software Requirements: This course relies on several open-source software tools, including Apache Hadoop. All required software can be downloaded and installed free of charge (except for data charges from your internet provider). Software requirements include: Windows 7+, Mac OS X 10.10+, Ubuntu 14.04+ or CentOS 6+ VirtualBox 5+....

Top-Bewertungen

MP
16. Okt. 2017

Good Explanations of Concepts and Nice Tests. I got a trilling experience in completing the peer Assignments with keen observation and Analyzing of Concepts learned.Thanq for your course very much.

VG
27. März 2017

Nice course to describe the traditional data modeling (RDBMS) as well as various semi-structured and un-structured data modeling and management of the systems (Batch and Streaming data processing)

Filtern nach:

251 - 275 von 458 Bewertungen für Big Data Modeling and Management Systems

von Srinivas B

26. Sep. 2016

Excellent

von Enrique G R

30. Juni 2016

Very Good

von PALAK G

14. Juli 2020

Amazing!

von Suraj P

18. Juni 2020

good one

von RAJAT S

3. Mai 2020

nice one

von Pedro D

24. Sep. 2016

Muy bien

von Ерилин Н

9. Juni 2017

Perfect

von Sonali S

27. Mai 2019

Great!

von Anıl K

24. Apr. 2020

Great

von Mayank c

10. Apr. 2019

G

r

e

a

t

von Lisbeth R S

5. Mai 2017

great

von boulealam c

3. Dez. 2020

good

von Veerabasappa

17. Sep. 2020

Good

von RAGHUVEER S D

25. Juli 2020

good

von Anvitha K Q

15. Juni 2020

Nice

von VISHNU N P

1. Juni 2020

good

von Saurabh K

26. Mai 2019

good

von Fhareza A

9. Sep. 2020

wow

von Drew G

4. Aug. 2020

The information provided is solid, but this entire specialization has issues with the peer-graded assignments. The assignments themselves are good, open-ended questions designed to test your grasp of the concept being taught. The problem is the grading rubrics and the peer-review aspect. Where the questions are open-ended, the rubric often is not, demanding that only one of the possible answers be reached, or that a conclusion be reached in their specified manner. This leads to submitting the assignment, review other assignments to see what the rubric actually wants you to do, then resubmitting your assignment after you've reverse engineered the "right way" to do it to pass peer-review.

But there's only one or two of those per course, and are a relatively minor annoyance compared the good information being communicated.

von Aleksandar R

2. Juli 2017

Not as good as the first course in the big data specialization. The big data modeling part of the course was excellent in my opinion because it contained both theory and practice. However, the management systems were not covered adequately, with only one week in the course allocated to cover those topics. I remember how a few management systems are called and what they're good for, but I wouldn't feel confident to perform any practical tasks with big data management systems after finishing this course.

Still, I'd say it's worth taking the course if you want an overview of the most common big data models and management systems.

von Wayne S

6. Apr. 2019

This material in this course seems to be based on a belief that the student has significantly more knowledge than assumed for the first course in the Big Data series. Because of this unfounded assumption, without regard to explanation, I have marked it down to four stars vice the five for the first course.

I think by providing the student with an adequate background, or additional resources, this course could easily be ranked as a five-star course.

In short, for no apparent reason, it quickly becomes more difficult than the first course; and instead, I wish it had been more of a natural transition from the first course.

von Bhanu H

17. Okt. 2019

Course material is very good. Instructors are great and talk clearly and explain well.

My only difficulty is with peer reviewed assignments. There is no answer key. So how one grades depends on what he/she thinks is the right answer. I understand there is no easy solution to this problem for online courses. It is not a show stopper though since you can submit multiple times. But why not just grade using Assistant or by instructor themselves.

von Johannes V

10. Dez. 2017

All in all the course was very good as the first one. However it is not clear for me what I can do, if I feel myself unfairly graded by my peers at the Peer-Reviews. Furthermore it would be helpful, if the peers had to justify their grading by giving helpful comments to their grades. It is pretty discouraging doing the extra effort, when grading and receiving no constructive feedback at all. Therefore you should be able to challenge grading.

von Nikhil C

26. Juli 2020

Overall a good course to get the basics of what the difference is between managing Big Data system, versus your more traditional systems. I really like both instructors.

I took one star off because one of the twitter API assignments that we were supposed to do in the VM didn't work. Plus there's no one to support you in case an issue like this occurs.

von Don M

10. Okt. 2016

This course is a valuable introduction to Big Data Models and Management Systems for a variety of data types. The hands on exercises and company use case examples provide helpful context and application of the concepts. This knowledge also provides the learner with more confidence in navigating big data conversations in a professional environment.