Chevron Left
Zurück zu Bioinformatic Methods I

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Bioinformatic Methods I von University of Toronto

4.7
Sterne
1,104 Bewertungen
263 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Large-scale biology projects such as the sequencing of the human genome and gene expression surveys using RNA-seq, microarrays and other technologies have created a wealth of data for biologists. However, the challenge facing scientists is analyzing and even accessing these data to extract useful information pertaining to the system being studied. This course focuses on employing existing bioinformatic resources – mainly web-based programs and databases – to access the wealth of data to answer questions relevant to the average biologist, and is highly hands-on. Topics covered include multiple sequence alignments, phylogenetics, gene expression data analysis, and protein interaction networks, in two separate parts. The first part, Bioinformatic Methods I (this one), deals with databases, Blast, multiple sequence alignments, phylogenetics, selection analysis and metagenomics. The second part, Bioinformatic Methods II, covers motif searching, protein-protein interactions, structural bioinformatics, gene expression data analysis, and cis-element predictions. This pair of courses is useful to any student considering graduate school in the biological sciences, as well as students considering molecular medicine. Both provide an overview of the many different bioinformatic tools that are out there. These courses are based on one taught at the University of Toronto to upper-level undergraduates who have some understanding of basic molecular biology. If you're not familiar with this, something like https://learn.saylor.org/course/bio101 might be helpful. No programming is required for this course. Bioinformatic Methods I is regularly updated, and was completely updated for January 2020....

Top-Bewertungen

SA

Jul 12, 2020

This course is very well organized, easy to understand, and explained everything steps by step which will help to grasp the concept easily. If you are a beginner like me, you should take this course.

ED

Apr 27, 2017

Great course. All lectures provide a biological context for the tools you learn in the labs. The labs themselves provide a great introduction to the many tools available for bioinformatic analysis.

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 257 Bewertungen für Bioinformatic Methods I

von Arturo M

Sep 28, 2017

A very well explained course by Dr. Provart that show us the most important tools for data acquisition and data banks in biochemistry and molecular biology that help us to find correlations among proteins as well as nucleic acids.

von Ali P

May 22, 2020

I would like to thank all the authors of this valuable course. Really, it was highly informative course covering the basics of Bioinformatics which we all need as researchers in bio-sciences in handling with NGS Analysis.

von Temidayo A

Apr 19, 2020

This is a fantastic course for anyone who wants to know how to do bioinformatic analysis using available software and databases. Importantly, Dr. Provart is always there to answer your questions. It is worth every minute!

von Aditya A D

Jun 11, 2020

The Lab sessions have by far been the best in any course I've done!

A bit more detailed explanation on working with other features of MEGA and subsequent use in primer designing for multiple isoforms would be appreciated.

von Varun C

Jan 10, 2020

The online lectures were very informative and I learned and came to know several new tools and their applications. The efforts made by Prof Nicholas to make the lectures simple and informative is very much appreciable.

von Bruno A T P

Dec 13, 2015

Very good and complete course. Even having some basic background with bioinformatics, this course was still valuable in order to further cement previously learned concepts, as well as learn some new concepts and tools.

von MUJEEB O S

Jan 04, 2020

This is arguably the best online course I have taken so far. There's flexibility in the course modules completion which enabled me to incorporate the Bioinformatics Method I course into my busy schedule.

von Erick D

Apr 27, 2017

Great course. All lectures provide a biological context for the tools you learn in the labs. The labs themselves provide a great introduction to the many tools available for bioinformatic analysis.

von Ramya G

Nov 05, 2017

I enjoyed doing the course. It is exciting to see how much one can learn from a few gene or protein sequences. Thank you for making the course understandable to a beginner in bioinformatics!

von Fiza A J

Feb 06, 2017

The videos were very clear on how to use various bioinformatic tools. I found no difficulty in understanding them. Really enjoyed the course. Looking forward to the next part of this course!

von Claire W

Jul 11, 2017

Useful and informative. This is the best bioinformatics course I have taken so far as it focusses on the practical applications instead of the theory which is much more relevant! Thank you!

von Padma S

Jul 09, 2017

A fully recommended course for those who wish to understand the basics and strengthen their skills in Bioinformatics. A well-designed and precise course. Thank you Dr. Nicholas Provart. :-)

von kim t c

Sep 11, 2017

The course is very useful and practical, especially the lab and the lab discussion. The materials are very clear explained. I would like to thank the instructor for such an useful course!

von Will R

Jan 19, 2020

Great tour through the main areas of bioinformatics. I learned to use a lot of powerful tools for bioinformatic analyses as well as important topics like phylogenetics and metagenomics.

von Pranav S G

Jan 22, 2019

This course is so accurate and useful to the bioinformatic students and the science students who needs help with the computational biology. I would recommend this course to everyone.

von Ali

Jan 17, 2020

I think this course is the best introductory course in Bioinformatics. I liked the structure of the course and the instructor is performing very well. thank you for this experience

von Miguel Á P P

Nov 30, 2018

Considero este curso de enorme utilidad para aprender de forma eficaz diversos aspectos de la bioinformática. Muy didáctico y bien organizado, por lo que lo recomiendo totalmente.

von Artur H B

Apr 23, 2017

I learned many concepts in molecular biology and also how to use some tools to run genetic data. I'm so thankful for the opportunity to have been engaged in this amazing course.

von Deleted A

Feb 01, 2020

Procedures are very well explained. Would be helpful to have some pipeline diagrams on the best way (software and breif methods) to solve a problem (e.g. for the assignment)

von Ahmed A

May 15, 2020

Highly recommended for anyone who wants to get into research in Biology. This course gives walkthroughs of complex analysis by the use of important bioinformatics tools.

von Bettina L

Sep 17, 2015

Excellent course! The course is enjoyable and thorough, and at the same time, it does not require any deeper molecular biology knowledge or extra computational skills.

von Yuvashankar

May 20, 2020

A wonderful course highlighting the basic working of essential bioinformatics tools in biological research. Luck to have taken part in this and highly Recommended!!!!

von Jordan M

Aug 28, 2015

Great course. The lectures were very clear and informative. The labs were a very nice, easy way to get a hands on understanding of the tools being learned. Thank you!

von Arslan T

Aug 16, 2018

Well, the course is well organized, but I think somethings should be included e.g. algorithms of phylogenetic tree methods (UPGMA, Neighborjoing etc).

Thanks a lot.

von Eliot A

Dec 15, 2019

I found this challenging but very interesting and thought-provoking. A lot has happened since I did my undergraduate degree. This has inspired me to learn far more.