Chevron Left
Zurück zu Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners von University of California San Diego

4.3
Sterne
1,181 Bewertungen
358 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Are you interested in learning how to program (in Python) within a scientific setting? This course will cover algorithms for solving various biological problems along with a handful of programming challenges helping you implement these algorithms in Python. It offers a gently-paced introduction to our Bioinformatics Specialization (https://www.coursera.org/specializations/bioinformatics), preparing learners to take the first course in the Specialization, "Finding Hidden Messages in DNA" (https://www.coursera.org/learn/dna-analysis). Each of the four weeks in the course will consist of two required components. First, an interactive textbook provides Python programming challenges that arise from real biological problems. If you haven't programmed in Python before, not to worry! We provide "Just-in-Time" exercises from the Codecademy Python track (https://www.codecademy.com/learn/python). And each page in our interactive textbook has its own discussion forum, where you can interact with other learners. Second, each week will culminate in a summary quiz. Lecture videos are also provided that accompany the material, but these videos are optional....

Top-Bewertungen

DL
17. Apr. 2016

I give this course 5 star because I did Bioinformatics I and I totally enjoy it.\n\nThis is where programming can be fun, and practical, and you'll learn some basic biology too.\n\nWhat's not to love?

HL
15. Aug. 2017

I learned a lot from this difficult and time-consuming course! It covers biological concepts using Python. It made learning Python more interesting for me, since I have always loved biology.

Filtern nach:

76 - 100 von 353 Bewertungen für Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners

von Prem T

17. Juni 2020

I am gonna be honest .if you are a beginner level in python please make sure to practice some more or gain some more experience in python before beginning with this

von Damian D

30. Apr. 2020

It managed to keep me interested in learning programming to solve biological questions. As a biologist its the most I can ask from any such course. Thanks a lot.

von Wang Z

23. Juni 2020

作为生物信息学的初学者,感觉这个课程非常好。特别是新颖的授课方式,让人能按照自己节奏学习。能掌握用python处理基因文本的一些编程技能,很有兴趣继续学习课程介绍的bioinformatics的专项课程和算法课程。对于没有编程基础的人,课程比较有挑战性,好几次都想放弃了,可是坚持下来那种柳暗花明的感觉非常爽。

von Maria A H L

6. Mai 2020

Really good, but in Stepik it should be easier to know the mistakes you have made when you enter the code. But I learned very much thanks to this course.

von Kalaivani

11. Feb. 2020

I am a biotechnology student and this course helped me to approach a biology problem from programming angle. It is a very great course to begin with

von Ratthachat C

16. Okt. 2017

Great beginner bioinformatics course for computer scientists (note that I have no Python experience before, but it can be learnt from this course)!

von JUN D

31. Mai 2017

Enjoyed learning this class although it is challenging. It will be better if it won't cost anything for get a certificate after finish the class.

von monica j

21. Mai 2017

excellent for beginners, very informative and encourages we learners to take specialization in Bioinformatics. thank you all the instructors !

von Ria S

1. Mai 2020

Gives a perfect insight into Bioinformatics and is very interesting. Even if you do not know to program you will be able to understand it.

von Nicholas A

4. Juni 2017

Excellent introduction to coding in Python, as well as a great refresher on some key biological concepts and their use in bioinformatics.

von Hieu D L

11. Mai 2017

It's great to basically understand how to use programming language (Python) to handle biology issues. I learn a lot from this course.

von Emanuele C

6. Sep. 2016

Thanks for this nice course.

I would recommend to avoid exercises with very long calculations that cause time-limit problems.

Regards

von aarushi r

21. Okt. 2019

It really enhanced my programming skills and a good course for anyone who wants to start a fresh with programming and biosciences.

von David A L G

4. Sep. 2017

This course is perfect as a first approximation to codes and algorithms in Bioinformatics. It will fit very well for begginers!!

von Noa G

23. Mai 2019

great introduction, not too hard, great explanations and videos allowing for repetition of content for a better understanding

von Brian B

21. Juni 2017

Excellent intro to Bioinformatics - the course is not afraid of asking some seemingly tough questions and I took a lot away.

von Jiseok L

20. Feb. 2020

Overall very good introduction to Bioinformatics and python coding, but some materials and explanations are not very clear.

von Sara M V

10. Feb. 2017

It was a really interesting course! Some exercises were challenging but it was very rewarding when you found the solution.

von Song C

3. Apr. 2018

Very specific introduction ranging from molecular basis to a appropriate intro of info theory. Good course to begin with!

von Mauro G C

7. Jan. 2018

I really the course. However, if you are an engineer you will have some problems to understand some biological concepts.

von 姜凌瀚

24. Juni 2019

The design of class is very sophisticated, which is quite friendly to beginners. Looking forward to the rest classes.

von Gabriel C F

29. Juni 2019

Estou gostando bastante do curso. O conteúdo é rico em informações que no final ajudam a ir atrás de mais conteúdo.

von Juris L

7. Juli 2019

Amazing course with amazing pace and approach. Would recommend just one thing: describe and illustrate a bit more.

von Daniel C

4. Apr. 2017

A very entertaining way to learn programming and applying this new acquired knowledge to real problems in biology.

von Sim K H

12. Mai 2020

In this course, I learnt how to think and code logically in order to computationally solve a biological question.