Chevron Left
Zurück zu Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners von University of California San Diego

4.4
Sterne
1,018 Bewertungen
292 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Are you interested in learning how to program (in Python) within a scientific setting? This course will cover algorithms for solving various biological problems along with a handful of programming challenges helping you implement these algorithms in Python. It offers a gently-paced introduction to our Bioinformatics Specialization (https://www.coursera.org/specializations/bioinformatics), preparing learners to take the first course in the Specialization, "Finding Hidden Messages in DNA" (https://www.coursera.org/learn/dna-analysis). Each of the four weeks in the course will consist of two required components. First, an interactive textbook provides Python programming challenges that arise from real biological problems. If you haven't programmed in Python before, not to worry! We provide "Just-in-Time" exercises from the Codecademy Python track (https://www.codecademy.com/learn/python). And each page in our interactive textbook has its own discussion forum, where you can interact with other learners. Second, each week will culminate in a summary quiz. Lecture videos are also provided that accompany the material, but these videos are optional....

Top-Bewertungen

DL

Apr 18, 2016

I give this course 5 star because I did Bioinformatics I and I totally enjoy it.\n\nThis is where programming can be fun, and practical, and you'll learn some basic biology too.\n\nWhat's not to love?

HL

Aug 16, 2017

I learned a lot from this difficult and time-consuming course! It covers biological concepts using Python. It made learning Python more interesting for me, since I have always loved biology.

Filtern nach:

251 - 275 von 288 Bewertungen für Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners

von Joseph B

Oct 23, 2019

This is billed as a course for beginners, but it leans heavily on one's prior skill in programming. If you're not familiar with Python syntax or you are a coding neophyte, a lot of the concepts will likely go over your head. The biology is fairly cursory and easy to pick up along the way, or simply ignore if you don't have a strong background in molecular biology/genetics.

von Renée H

Jun 15, 2020

If you have no experience with programming, I definitely recommend completing the Learn Python course on Codecademy first. I think Biologists will find the concepts introduced later in this course difficult to grasp, and I still don't fully understand them. Nonetheless this course is a good introduction into programming for bioinformatics.

von Nethraa K

Jun 14, 2017

It's a great course for people who know Python or have some sort of a background in coding. However, for starters, it is not only tedious to learn both Python as well as this but is quite challenging and time consuming as well. Please mention Python as a prerequisite for this course-- it would definitely get 5 stars then.

von Laura B

Jul 07, 2020

I'd give it a 2.5, but I managed to learn something in the end, even though it was through the other students rather than through the course lecture itself. The professors should really consider renaming the course to be a more accurate representation of the content. We learned more about DNA that coding in this course.

von Xiaoyu L

Mar 31, 2018

The content is interesting, but the staff does not provide helpful feedbacks, and I really do not like the fact they assume the test case is always right, where it might not be. Quite frustrate when struggling on one question when the code is absolutely right.

von Prashant M

Jul 23, 2017

Further reference material needs to be added in my opinion. There can be participants from only Computer Science background and there can be students from only biology background. Hence i think reference materials could aid a participant's understanding a lot.

von Grzegorz A K

Nov 04, 2016

Pros: a lot of programming in automated online environment.

Cons: inconsistencies in code like changing parameter order in often used functions, changing structure of some variables (arrays become dicts). This can be unneccesarily misleading.

von Clive T

Mar 26, 2020

Disappointing lack of feedback from any course organiser (most recent response seemed to be about two years old). The biological content tailed off to become much more of course in programming for search algorithms

von Akinyi O

May 19, 2020

Some background knowledge on coding is definitely needed for this course, despite the info saying none is needed. The progress expected is way too fast for an actual beginner with no coding experience.

von Saadman K

May 26, 2020

This is not for beginners. You need to know more about python to complete it easily and the time limits of Stepik is not correct. It needs far more time than mentioned.

von Ajith M

Jul 20, 2020

This course is definitely not for beginners. I was on the verge of giving up throughout the course. But once you get ahold of the concepts, it is very interesting.

von James O

Sep 16, 2019

The course tries hard to balance programming and biology but the programming can become quite a challenge for people with little to no experience in programming.

von Pablo R M

Mar 13, 2020

Not truly for beginners. If you don't have previous knowledge of Python and algorithms expect to invest a lot more than 4 hours a week

von Chahat B

Jul 26, 2020

Very difficult for no coding background people. It would be really helpful if you could describe the error in better ways

von Osimhiarherhuo A O

Apr 28, 2020

This course although well taught does not take into account those that know nothing about programming

von Linyi Z

Jun 21, 2017

the instructions in the stepik notes were unclear. i would say the optional lecture video was better

von Isiaka B A

Jun 19, 2020

This course is not for beginners. It is for those with background computer knowledge

von Rubén d S I

Feb 20, 2017

Very interesting but i don't like switching e-learning platforms

von Laura D C L

May 04, 2020

Useful but terribly difficult, it is not for beginners

von Aravind S

Jul 31, 2020

I am not able to find the unenroll option

von Dr. A A M

May 20, 2020

The coding is too tough for beginners

von Akshita J

Jul 16, 2020

its quite tough for beginners

von Zsuzsanna Z

Apr 30, 2019

You have to be very dedicated and have high frustration tolerance if you are actually a beginner in programming. This course expects you to complete the Codecademy Python Course in advance (which will take you several weeks) but it still won´t be enough to really keep up with the bioinformatics concepts that are introduced. Also, the explanations in the course itself are very, very rudimental, although the optional videos do a better job here.

All in all, I am glad I had the possibility for learning something new and I fought myself through the course but please don´t believe that it´s suitable for beginners.

von Rohit P

Jun 04, 2020

Not one i would recommend to a beginner. I feel not so well by this course haha. It was tough, very tough for a biologist [ Primatologist/Zoologist ] like me but ofcourse i fought through & finished it. However, if any beginner wants to start this, i would recommend they learn Python atleast to the advanced level before approaching this course. That would make this fine. Also, the hours denoted to all weeks are not correct. Some weeks have 4 hours mentioned as the required time but those were the weeks that required me to put in 16+ hours. Cheers for the efforts to the team though.

Thanks!

von Daniel P

Feb 15, 2020

As a biologist without any programming skills, I found this course REALLY difficult. That was totally unexpected as the description of the course states that no programming skills are necessary. I thought really hard to learn the Python by resolving Codeacademy exercises while trying to implement the language to solve the book problems. In other words, I felt that the platforms used in this course were very disconnected. In my opinion, it would be easier to learn python by directly learning how to solve simple biological questions instead of complicate ones presented in the book.