Chevron Left
Zurück zu Bioconductor for Genomic Data Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Bioconductor for Genomic Data Science by Johns Hopkins University

4.0
174 Bewertungen
36 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Learn to use tools from the Bioconductor project to perform analysis of genomic data. This is the fifth course in the Genomic Big Data Specialization from Johns Hopkins University....

Top-Bewertungen

MA

Mar 12, 2016

Excellent introduction to Bioconductor. Thanks to the team. However, absence of inputs from TA or Instructor was felt in the discussion.

AB

Apr 12, 2018

Amazing course, motivated me to use bio conductor for descriptive seq studies of DNA.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 of 36 Reviews for Bioconductor for Genomic Data Science

von Michael R D

Mar 25, 2017

Lots of good data. Really a walk through of coding without too much theory. Would prefer a little more theory. Would have helped in completing the course and capstone. Ended up having to take Eric Lander Intro to Bio course on edx to really understand what I had done. In particular, a better explanation of what is going on at a basic with methylation marks and how the Epigenome Map was constructed.

von Enrique E S C

Jun 13, 2019

So practical! I learned a lot about specific and useful cases. It is true that I have to learn a lot yet but with this background, I will get used to any code soon.

von Kanvar K

Apr 03, 2019

Extremely complicated, not for beginners!

von Amy G

Mar 30, 2019

The content is relevant and presented well, though slightly out of date. It would be very helpful to update this course. Note that the discussion forums haven't been tended for years so they are not at all helpful and some code is deprecated without warning.

von Ramesh G

Mar 09, 2019

Great Introductory course for sequence analyses using Bioconductor. However, the quizzes badly require more explanation. An update to the course to introduce currently more relevant packages and analysis methods would add more value.

von Arpan K B

Apr 12, 2018

Amazing course, motivated me to use bio conductor for descriptive seq studies of DNA.

von Mohammad Z A

Mar 12, 2016

Excellent introduction to Bioconductor. Thanks to the team. However, absence of inputs from TA or Instructor was felt in the discussion.

von Xing Y

Nov 07, 2018

Lots of knowledge but not systematic. Hard to follow for R beginners and there should have been quiz in lectures (like the "Algorithm for DNA sequencing" course). A lot of knowledge used in the homework was not mentioned/addressed in the lectures.

von Oliver S

Aug 26, 2018

The lessons are fairly easy to follow - although the transcript needs re-writing so that the correct words are identified to the speech. I spent a lot of time trying to decipher one or two key words.

The quizzes seemed to test on concepts not yet taught.. perhaps familiar to other Bioinformaticians.. so they were quite tough and required a lot of time to finish.

von Sael M A

Aug 07, 2018

Need to be simplified. Personally, I understood the lectures notes better than lectures videos.

von Qiyao Z

May 21, 2018

It's very helpful in learning genomic data science. I think it's a little difficult in the beginning. The instructor have some accent, which made me even harder to get into it.

von Graziano P

May 13, 2018

Lectures are poorly understandable and the code examples are not explained in their meaning. Also some questions of the final quizes are difficult to understand. All the lectures and the quizes should have be constructed on a simpler use case

von Valdir B J

May 11, 2018

Confusing, not straight forward, transcription is all wrong.

von Thodoris S

May 02, 2018

Good course, although some previous experience with R is required and that was not clearly stated beforehand. Moreover it would be better to have a more introductory course to R.

von Elizabeth D

Apr 18, 2018

So far findng the course nice as it covers the basics. I am new to programing and bioinformatics so I am finding it ok. However, would like more of an explanation iwith regards to both the biology and bioinformatics.

von Essi K

Apr 16, 2018

A great introduction to Bioconductor! The course is very hands-on, so be ready to use R extensively.

von Kasper T K

Jan 22, 2018

Great subject, yet a very difficult field to teach, and unfortunately, this course doesn't do it well enough.

The course is sloppy compared to all the other great courses on the Genomic Data Science Specialization.

Since Use of R and Bioconductor can be tricky, it would be nice if better examples were much more elaborated.

The Quizzes have a lot of questions, which are too difficult to answers, generally because the revolve around using 10% of the introduced material to do 90% unexplained analysis. You would need a lot prior knowledge to Bioconductor packages, to be able to answer and even sometimes understand many of the given questions.

Quite a shame!

von Ming L

Dec 05, 2017

good

von Shivani S D N K S

Aug 02, 2017

I'm going to take this again! hard one.

von María E P R

Jul 30, 2017

A very basic course you need to learn by yourself a lot

von Alex Z

Jul 14, 2017

pretty good

von Jacob A

Apr 18, 2017

very difficult course if you are new to R. Otherwise an okay course

von Benson N M

Dec 21, 2016

The quizzes were engaging but i think it requires some knowledge in use R for data science. Though i learned a lot. Thanks again.

von 王灿

Dec 16, 2016

It is a good start for people who study epigenomics!

von MAURICIO D A M

Dec 13, 2016

The course is hard and needs previous knowledge of R. The time for for doing the "quizes" are not long. On the other hand, the questions resemble real world bioinformatics problems. The real inconvenience with this course is that the Forum does not work. Because not all that is questioned in the "quizes" are thought in the classes. So a help from the Forum is a real need for this course to work smoothly.