Chevron Left
Zurück zu Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners von University of California San Diego

4.4
Sterne
1,009 Bewertungen
287 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Are you interested in learning how to program (in Python) within a scientific setting? This course will cover algorithms for solving various biological problems along with a handful of programming challenges helping you implement these algorithms in Python. It offers a gently-paced introduction to our Bioinformatics Specialization (https://www.coursera.org/specializations/bioinformatics), preparing learners to take the first course in the Specialization, "Finding Hidden Messages in DNA" (https://www.coursera.org/learn/dna-analysis). Each of the four weeks in the course will consist of two required components. First, an interactive textbook provides Python programming challenges that arise from real biological problems. If you haven't programmed in Python before, not to worry! We provide "Just-in-Time" exercises from the Codecademy Python track (https://www.codecademy.com/learn/python). And each page in our interactive textbook has its own discussion forum, where you can interact with other learners. Second, each week will culminate in a summary quiz. Lecture videos are also provided that accompany the material, but these videos are optional....

Top-Bewertungen

DL

Apr 18, 2016

I give this course 5 star because I did Bioinformatics I and I totally enjoy it.\n\nThis is where programming can be fun, and practical, and you'll learn some basic biology too.\n\nWhat's not to love?

HL

Aug 16, 2017

I learned a lot from this difficult and time-consuming course! It covers biological concepts using Python. It made learning Python more interesting for me, since I have always loved biology.

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 von 284 Bewertungen für Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners

von Jessie G

Jan 12, 2017

It's a great introductory course for Python and Bioinformatics. I found the platform for completing assignments, Stepiks, to be very slick and easy to use. Completing this course was so satisfying, informative and fun!

von Dunja P

Apr 27, 2017

Great course for biologists and non biologists. Materials well explained and interesting, stuff very helpful and eager. It opens a window to bioinformatics and is a good first step towards it. Very recommended!

von Manuel A

Jul 31, 2016

Very good course, and very similar to the first course of the Bioinformatics Specialization. However be warned, it takes a lot of time and effort to complete this course (definitely more than 10 hours a week).

von Do H L

Apr 18, 2016

I give this course 5 star because I did Bioinformatics I and I totally enjoy it.

This is where programming can be fun, and practical, and you'll learn some basic biology too.

What's not to love?

von Mariia Z

Apr 15, 2020

A very good course for those who has some (at least a little) experience in programmimg! I really loved it, it was challenging sometimes, especially in the end, but I did it and learned a lot.

von Helen L

Aug 16, 2017

I learned a lot from this difficult and time-consuming course! It covers biological concepts using Python. It made learning Python more interesting for me, since I have always loved biology.

von Irith K

Jul 15, 2020

I learned so much in this course and it was so cool to see the intersection between computer science and biology! Thank you so much to the instructors for making this course!

von Tianyu Y

Aug 08, 2018

As the title saids, this course is pretty good for beginners. I major in biology and have no programming experience. Now I have more confidence to challenge advanced courses.

von Isabella

Feb 11, 2018

Fantastic course. If you are a Python beginner it is a great way to practise solving problems with Python. While also learning about DNA, which was absolutely fascinating.

von Matt W

Jun 18, 2017

Great introductory material for a new person to Bioinformatics, Python, or a both. Definitely feel more "natural" in Python and well versed in Bioinformatics concepts.

von prem

Jun 17, 2020

I am gonna be honest .if you are a beginner level in python please make sure to practice some more or gain some more experience in python before beginning with this

von Damian D

May 01, 2020

It managed to keep me interested in learning programming to solve biological questions. As a biologist its the most I can ask from any such course. Thanks a lot.

von Wang Z

Jun 24, 2020

作为生物信息学的初学者,感觉这个课程非常好。特别是新颖的授课方式,让人能按照自己节奏学习。能掌握用python处理基因文本的一些编程技能,很有兴趣继续学习课程介绍的bioinformatics的专项课程和算法课程。对于没有编程基础的人,课程比较有挑战性,好几次都想放弃了,可是坚持下来那种柳暗花明的感觉非常爽。

von Maria A H L

May 06, 2020

Really good, but in Stepik it should be easier to know the mistakes you have made when you enter the code. But I learned very much thanks to this course.

von Kalaivani

Feb 11, 2020

I am a biotechnology student and this course helped me to approach a biology problem from programming angle. It is a very great course to begin with

von Ratthachat C

Oct 16, 2017

Great beginner bioinformatics course for computer scientists (note that I have no Python experience before, but it can be learnt from this course)!

von JUN D

May 31, 2017

Enjoyed learning this class although it is challenging. It will be better if it won't cost anything for get a certificate after finish the class.

von Monica J

May 21, 2017

excellent for beginners, very informative and encourages we learners to take specialization in Bioinformatics. thank you all the instructors !

von Ria S

May 01, 2020

Gives a perfect insight into Bioinformatics and is very interesting. Even if you do not know to program you will be able to understand it.

von Nicholas A

Jun 05, 2017

Excellent introduction to coding in Python, as well as a great refresher on some key biological concepts and their use in bioinformatics.

von Hieu D L

May 11, 2017

It's great to basically understand how to use programming language (Python) to handle biology issues. I learn a lot from this course.

von Emanuele C

Sep 06, 2016

Thanks for this nice course.

I would recommend to avoid exercises with very long calculations that cause time-limit problems.

Regards

von aarushi r

Oct 21, 2019

It really enhanced my programming skills and a good course for anyone who wants to start a fresh with programming and biosciences.

von David A L G

Sep 04, 2017

This course is perfect as a first approximation to codes and algorithms in Bioinformatics. It will fit very well for begginers!!

von Noa G

May 23, 2019

great introduction, not too hard, great explanations and videos allowing for repetition of content for a better understanding