Chevron Left
Zurück zu Bioinformatic Methods I

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Bioinformatic Methods I von University of Toronto

4.7
Sterne
1,631 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Large-scale biology projects such as the sequencing of the human genome and gene expression surveys using RNA-seq, microarrays and other technologies have created a wealth of data for biologists. However, the challenge facing scientists is analyzing and even accessing these data to extract useful information pertaining to the system being studied. This course focuses on employing existing bioinformatic resources – mainly web-based programs and databases – to access the wealth of data to answer questions relevant to the average biologist, and is highly hands-on. Topics covered include multiple sequence alignments, phylogenetics, gene expression data analysis, and protein interaction networks, in two separate parts. The first part, Bioinformatic Methods I (this one), deals with databases, Blast, multiple sequence alignments, phylogenetics, selection analysis and metagenomics. The second part, Bioinformatic Methods II, covers motif searching, protein-protein interactions, structural bioinformatics, gene expression data analysis, and cis-element predictions. This pair of courses is useful to any student considering graduate school in the biological sciences, as well as students considering molecular medicine. Both provide an overview of the many different bioinformatic tools that are out there. These courses are based on one taught at the University of Toronto to upper-level undergraduates who have some understanding of basic molecular biology. If you're not familiar with this, something like https://learn.saylor.org/course/bio101 might be helpful. No programming is required for this course. Bioinformatic Methods I is regularly updated, and was completely updated for January 2023....

Top-Bewertungen

SA

11. Juli 2020

This course is very well organized, easy to understand, and explained everything steps by step which will help to grasp the concept easily. If you are a beginner like me, you should take this course.

BA

2. Nov. 2021

Bioinformatics 1 was very interesting and enlightening for me. I learnt practical skills which I can now apply in to ace an impactful career. Thank you so much Coursera for this amazing opportunity!

Filtern nach:

301 - 325 von 363 Bewertungen für Bioinformatic Methods I

von Reem A

6. Okt. 2015

I like it

von Pedro

23. Sep. 2020

MUY BIEN

von Jarel E M T

26. Okt. 2016

Awesome!

von Luis P R

12. Jan. 2018

Great!!

von PRAKASH R

27. Nov. 2020

super

von Shayan s

7. Mai 2019

great

von MAHAMADOU A N

15. Juli 2017

Nice!

von Bollavaram P R

21. Nov. 2020

good

von KADIM S S M

16. Mai 2020

good

von Khaled A M D B

13. Jan. 2020

THAN

von Yugansh B

9. Juni 2021

i

von Sardar H

4. März 2023

I learned a lot from this course and it was really informative. But I felt like something was missing throughout the course and lost interest, especially in the second and third weeks. The data files provided for analysis should have been told where to get them and how to retrieve and arrange sequences because that is the most basic task. Moreover, I really liked the way of teaching of the instructor. It was very polite and easily understandable.

von Peter N

8. Mai 2020

The very last assignment wouldn't work for me, for the final question. Total bummer. I was doing everything according to instructions and even checking but it wouldn't work. Don't feel like explaining but the conversion to mega just was faulty, and the instructor's instructions to fix the problem didn't help either.

Also, one of the questions in the final assignment was nowhere in the reading.

But overall a nice intro and not too difficult.

von Aniruddha V

1. Nov. 2016

A short and sweet, to-the-point course. This course helped me in getting a hang of some of the most widely used softwares and techniques required for bioinformatics. Only issue-some of the questions in certain quizzes have been assigned wrong choices as the answer, which led to a lot of confusion. They just wouldnt accept the right answer, so you are forced to mark the wrong ones and proceed.

von Sourav P

11. Juli 2017

It Was A Very Interesting Course For My First Introduction To Bioinformatics. It Changed My Views That Biological Discoveries Only Involves Working In A Laboratory With Chemicals And Biological Samples.

It Felt Really Interesting That Even In Biology We Can Use Computer Software's To Generate Results Which Are Of Immense Importance To Scientists & Researchers.

von Daniel O

24. Juli 2017

A nice introduction to bioinformatic methods. I learned some useful skills from this course that I'll be able to implement in my future research. I would recommend that people who take the course do some reading outside of the course material as sometimes the lectures skim over things with an expectation that you know it all.

von Johan H L G

8. März 2023

It is extremely complex if you do not previously have a notion of some concepts in Bioinformatics. The best thing one can do is read and reread to understand the content of the course. But it helped me to understand certain Bioinformatics topics that are not studied in depth at the University. Thanks :D

von Teresa S A

10. Juli 2019

Sometimes the information It's not that clear, they show basic information and then is hard to underestand everything to set it toghether. Any way, so usefull and interesting and a good way to get close to this tecniques that are becaming son important nowdays.

von Carlos M H

5. Feb. 2019

It was easy to follow, although some answers to the tests were wrong due to updates in the databases were are suposed to use. I wish it was a litlle more challenging (optional), but it porvided me with the basic knowledge to start my own learning.

von Patrick O

29. Nov. 2017

Great course for learning about current analysis methods and wonderful way to discover the amount of information you can extract from a DNA or protein sequence. Good explaining and summarizing of important bioinformatic content for begginers

von Maria C C

9. Juli 2017

I enjoy this course, it will be very helpfull for my academic project and give new ideas of studies. I have some difficulties to follow the steps in the few labs exercises, but it does not comprimise the whole course.

von Prashanta

24. Juli 2020

There should be a lab review after each lab.If the 'Selection Pressure' segment was a bit more simple, it would be easier to understand. Discussion on other databases like TAIR,,FlyBase etc should be included.

von Nour S

3. Okt. 2015

A thorough course for beginners with very interesting labs! I was pleasantly surprised with how much and how easily I learned bioinformatics skills with this course. Well done!

von DANG T

1. Mai 2020

This is a great course, It helps me know more knowledge.

But it is very difficult to understand. To need the method to help students easily.

Thanks will run so much ..

von Anne-Karina P

13. Okt. 2015

There was a lot of stuff I could immediately use for my work. some of the other stuff was good to know to better understand what can be done behind the scene.