Chevron Left
Zurück zu Bugs 101: Insect-Human Interactions

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Bugs 101: Insect-Human Interactions von University of Alberta

4.9
Sterne
1,228 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Of all the animals on earth, which are the strongest for their size? What about the fastest? Who were the first animals to evolve flight? Insects take all of these titles and more! As the most abundant animals on the planet, insects and other arthropods affect our lives in so many ways. From beneficial interactions like pollination and biological pest control, to the transmission of life threatening diseases; this course will teach you about the big ways that these little arthropods impact our lives. In Bugs 101: Insect-Human Interactions, you will be plunged into the diverse (and sometimes alien) world of arthropods to learn how they work, what they do, and how insects and humans interact every day. After completing this course, you will be able to: Describe the evolutionary relationships between insects and their arthropod relatives Inventory major groups of insects and their diversity Demonstrate evolutionary adaptations that make insects successful Discuss insect biology and human-insect interactions Evaluate positive and negative interactions between insects and humans Propose practical and symbolic roles insects play in human societies...

Top-Bewertungen

AB

7. Juli 2020

Very interesting and specially the anchors of this course are very enthusiastic and encouraging throughout the course so my focus is maintain for bugs and surly I will search more on insects further.

SM

4. Feb. 2020

Excellent course! Content-rich and very informative both as a learning experience for the insect enthusiast or beginning entomologist as well as an excellent review for the practicing entomologist.

Filtern nach:

101 - 125 von 525 Bewertungen für Bugs 101: Insect-Human Interactions

von Jennifer T O

18. Nov. 2019

Informative and engaging! Entomology is a hobby for me. Sadly there's not much interest about bugs in my area. I bought several books on the subject but found some of the terms to be too hard to understand. Being able to have instructors who can explain these terms and concepts is amazing! Thanks for making this course available for people like me!

von Wendi W

29. Nov. 2020

I was sad when I got to the end because the program was well put together and I enjoyed learning about the subject. I liked that they interviewed experts in the field, included Indigenous views, showed scientists of different genders and cultural backgrounds, and taught many aspects about insects. It inspired me to learn more about entomology.

von LIMNA A B

11. Sep. 2022

It was an excellent and detailed course. the study materials provided and the classes were informative and excellent. The quiz at the end of each session was helpful to check our knowledge that we gained. I will recommend this course to all those who love to understand insects. Thanks to the University of Alberta and to all our teachers

von RAJAT V M

14. Juni 2020

It's very for the beginners and notes of each module is very good and give all types of information. Even in each notes there are some interesting facts which make more interesting. Instructor and other members are very good. Through this course learned many things and it created a different view toward insects or basically arthropods.

von Sahara A M

12. Okt. 2019

I've always been fascinated by "bugs," so when I saw this course was available, I immediately knew I wanted to take it. There's a lot of neat information and I like how this course was put together. I hope it does help to give people a better perspective of insects! They are so beneficial and honestly, such cool little creatures!

von laura l

21. Dez. 2022

When I heard points mentioned in lecture that were more technical than I really cared to learn about, I wondered about the need to learn them. But they were generally not on the quizzes - which stuck to the basic facts for laypeople who just want to learn about bugs in general. It was perfect for my level of knowledge and interest.

von MARIA N C

23. Nov. 2020

Excellente!!! sin palabras, muy organizado muy complementado el conocimiento que instruyeron, y muy facil de comprender me encantaria de favor poder seguir aprendiendo con ustedes, me especializo en entomologia forense, si podrian por favor enviarme cursos con respecto a biologia, entomologia, entomologia aplicada y forense.

gracias

von Jairo R

6. Sep. 2020

I was very satisfied with the content and how this course was carried out.

A complete course, well structured and the most important thing carried out by true professionals who achieved what they were looking for: that we could all learn about this wonderful universe that insects represent in our daily lives and in the environment.

von Shawn T D P

21. Okt. 2019

OUTSTANDING So well put together, subject mattered varied but forming foundation of Entomology. I enjoyed the variety of instructors and it was a good mix. Some of the interviews were mehh and a few questions were a bit tricky only because I did not read carefully and select two instead of three or something along those tracks.

von Mary H

28. März 2020

Bugs 101 is well organized, well presented and engaging. I learned a great deal about insects, their physiology, morphology, adaptations, conservation and uses. I enjoyed each of the presenters, including those who work in different insect related fields. Thank you to everyone who put this course together. I may take it again.

von Camille C

16. Apr. 2020

Excellent course, I enjoyed every part of it and learned a lot. The videos and illustrations are of very good quality. Everyone can take this course because all biological concepts are explained very clearly. Personally I really liked the interviews with professionals and the beautiful pictures used to illustrate the course.

von Mauritius X

6. Sep. 2019

I have followed quite a few courses in Coursera offered by University of Alberta. They were all good. This one is at the same level. Lessons are well prepared. Instructors are good and easy. Topics are various. I learned a lot about insects and, as a biologist, this is not a minor accomplishment for a course like this.

von Lavender M

18. Juni 2020

this is a wonderful course because it shows all aspects of arthropods. I came out of this class with so much more knowledge then I ever could've dreamed of. it shows you what to do to control bugs yet also how beneficial they are. I will always love insects, but this class made me love them more. thank you, Coursera!

von THOMAS M B

22. Aug. 2022

As a seventy-five year old retiree I truly enjoyed the course! It was something I always was interested in and just wanted to see and learn more about the wonderful world of insects. I would enjoy another course dealing more specifically on identification of insects if possible. Thank you for a great experience!

von Jeanne A C

16. Juni 2020

This is an awesome course which examines the world of insects where it intersects with humans. I never thought that I would learn so much material that could be useful in my daily activities as a Master Gardner, especially about insect reproduction and IPM. Thanks so much to the instructors and to U of Alberta.

von Molly K

9. Juni 2020

This course was extremely thorough. It covered so many aspects, some I was aware of, but most I wasn't. I really learned a lot and enjoyed it quite a bit. The instructors and special guest experts were very easy to understand and gave valuable information. Very thankful that it was available in this format.

von André M M S

3. Aug. 2020

De verdad me pareció un curso muy bueno porque soy un principiante en todo el mundo de los insectos y los instructores, actividades y vídeos hicieron muy digerible toda la información. Siento que todas las herramientas que me dieron serán de mucha ayuda en el futuro de mi carrera. Muchas gracias por este curso.

von Deb L

6. Dez. 2020

This is hands down the best online course I have ever taken, and I've been taking them for at least 5 years now. Am hoping I can take it again in the near future as I know there is plenty more to be learned from these amazing and enthusiastic instructors. Thank you so much for making this available to us!

von Alexander W O

5. März 2021

This course was developed and presented in very interesting and professional manner. I had completed my Prairie Horticultural Certification several years ago from the University of Saskatchewan and Bugs 101 fit in nicely with the material I had learned there.

Thank you so much and keep up the great work.

von Barbara K

22. Okt. 2020

Excellent Course, enjoyed learning about these beautiful creatures and the role they play in our lives and ecosystem. Well balanced presentations, and very clear. Beautiful Photography and interesting people. Makes me want to visit!

I need to review the course again to fully benefit from the information.

von David G

14. Aug. 2020

Thanks so much for an outstanding class about insects and their valuable contribution to our well-being. All of the professors and guest speakers were outstanding, and genuinely made learning entomology fun. I really appreciate the great time and effort that went into making and presenting this class.

von ricardo n

15. Mai 2020

Great course, with very good lecturers. managed to compile so much information and keep it interesting and focused. the course is very well structured and allow to advance at our own pace. Really well done. it would be great if there are some more specific follow up courses and a bit more on arachnids.

von ECG I

21. Apr. 2020

Excellent!!! Glad i took this course. The subject was taught slowy and all four of the tutors made themeselves very interesting to listen to. Subject was quite expansive but really worth it. Could have gone little bit more into the different species as well. Appreciate the effort of the whole team.

von Omnipresent M

5. Okt. 2020

Thank you so much I am an aspiring entomologist (although only 13) and was finding difficulty discovering a course about insects that fit my age group as I am very passionate I had to wildly jump around things and self teach myself and it was really nice to be guided and learn a lot of new things!

von Sophia H

5. März 2021

I love this course! It has completely changed my views of insects and how important they are. This course has inspired me to explore nature and photograph as many insects I can find, and help any injured ones I can. I am striving to become an entomologists myself and help insect conservation.