Chevron Left
Zurück zu Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners by University of California San Diego

4.5
670 Bewertungen
177 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Are you interested in learning how to program (in Python) within a scientific setting? This course will cover algorithms for solving various biological problems along with a handful of programming challenges helping you implement these algorithms in Python. It offers a gently-paced introduction to our Bioinformatics Specialization (https://www.coursera.org/specializations/bioinformatics), preparing learners to take the first course in the Specialization, "Finding Hidden Messages in DNA" (https://www.coursera.org/learn/dna-analysis). Each of the four weeks in the course will consist of two required components. First, an interactive textbook provides Python programming challenges that arise from real biological problems. If you haven't programmed in Python before, not to worry! We provide "Just-in-Time" exercises from the Codecademy Python track (https://www.codecademy.com/learn/python). And each page in our interactive textbook has its own discussion forum, where you can interact with other learners. Second, each week will culminate in a summary quiz. Lecture videos are also provided that accompany the material, but these videos are optional....

Top-Bewertungen

DL

Apr 18, 2016

I give this course 5 star because I did Bioinformatics I and I totally enjoy it.\n\nThis is where programming can be fun, and practical, and you'll learn some basic biology too.\n\nWhat's not to love?

HL

Aug 16, 2017

I learned a lot from this difficult and time-consuming course! It covers biological concepts using Python. It made learning Python more interesting for me, since I have always loved biology.

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 of 173 Reviews for Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners

von Julian A S

Jun 13, 2018

Simple, quick, well-written

von JOSE C D S F

Apr 11, 2017

It's amazing course

von Md A I B

Aug 06, 2017

Great Course.Learn a lot from it

von Wenye Z

Jun 16, 2017

A really fun and addictive course with some fascinating biology thrown in. I come from a chemical biology background and I had never done programming before. It's challenging, but it's highly motivating when you do solve something. It makes you become familiar with Python in a way that just the Codecademy course by itself simply won't. Phillip and Pavel, thank you for making this course!

von Sofia R

Jul 14, 2017

Awesome! There's biology information and there's programming practice!

It's fantastic, thanks to the instructors!

von Pablo R M

Apr 10, 2017

Excellent course! Instructors are great and the exercises using Stepik are awesome

von Roberto R

Oct 20, 2016

cool

von Yasin K

Aug 16, 2017

Great experience for bioinformatics

von Sri M K

Nov 18, 2016

I had great fun learning each week of the course. For students interested in understanding DNA, I would sincerely recommend. Also was the best experience I had learning Bioinformatics and python simultaneously. I believe in learning contextually. Thanks

von JIHO P

May 19, 2017

Amazing! Perfect! Lovely!

von Jessie G

Jan 12, 2017

It's a great introductory course for Python and Bioinformatics. I found the platform for completing assignments, Stepiks, to be very slick and easy to use. Completing this course was so satisfying, informative and fun!

von 戚新明

Aug 31, 2016

The interactive design in the course makes me impressive

von Helen L

Aug 16, 2017

I learned a lot from this difficult and time-consuming course! It covers biological concepts using Python. It made learning Python more interesting for me, since I have always loved biology.

von Madhavi P

May 04, 2017

Excellent course!!!

von Gilbert G

Feb 24, 2017

Great course. I learned a lot. I came into it with only a little bit of background in Python coding. I worked through the recommended Code Academy modules and attempted the course work early and often. I feel like my understanding of algorithms, molecular biology, and Python coding have all improved in just 4 short weeks. I look forward to learning more Python, algorithms, and molecular biology from UC San Diego and others.

von Do H L

Apr 18, 2016

I give this course 5 star because I did Bioinformatics I and I totally enjoy it.

This is where programming can be fun, and practical, and you'll learn some basic biology too.

What's not to love?

von Brian B

Jun 21, 2017

Excellent intro to Bioinformatics - the course is not afraid of asking some seemingly tough questions and I took a lot away.

von Martin H

Jun 18, 2018

Great course. Its challenging but also very rewarding. Will try to keep up with the subsequent courses.

von Gustavo J

Dec 24, 2016

Very helpful and well designed, thank you !

von 李嘉鑫

Jul 02, 2017

Because of the course,UCSD is now my dream school!

von Daniel A G

May 14, 2017

In my opinion, this is a fabulous course and will recommend it for all beginners in bioinformatics. At the beginning of the course i was a complete rookie at python programming and was surprised to find myself able to code comfortably by the end of the course. The course was challenging at some points especially week 4, but i eventually made it. I find it worth all the time i put into this. Big thanks to the course instructors

von Ahmed A A M S

Aug 25, 2017

Very insightful in the Bioinformatics field, for those considering it as a career

von Sara M V

Feb 10, 2017

It was a really interesting course! Some exercises were challenging but it was very rewarding when you found the solution.

von Zhi N

Feb 08, 2017

True introduction to Bioinf.

It helps a lot.

von Hleb P

Jan 10, 2017

Good introduction to specialization