Chevron Left
Zurück zu Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners by University of California San Diego

4.5
670 Bewertungen
177 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Are you interested in learning how to program (in Python) within a scientific setting? This course will cover algorithms for solving various biological problems along with a handful of programming challenges helping you implement these algorithms in Python. It offers a gently-paced introduction to our Bioinformatics Specialization (https://www.coursera.org/specializations/bioinformatics), preparing learners to take the first course in the Specialization, "Finding Hidden Messages in DNA" (https://www.coursera.org/learn/dna-analysis). Each of the four weeks in the course will consist of two required components. First, an interactive textbook provides Python programming challenges that arise from real biological problems. If you haven't programmed in Python before, not to worry! We provide "Just-in-Time" exercises from the Codecademy Python track (https://www.codecademy.com/learn/python). And each page in our interactive textbook has its own discussion forum, where you can interact with other learners. Second, each week will culminate in a summary quiz. Lecture videos are also provided that accompany the material, but these videos are optional....

Top-Bewertungen

DL

Apr 18, 2016

I give this course 5 star because I did Bioinformatics I and I totally enjoy it.\n\nThis is where programming can be fun, and practical, and you'll learn some basic biology too.\n\nWhat's not to love?

HL

Aug 16, 2017

I learned a lot from this difficult and time-consuming course! It covers biological concepts using Python. It made learning Python more interesting for me, since I have always loved biology.

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 of 173 Reviews for Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners

von Wenye Z

Jun 16, 2017

A really fun and addictive course with some fascinating biology thrown in. I come from a chemical biology background and I had never done programming before. It's challenging, but it's highly motivating when you do solve something. It makes you become familiar with Python in a way that just the Codecademy course by itself simply won't. Phillip and Pavel, thank you for making this course!

von David A L G

Sep 04, 2017

This course is perfect as a first approximation to codes and algorithms in Bioinformatics. It will fit very well for begginers!!

von Jay T

May 30, 2017

Great Course!! Although I already had a background in Python Programming, I can see how this class could gently eases someone with no knowledge of Python (or programming for that matter), into a Novice Python 3 Programmer. The Biology aspect was also well presented. Difficult concepts were well explained, and extra material was given for topics that were not directly related to solving the challenges at hand, but fun and interesting to learn.

von Phan D D

Mar 29, 2016

Awesome!

von Twesigomwe D

Mar 05, 2018

So remarkable

von David D

Aug 02, 2016

Nicely designed course. Frustrating at times but well worth the effort.

von Manuel A

Jul 31, 2016

Very good course, and very similar to the first course of the Bioinformatics Specialization. However be warned, it takes a lot of time and effort to complete this course (definitely more than 10 hours a week).

von Feiyang M

Nov 19, 2016

Good class, great for beginners to get started!

von Qiang C

Jan 01, 2018

I have got to understand how to search motifs and do motifs alignments using pythons

von Daniel A G

May 14, 2017

In my opinion, this is a fabulous course and will recommend it for all beginners in bioinformatics. At the beginning of the course i was a complete rookie at python programming and was surprised to find myself able to code comfortably by the end of the course. The course was challenging at some points especially week 4, but i eventually made it. I find it worth all the time i put into this. Big thanks to the course instructors

von Dunja P

Apr 27, 2017

Great course for biologists and non biologists. Materials well explained and interesting, stuff very helpful and eager. It opens a window to bioinformatics and is a good first step towards it. Very recommended!

von Ahmed A A M S

Aug 25, 2017

Very insightful in the Bioinformatics field, for those considering it as a career

von Sara M V

Feb 10, 2017

It was a really interesting course! Some exercises were challenging but it was very rewarding when you found the solution.

von Gustavo J

Dec 24, 2016

Very helpful and well designed, thank you !

von 李嘉鑫

Jul 02, 2017

Because of the course,UCSD is now my dream school!

von Antonio D C C

Apr 04, 2017

A very entertaining way to learn programming and applying this new acquired knowledge to real problems in biology.

von Song C

Apr 03, 2018

Very specific introduction ranging from molecular basis to a appropriate intro of info theory. Good course to begin with!

von Vidisha G

Apr 22, 2017

Personally, I never believed I would enjoy coding, but I had a deep interest for biology. This course not only helped me develop an interest and grasp the basics of programming in python but also gave me an insight as to how I can use this knowledge I gained in various fields such as bioinformatics.

von JUN D

May 31, 2017

Enjoyed learning this class although it is challenging. It will be better if it won't cost anything for get a certificate after finish the class.

von Nicholas A

Jun 05, 2017

Excellent introduction to coding in Python, as well as a great refresher on some key biological concepts and their use in bioinformatics.

von Matt W

Jun 18, 2017

Great introductory material for a new person to Bioinformatics, Python, or a both. Definitely feel more "natural" in Python and well versed in Bioinformatics concepts.

von Eyal W

May 23, 2018

Great course, very interesting.

Some of the python quizes are confusing but the comment are surely helpful!

von Amy

Nov 01, 2017

very useful class!

von Brian B

Jun 21, 2017

Excellent intro to Bioinformatics - the course is not afraid of asking some seemingly tough questions and I took a lot away.

von Zhi N

Feb 08, 2017

True introduction to Bioinf.

It helps a lot.