Chevron Left
Zurück zu The Bilingual Brain

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für The Bilingual Brain von University of Houston

4.7
Sterne
505 Bewertungen
121 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course explores the brain bases of bilingualism by discussing literature relevant to differences in age of initial learning, proficiency, and control in the nonverbal, single language and dual-language literature. Participants will learn about the latest research related to how humans learn one or two languages and other cognitive skills....

Top-Bewertungen

JS

19. Jan. 2021

Amazing and I have learned a lot. I am a Bilingual myself and it really sheds light on how the brain works in terms of learning and being proficient in two languages or more for others.

ZR

17. Jan. 2018

This course helped me in understanding various aspects of how brain and mind works and how we can use these knowledge for studying different languages and also when we multitasks

Filtern nach:

76 - 100 von 123 Bewertungen für The Bilingual Brain

von Valdéres R d S

23. Juli 2020

This course is amazing!

von Rudakova A

2. Apr. 2018

The course is perfect!

von Carlos E M d L

28. März 2020

Really insightful.

von RAIJA K

23. Juli 2020

Excellent course

von SAIBAL C

15. Jan. 2021

Great experience

von Paola G G C

31. Aug. 2021

M​uy bueno

von Mia s

26. Juli 2021

Very good!

von Jacqueline D F C

28. Okt. 2018

Excelente!

von MAYRA L V S

25. Feb. 2022

EXCELLENT

von Marina C

17. Dez. 2020

excellent

von nursul1@rambler.ru

7. Nov. 2019

Спасибо

von ROLA M A

24. Sep. 2020

OIOIYH

von Luiz F S C

22. Feb. 2022

​Exce

von GLORIYA V

30. Juli 2020

Good

von Sue Y C

24. Aug. 2021

I have learned tons on bilingualism, language acquisition and feel I had a good introduction to the field of neurolinguistics. I thank Professor Hernandez and everyone involved in organizing this course for the extensive introduction on the academic literature in this field. I feel I have the tools to further my studies based on the material/ingredients provided. What I would suggest for improvement, however, is to also provide accurate spelling for the names of all the researchers introduced. The English transcript was far from accurate. It was possible to check the correct names from quizzes and exams, and I went back to revise the names on my class notes. But for some of the studies without the correct names of researchers it was difficult to look up additional resources. Also, someone else mentioned this earlier but I would also ask for a brief overview of brain regions. I could look up "intro to anatomy" material for med students, but the perspective and density of information is different from the focus of this course, so it was quite challenging to grasp all the regions and their functions mentioned in this course. Over time I got the hang of (a bit) the more frequently mentioned areas, but still, it was challenging to take in when the information is only presented verbally, and all over the place.

That said, I had a great learning experience. Thank you.

von Veronika J

12. Sep. 2020

An interesting and insightful course. Prof. Hernandez uses up-to-date information and clearly explains how the bilingual brain works. Growing up monolingual and becoming multilingual as an adult, this course fulfilled my curiosity in all those brain and language phenomena I've always searched an answer for. I loved the office hours, and how well the professor elaborates on aspects that play a crucial role in bilingualism and multilingualism. Although, I expected additional literature sources or diverse weekly tasks. The final quiz , for instance, summarizes the same week 1-8 questions and looks easy to pass.

However, I would totally recommend this course to linguists, translators and interpreters, language teachers, or simply anybody interested in this subject matter.

von Amit K

5. Jan. 2019

Excellent information and well-presented. I think some of the early lesson videos were not timed very well (either too long or too short). An ideal video length for one lesson for me is 8-10 minutes. I liked the flow of the course, the planning of the lessons and the examples used. The subtitles were not always well-transcribed. The transcribers did not bother to check up non-English words, the real spellings of researcher names, and in one case actually got this professor's name wrong. End of unit quizzes being exact repeats of lesson quizzes made things a bit too easy to pass.

von Inés K

29. März 2021

The course was interesting, though there were a lot of facts that I knew already from other reading and training. The way it was presented was a little sterile, with the lecturer standing in front of the camera without ever moving, with that totally neutral background of dark curtain. The course could easily have been pure listening, no need to watch. A more animated, lively, and ´real´ presentation of the facts would have been great.

von Luna L

16. Dez. 2016

The content of this course is really interesting and intriguing, but it would better if there are additional sources and information. Also, instead of mainly picture the teacher in the video, it would be nice if there could be more graphics and diagrams to illustrate the idea that the professor is trying to convey. Besides those minor deficiencies, I would say that this is a really good course and will worth your time.

von MAXIM B

18. Okt. 2020

Fantastic course! It was incredible to be able to explore different types of bilingualism (e.g. early vs. late bilinguals) and compare the data obtained in different experiments with the changes registered in the brain. Furthermore, I'm extremely grateful to Maya and Prof. Hernandez for holding Office Hours every week. What a brilliant idea!

von Yoko L

30. Apr. 2020

As a Japanese English bilingual, I found this course very interesting as it gave me some insight into how I might've acquired the two languages and explain some of the phenomenons I experience day to day when switching between languages. It also gave me some fruit for thought on how I might expose the two languages to kids down the future.

von Lisa G

3. Juli 2017

I would have liked deeper explanations of the charts and diagrams that were used so it's easier for those of us not familiar with the studies or brain images to understand.

Overall I really enjoyed the class! I'm getting my MA in Linguistics and Language Acquisition in the fall, and this was a great warm-up into that.

von Mariana C

30. Mai 2020

Some really nice concepts and ideas shared, but sometimes questions at the end of the videos (and final assessment) were REALLY nonsense - related to little details which were not that relevant to the general knowledge we should gain after the course.

Other than that, it was really nice taking this course.

von Isabel F

12. Jan. 2018

I enjoyed the course and learned quite a bit, yet I agree with all the improvements suggested by others here in the review section. Just videos and the same quizzes over and over is a bit monotonous. But still, I would recommend the course for anybody interested in the subject matter.

von Edith Y

7. Juli 2021

l​ittle bit hard to understand, takes quite a long time to understand the concepts. but the examples given are quite interesting and I love the structure of how the course is taught (from everyday life examples, to monoligual context and to bilingual context)