Chevron Left
Zurück zu Bioinformatic Methods I

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Bioinformatic Methods I von University of Toronto

4.7
803 Bewertungen
175 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Large-scale biology projects such as the sequencing of the human genome and gene expression surveys using RNA-seq, microarrays and other technologies have created a wealth of data for biologists. However, the challenge facing scientists is analyzing and even accessing these data to extract useful information pertaining to the system being studied. This course focuses on employing existing bioinformatic resources – mainly web-based programs and databases – to access the wealth of data to answer questions relevant to the average biologist, and is highly hands-on. Topics covered include multiple sequence alignments, phylogenetics, gene expression data analysis, and protein interaction networks, in two separate parts. The first part, Bioinformatic Methods I (this one), deals with databases, Blast, multiple sequence alignments, phylogenetics, selection analysis and metagenomics. The second part, Bioinformatic Methods II, covers motif searching, protein-protein interactions, structural bioinformatics, gene expression data analysis, and cis-element predictions. This pair of courses is useful to any student considering graduate school in the biological sciences, as well as students considering molecular medicine. Both provide an overview of the many different bioinformatic tools that are out there. These courses are based on one taught at the University of Toronto to upper-level undergraduates who have some understanding of basic molecular biology. If you're not familiar with this, something like https://learn.saylor.org/course/bio101 might be helpful. No programming is required for this course. Bioinformatic Methods I is regularly updated, and was last updated for January 2019....

Top-Bewertungen

ED

Apr 27, 2017

Great course. All lectures provide a biological context for the tools you learn in the labs. The labs themselves provide a great introduction to the many tools available for bioinformatic analysis.

FJ

Feb 06, 2017

The videos were very clear on how to use various bioinformatic tools. I found no difficulty in understanding them. Really enjoyed the course. Looking forward to the next part of this course!

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 168 Bewertungen für Bioinformatic Methods I

von Pranav S G

Jan 22, 2019

This course is so accurate and useful to the bioinformatic students and the science students who needs help with the computational biology. I would recommend this course to everyone.

von Ravindra K

Jan 08, 2019

A lot of hard work is needed to prepare such kind of courses and lot of reading is required.

Thank you for providing such courses to us thank you

von MUHAMMAD U A

Mar 15, 2019

very informative course for basic study of NCBI and phylogenetic studies

von Anupam b

Mar 22, 2019

yeah its good for all students, i think everyone must do that .

von José B D

Mar 24, 2019

Thank you very much!!

von Mohamed A E S S

Apr 04, 2019

It is a very great course that help me to learn more about that field of science and i hope to continue with more advanced levels

von 陈禹衡

Feb 19, 2019

这些软件在学习和研究中都很可能会用到,很实用

von Md. S H

Dec 13, 2018

Just wow! The speciality is the discussion forums

von Luis A S M

May 06, 2017

It's excellent

von Yarenci A G

Jul 27, 2018

Excelente curso, muy recomendable

von Bart S

Sep 07, 2016

repeat the class

von Bettina L

Sep 17, 2015

Excellent course! The course is enjoyable and thorough, and at the same time, it does not require any deeper molecular biology knowledge or extra computational skills.

von Ji-Young K

Oct 03, 2016

Awesome course. The lectures are good and the lab portion is great. The lab really helps understanding how to use online tools and resources.

von Jarel E M T

Oct 26, 2016

Awesome!

von sandeep K

Jun 30, 2018

Best course to learn basics of bioinformatics.

von Jaime E B D C

May 14, 2017

Excelente curso, muy recomendado.

von Ramya G

Nov 05, 2017

I enjoyed doing the course. It is exciting to see how much one can learn from a few gene or protein sequences. Thank you for making the course understandable to a beginner in bioinformatics!

von Prakash V C

Nov 24, 2015

This is an absolutely fantastic course!

von Roman S

Jan 08, 2017

It was a relevant course teaching basic bioinformatics. the course was well-structured and not hard-to follow

von Muhammad Z M

Jun 29, 2018

thanku so much for this course really the mentor nicholas is a great teacher and i have enjoy the course.

von Ofir S

Sep 29, 2015

One of the better courses I've taken, the combination of the hands-on labs and the review videos helps to understand some of the more complicated concepts.

von Carlos A C d S

Jan 06, 2016

The best course ever ! Easy, well teached and breathtaking.

This course helped me a lot in my university in my undergraduation. You can get a good knowledge about bioinformatics enough to work with it, and these teachings is necessary to improve skills to get better in this area.

von Laureana F

Feb 08, 2018

Good course. I learn a lot! thanks

von Benson N M

Sep 05, 2016

This course is great! The materials provided are topnotch. In addition, the instructor was very active in the discussion forums during the period i enrolled; He was very helpful. As well as students who had enrolled at that period of time. (July to September 2016)

I think anyone with some background in molecular biology can handle this course. Plus, do most of the labs in Firefox or any other browser namely Opera, Safari as an example. Google chrome doesn't support the Java apps you'll use in this course.

von Suhas G

Nov 06, 2016

A very well structured course with graded difficulty and accurate instructions. Throughly enjoyed being a part of it.