Chevron Left
Zurück zu Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners von University of California San Diego

4.5
694 Bewertungen
186 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Are you interested in learning how to program (in Python) within a scientific setting? This course will cover algorithms for solving various biological problems along with a handful of programming challenges helping you implement these algorithms in Python. It offers a gently-paced introduction to our Bioinformatics Specialization (https://www.coursera.org/specializations/bioinformatics), preparing learners to take the first course in the Specialization, "Finding Hidden Messages in DNA" (https://www.coursera.org/learn/dna-analysis). Each of the four weeks in the course will consist of two required components. First, an interactive textbook provides Python programming challenges that arise from real biological problems. If you haven't programmed in Python before, not to worry! We provide "Just-in-Time" exercises from the Codecademy Python track (https://www.codecademy.com/learn/python). And each page in our interactive textbook has its own discussion forum, where you can interact with other learners. Second, each week will culminate in a summary quiz. Lecture videos are also provided that accompany the material, but these videos are optional....

Top-Bewertungen

DL

Apr 18, 2016

I give this course 5 star because I did Bioinformatics I and I totally enjoy it.\n\nThis is where programming can be fun, and practical, and you'll learn some basic biology too.\n\nWhat's not to love?

HL

Aug 16, 2017

I learned a lot from this difficult and time-consuming course! It covers biological concepts using Python. It made learning Python more interesting for me, since I have always loved biology.

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 182 Bewertungen für Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners

von JIHO P

May 19, 2017

Amazing! Perfect! Lovely!

von 常真

Dec 07, 2016

thank you guys,the most difficult lesson I have got,but I love the feelings when I finally accomplish it.

von Hieu D L

May 11, 2017

It's great to basically understand how to use programming language (Python) to handle biology issues. I learn a lot from this course.

von pratik

Jan 22, 2017

Good course for someone beginning in bioinformatics with background on computer programming.

von George C

Apr 09, 2018

Amazing use of biological problems/question and python language!

von Madhavi P

May 04, 2017

Excellent course!!!

von Gilbert G

Feb 24, 2017

Great course. I learned a lot. I came into it with only a little bit of background in Python coding. I worked through the recommended Code Academy modules and attempted the course work early and often. I feel like my understanding of algorithms, molecular biology, and Python coding have all improved in just 4 short weeks. I look forward to learning more Python, algorithms, and molecular biology from UC San Diego and others.

von Do H L

Apr 18, 2016

I give this course 5 star because I did Bioinformatics I and I totally enjoy it.

This is where programming can be fun, and practical, and you'll learn some basic biology too.

What's not to love?

von Jessie G

Jan 12, 2017

It's a great introductory course for Python and Bioinformatics. I found the platform for completing assignments, Stepiks, to be very slick and easy to use. Completing this course was so satisfying, informative and fun!

von 戚新明

Aug 31, 2016

The interactive design in the course makes me impressive

von Helen L

Aug 16, 2017

I learned a lot from this difficult and time-consuming course! It covers biological concepts using Python. It made learning Python more interesting for me, since I have always loved biology.

von Monica J

May 21, 2017

excellent for beginners, very informative and encourages we learners to take specialization in Bioinformatics. thank you all the instructors !

von Feng-tsan C

Feb 25, 2017

Step by step method.

von Jordi M

Dec 25, 2016

Challenging and interesting. Only downside is the lack of help in the programming sections. I had been stuck on one of the last code challanges for more than a month without anyone of the staff answering my messages in the comments. Besides that, great course and content.

von Md A I B

Aug 06, 2017

Great Course.Learn a lot from it

von Wenye Z

Jun 16, 2017

A really fun and addictive course with some fascinating biology thrown in. I come from a chemical biology background and I had never done programming before. It's challenging, but it's highly motivating when you do solve something. It makes you become familiar with Python in a way that just the Codecademy course by itself simply won't. Phillip and Pavel, thank you for making this course!

von Jay T

May 30, 2017

Great Course!! Although I already had a background in Python Programming, I can see how this class could gently eases someone with no knowledge of Python (or programming for that matter), into a Novice Python 3 Programmer. The Biology aspect was also well presented. Difficult concepts were well explained, and extra material was given for topics that were not directly related to solving the challenges at hand, but fun and interesting to learn.

von Twesigomwe D

Mar 05, 2018

So remarkable

von Thomas M S

Sep 23, 2017

Very interesting introduction to both bioinformatics and Python

von Joseph C R

Mar 05, 2017

Really interactive and challenging. I learned a lot. Thank you.

von Catherine L

Sep 29, 2017

Great courses for beginners

von David A L G

Sep 04, 2017

This course is perfect as a first approximation to codes and algorithms in Bioinformatics. It will fit very well for begginers!!

von Phan D D

Mar 29, 2016

Awesome!

von David D

Aug 02, 2016

Nicely designed course. Frustrating at times but well worth the effort.

von Yan T H

Jun 10, 2017

Nice course