Chevron Left
Zurück zu Blended Language Learning: Design and Practice for Teachers

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Blended Language Learning: Design and Practice for Teachers von University of Colorado Boulder

4.8
Sterne
220 Bewertungen
87 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course is for language educators who wish to learn how to build and teach a blended language course. You may receive 1.5 Graduate Teacher Education credits (GRTE) for completing this course. See below for more information. This course is divided into four modules. In the first module we are going to discuss the origins and effectiveness of the blended learning model. In the second module, we are going to look at course level considerations such as how to choose a blended format or how to build a blended course syllabus. In the third module, we are going to focus on the unit level. We are going to discuss how to plan a blended unit, how to go about presenting content, designing blended activities and assessment strategies. In the fourth module, we're going to turn our attention to the teaching aspect of the blended learning experience. At the end of the course, you have the option to put what you have learned into practice through an optional peer-reviewed assignment (Honors lesson). This assignment is not required to complete the course unless you wish to obtain Graduate Teacher Credits (GRTE). This course includes short quizzes, discussion questions, and an optional scaffolded peer-reviewed assignment. If you complete all the assignments, at the end of this course you will have fairly fleshed out a blended unit and you will be well on your way to building your own blended language course. Upon completion of this course, students will be able to: Explain blended learning as a teaching modality and discuss its effectiveness List and discuss the main instructional design steps involved in building a blended language course Select tools and technologies to support blended language learning Discuss effective blended teaching strategies GRTE credits: Credits earned for GRTE courses are not applicable toward a degree program offered at the University of Colorado Boulder but may be used for teacher professional enhancement, including relicensure and school district salary advancement. You may receive 1.5 GRTE credits for completing this course ($225). The form is provided at the end module 5....

Top-Bewertungen

MH
14. Juli 2020

I thought this was a great course. It was very easy to follow, the format was very intuitive and broken down into manageable chunks. I feel much more prepared to teach a blended course going forward.

AA
22. Juni 2020

Very helpful and informative course. I feel well-prepared now to design my blended course for the fall semester. Thanks for the effort and information provided in this course!

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 87 Bewertungen für Blended Language Learning: Design and Practice for Teachers

von P.R.Sujatha P

9. März 2020

Very organized and focused! wish we could have extended! would love to know more on the topic! Thank you for all the wonderful material and comprehensive quizzes.

von Amani H

23. Juni 2020

Excellent course. Highly recommended for language instructors who want to learn about Blended teaching . I gained a lot of knowledge about teaching language online. I love that the course addresses issues related to teaching foreign languages . It keep you up to date with technology tools and terminology in the field of language teaching online . Thank you

von Andres M

20. Feb. 2020

A great introductory course for those of us interested in learning about blended teaching. Some modules stood out more than others, but an enjoyable teacher made the course well worth taking. Thank you.

von Lorenzo R

8. Feb. 2020

A plethora of tech tools to be discovered in this course

von Tylkowski I

16. März 2020

Very useful and well-structured course!

von Jessica B

11. Feb. 2020

Thank you, Edwige.

von Linda G

29. Juni 2020

Not nearly as practical as I would have hoped; remained mainly on the theoretical level. Ideally, this course would be followed by one where she SHOWS you how to use some of the tools she names. Also, it would be great if somebody could proofread this course; there are numerous typos, both on the slides and on the quizzes, not a big deal, just a bit sloppy and a little disappointing.

von Karine P

24. Juni 2020

I enjoyed the format of the course very much, and the LMS! It was great to have the video, the transcript and the note taking tool. I wish my students had access to such a good system too! I am going to use it as a model for how I would like my online teaching to look like. Thank you!

I had some doubts about the language applications of the course but I was positively surprised to learn about a number of new resources that I am going to explore this summer in preparation for the Fall. My only reserve would be about some of the readings that seemed to be outdated or at least old, but other than that, I found the content to be very relevant and useful. Again, thank you - I do feel better prepared to gear up for whatever the Fall will look like! Best, Karine

von Dr G S R

29. März 2020

Dear Sir / Madam,

I am highly impressed with the course. Really felt like urging educators in my catchment area to be going ahead with this course. Just forwarding you a link with regards to the FB post i made vis-a-vis promoting this course.

I hope you would like it.

https://www.facebook.com/gurpalsingh.rana.5

von Aysenur U

20. Mai 2020

This was a super useful course to take during these strange times we are going through. It helped to better understand what blended learning is and how to better teach in this format. I'm happy I took this course!! I feel more confident about teaching online now.

von Keerthana.T

22. Mai 2020

It was an excellent course for the teacher who looks forward to improving their teaching skills. It would definitely help if you take this course seriously and do the given assignments. Thank you course era for this excellent course.

von Stephanie C

3. Juli 2020

I feel much more confident to design and to instruct blended or online language teaching course for my middle schoolers come fall if once again faced with such a situation.

von Helen S

12. Juni 2021

It's an excellent course which provided a comprehensive overview on Blended Learning. Really very useful for me especially during this lockdown!!! Thank you!!!

von Sergio P

29. Mai 2020

With this course I am more than ready to use what I already have and create my Blended course. Thank you so much for all the knowledge shared!

von Aleksandra K

19. Nov. 2020

It was a really useful course, taught in a "friendly" manner. You can feel the lecturer has a lot of teaching and designing experience.

von Yoeimis P P G

19. Nov. 2020

A wonderful course! I learnt significantly. All the material involved was so accurate. Thank you!

von Stephanie D

25. Juli 2020

Super helpful for those facing a blended learning situation, with older and more independent students - which was, obviously, the purpose of this course. For those of us facing an all-online situation - with younger students in beginner language courses - it was a bit discouraging, though it did affirm the difficulties we have faced and are facing in striving to achieve important learning outcomes without and F2F contact. Lots of great information, and excellent modeling of clear, concise instruction from the instructor.

von Adriana L V

7. Feb. 2021

I liked the way the course went, this is the first time I registered for a course in Coursera and I really enjoyed it and I learned a lot. The only 'but' I would say is that the number of hours doesn't appear in the certificate and that's a very important element that is required in my workplaces, for that reason, I don't know if they will validate it. I wish you could include it in further certificates.

von Amy G

23. Nov. 2020

Great! But...there is a but...I thought I would have had to design a course and have my work peer-assessed.

von Samantha K

8. Nov. 2020

The course is very informative, but the ability to get someone to peer-review your assignment is very challenging. I submitted early, but still wasn't able to get it peer-reviewed and now can't apply for the graduate credit, which was a huge motivator for taking this course in the first place.

I learned quite a bit, but I am really frustrated with the way this is setup. There needs to be a back up for these types of situations, or it shouldn't be required to have the peer-review component.

von Phyllis L

29. Aug. 2020

What an awesome learning experience! Professor Edwige was clear, engaging and easy to follow. I particularly like how the modules are organized and layered; I was guided to apply what I had learned when responding to discussion prompts. Some assignments were quite challenging and it took me much longer than estimated to finish; but the efforts and mental exercises were totally worth it. I highly recommend this course to anyone who has traditionally been teaching just F2F in class and will need to attempt to design a blended learning course. You would be given great strategies, tips, examples and practices to prepare you for the daunting task! Thank you Professor and fellow classmates, I learned a lot just by reading everyone else's submission. I really enjoyed the course.

von Harald M

19. Juni 2021

This course was presented in a sympathetic and clear-cut way. It illuminated all aspects of creating a suitable blended learning concept and maintaining a platform. Our lecturer presented a lot of precious information. Including some supplemental reading containing, for instance, interviews with other teachers/directors sharing their experience. Each unit included optional discussion points/questions to answer intended to foster the newly acquired knowledge, which I recommend. As a student, you quickly notice that the information given is based on our teacher's own practical experience.

von Daw H H A

16. Aug. 2020

Online learning gives students another opportunity to engage with the material. To use this blended learning tactic effectively, require students to complete assignments, presentations, or tests before moving on to the remaining portion of the course.

It improves communication by allowing students to interact with teachers and make lesson notes or discussions and It also saves time and money

von linker d

10. Juli 2020

This was a very good introduction to blended teaching and learning. It was great for managing issues unique to blended and online learning, and the sections on use of online apps was very beneficial.

I won't be taking it for certification immediately, but will consider how the content fits into my plans, and then decide later.

von Andrea C

6. Juli 2020

The class worked around my schedule and all the information was presented in multiple formats. I loved the fact that I could read the information that was being presented in the video. This was very helpful for my personal learning style. I plan to further investigate how to create videos with subtitles.