Chevron Left
Zurück zu Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners von University of California San Diego

4.5
722 Bewertungen
194 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Are you interested in learning how to program (in Python) within a scientific setting? This course will cover algorithms for solving various biological problems along with a handful of programming challenges helping you implement these algorithms in Python. It offers a gently-paced introduction to our Bioinformatics Specialization (https://www.coursera.org/specializations/bioinformatics), preparing learners to take the first course in the Specialization, "Finding Hidden Messages in DNA" (https://www.coursera.org/learn/dna-analysis). Each of the four weeks in the course will consist of two required components. First, an interactive textbook provides Python programming challenges that arise from real biological problems. If you haven't programmed in Python before, not to worry! We provide "Just-in-Time" exercises from the Codecademy Python track (https://www.codecademy.com/learn/python). And each page in our interactive textbook has its own discussion forum, where you can interact with other learners. Second, each week will culminate in a summary quiz. Lecture videos are also provided that accompany the material, but these videos are optional....

Top-Bewertungen

DL

Apr 18, 2016

I give this course 5 star because I did Bioinformatics I and I totally enjoy it.\n\nThis is where programming can be fun, and practical, and you'll learn some basic biology too.\n\nWhat's not to love?

HL

Aug 16, 2017

I learned a lot from this difficult and time-consuming course! It covers biological concepts using Python. It made learning Python more interesting for me, since I have always loved biology.

Filtern nach:

151 - 175 von 189 Bewertungen für Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners

von Caroline C

Jun 13, 2019

I already have python background so it is good for me. Maybe not suitable for beginner who doesn't touch python before.

von Xue, L

Oct 23, 2019

lecture video will be better than words

von Nabisubi P

Oct 24, 2019

tasky

von Jixiang P

Sep 16, 2019

The course is too easy even as a beginning level course

von bpathakjee

Mar 26, 2017

Limited intro course compared to one offered few years ago but still Great start , Thank you

von David G

Jul 18, 2019

Very interesting course. Thanks for putting it together.

von Michael E L

Jul 04, 2017

Great intro course even if tedious for those who know next to nothing about coding

von Elias S

Aug 26, 2019

Had a lot of fun doing this =)

Despite the fact that the images in the stepik.parts havnt been loaded at some times and the quizes kept annoying, when my computed answer should´ve been wrong :/

von Jeffrey L P

Aug 30, 2016

Not a bad course, but it is a python programming class. There are some steeper steps at times if you are not used to python. Support can seem distant if you hit one of these steeper steps. It's best to have a coding attitude and not a "I want to read about biology and genetics" attitude to approach this class.

von Greg T

Oct 28, 2019

A stimulating and engaging survey of elementary bioinformatics algorithms (searching and pattern matching) with the added bonus of practice with Python.

von Rachel B

Oct 13, 2018

A heavy emphasis on Python using codeacademy's python course. I have been trying to learn python anyway so it complements what I was already doing. I like the integration of biology and tech used. Because I do not know python yet, this is a lot more time and work than other courses I have taken through coursera. I am working through the free version but might restart the paid course to earn the certificate when I am done with the other paid certificate I am working on.

von MacKenzie K

Aug 09, 2017

You definitely need to complete the codecademy lessons or at least have Python experience before the end of week one for this course. Otherwise, I really enjoyed the course.

von Mohamed A

Jan 04, 2017

Very good introductory course to new learners in bioinformatics or students who are just curious about this field.

von María J F P

Nov 14, 2018

This is definitely NOT a beginners course. Very interesting and useful, though.

von David K

Mar 01, 2017

This has been a very helpful course, showing me how to program in a fun way because every coding challenge is linked to a biological question. I think the pace of the course was good, without any prior experience in coding I've had a few moments where I was stuck. But thankfully with some patience and helpful replies from the teaching assistant of the course to my questions in the discussion, it was possible to get past those coding problems.

von Prashant M

Jul 23, 2017

Further reference material needs to be added in my opinion. There can be participants from only Computer Science background and there can be students from only biology background. Hence i think reference materials could aid a participant's understanding a lot.

von Roger T

May 01, 2016

This is not a beginner's course unless you already have previous programming experience. The Python lessons are just samples taken from a completely different curriculum on Codecademy and poorly integrated into the bio-centric course content. The lessons are disjointed, taken out of context, and some of the examples are using the wrong version of Python and missing parentheses. It would be a lot better if they took the time to actually craft custom Python lessons designed specifically for this course instead of using ill-fitting lessons from other classes.

von Xiaoyu L

Mar 31, 2018

The content is interesting, but the staff does not provide helpful feedbacks, and I really do not like the fact they assume the test case is always right, where it might not be. Quite frustrate when struggling on one question when the code is absolutely right.

von Nethraa K

Jun 14, 2017

It's a great course for people who know Python or have some sort of a background in coding. However, for starters, it is not only tedious to learn both Python as well as this but is quite challenging and time consuming as well. Please mention Python as a prerequisite for this course-- it would definitely get 5 stars then.

von Linyi Z

Jun 21, 2017

the instructions in the stepik notes were unclear. i would say the optional lecture video was better

von Rubén d S I

Feb 20, 2017

Very interesting but i don't like switching e-learning platforms

von Joseph B

Oct 23, 2019

This is billed as a course for beginners, but it leans heavily on one's prior skill in programming. If you're not familiar with Python syntax or you are a coding neophyte, a lot of the concepts will likely go over your head. The biology is fairly cursory and easy to pick up along the way, or simply ignore if you don't have a strong background in molecular biology/genetics.

von James O

Sep 16, 2019

The course tries hard to balance programming and biology but the programming can become quite a challenge for people with little to no experience in programming.

von Grzegorz A K

Nov 04, 2016

Pros: a lot of programming in automated online environment.

Cons: inconsistencies in code like changing parameter order in often used functions, changing structure of some variables (arrays become dicts). This can be unneccesarily misleading.

von Shyam P

Jun 16, 2018

The quizzes were extremely annoying, they weren't hard but for example with the final quiz: I would properly calculate the normalized probabilities but every possible version of me rounding it was incorrect. I proceeded to show a friend who has a PhD in mathematics and he was equally stressed by questions like this